We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
34
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Ditto, ditto the words of my travel friends, Lauren and Wendy, whose reviews are on this site. Our days in Adine and moments with Simonetta were priceless and pure delight! The apartment, with two large bedrooms, each with a large private bath, and living room with dining table and kitchen area was the perfect space for four. Simonetta's apartment in Adine gave us enormously convenient access to Tuscany and was ideal for our daytrip itinerary.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthieusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Walking from the car to Simonetta's apartment was like walking back in time .... WAY back in time. Her beloved village dates back 1,000 yrs! The surrounding land is planted in lovely patches of olive trees. Beautiful. In the distance, grape vines line the hills. She's so proud & knowledgeable about all of it. A wonderful source of information. And we four were priviledged to stay here for one week. It was magical. Simonetta had provided for our comfort & needs before our arrival. The apartment was clean, ready for us & felt like home from the start. Only minutes from a dear restaurant & wine shop. A couple more minutes to Siena. Simonetta was attentive & yet respectful of our privacy .... meanwhile, we wanted her with us as much as possible. She's absolutely delightful. Has one wonderful story after another. Knows the surrounding towns well & can direct you to all there is to see and do. Don't miss this opportunity to be an un-tourist ... to get away from the crush of the city ... to remind yourself of true peace & quiet .... all within an easy reach of the best Italy has to offer.

Room tip: Forget about being a tourist & become an Italian. Stay at Simonetta's Lodge. Find out what the countryside is all about.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband, sister, friend, and I just spent a week at Simonetta's guest house in Adine. Every moment of the experience expressed what we know and love about Italy. Simonetta's radiant smile as we drove up the road to the ancient village typifies the arm's-open charm of Italy. Our quarters spoke of history and of the love that Simonetta put into bringing her home back to life. We slept well in the comfortable beds with silky soft linens. The dear kitchen and living room were perfect spots for evening's spent at home. Simonetta is a wealth of information about where to eat, what villages to visit and how best to get there. She made dinner reservations for us, checked to make certain we were comfortable and having a grand time. Staying at Adine was like staying with a dear friend. And Adine is located perfectly for day trips to charming towns in Tuscany. We can't wait to return to Simonetta's Lodge. What lovely, happy memories we have of our time there.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent 5 days at Simonetta's agriturismo and we couldn't have asked for anything better! Near Rada in the heart of Chianti, the ancient house (dating from the year 1000) has an incredible amount of personality and Simonetta keeps the grounds looking wonderful and natural. The apartment was clean and the sheets on the bed were white and crisp! No bed bugs here! The kitchen had all that was necessary and she even had some coffee and milk and bread and jam to have breakfast the first morning.She was an excellent host, inquiring every day if we needed her assistance with anything. She made reservations for us at the Sienna tuscan wine school (which is a must if you're going to Tuscany) and so is her cooking class! We learned so much and it was simple things that will make you want to cook all day (even if you don't like to cook!) You must buy from her, her olive oil. you will not find better anywhere! I had to wait until getting home, 2 weeks later to taste it and I wish I had bought more from her. Staying at Simonetta's was a pure delight.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PookieMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Well, I've been coming here for ten years, and every time I do it just keeps on getting better and better. Simonetta is like family and coming here is just like coming home. As long as she runs these two gorgeous villas (the small one suitable for a couple and the larger one which sleeps four), my husband and I will keep staying with her. The villas are part of a larger complex (Simonetta lives in the main house) which form an 11th Century hamlet. It is peaceful, serene and gorgeous. Her terrace, which is available for the guests to use, has the most incredible view. Particularly when the sun is setting. Sit out there with a glass of red wine and some anitpasta and just enjoy the beauty of nature surrounding you. It really does invoke inner peace.

So, the apartment. We stayed in Il Ghiro as there is a bit more room, even though it's just the two of us. This villa also has it's own private patio (no view of the rolling hills and vineyards, but it looks over the inner courtyard of the hamlet and the private chapel, lovely). We tended to go out for lunch and cook dinner at home in the evenings and the kitchen is perfectly set up for this - it's fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, cutlery, knives, condiments, seasoning and Simonetta's very own (delicious) olive oil, which is available to buy (we left with three litres on this occasion).

The main bedroom is enormous and has an en suite bathroom. The bed is simply massive and the sheets so clean and so soft. There is no IKEA furniture here, nothing cheap or nasty. It is, instead, decorated with vintage furniture and antiques. Pieces with history, and a story to tell. It is real and grounding and beautiful. There is a real rustic charm throughout the villa that we are totally in love with.

There is no swimming pool, and these days apparently everyone wants a swimming pool. But let me tell you that if that is the only reason you don't come and stay here, you are really missing out on something special. In years to come you won't remember splashing around in a pool. What you'll remember is the experience of having stayed in a piece of Italy (a distinctly Tuscan piece of Italy) in which the air was cleaner than any you've breathed before, the sky bluer, the hills more picturesque, the food more delicious and the history closer to you. The serenity far surpasses the need to swim, and we didn't miss it in the least. Neither will you, I promise.

Room tip: Il Riccio is a small villa suitable for two (or at most three) people. If you want a bit more room, pay the extra money and stay in Il Ghiro - it's worth it.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurjBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews