We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Two weeks in Villa Carolina”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Vinojack...
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two weeks in Villa Carolina”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

6 of us recently stayed two weeks at Villa Carolina. I don't think it is possible to find two nicer people than Lucia and Gabrielle. The Villa is central to Firenze and Siena making it a great location for day trips to many locations. Lucia prepared meals for us on several occasions. The accommodations are extremely clean and the kitchen doors lead to a covered patio overlooking a local farm and vineyard. Adjacent to the patio is the pool. Do not miss the Appiano winery which is quite close to the villa. Enjoy the tasting and have some wine shipped home.

A fellow traveler Tom B. summed it up perfectly. We miss the hospitality and two weeks spent in this villa. I recommend Villa Carolina to those planning a vacation in Tuscany.

I must also mention their new location adjacent to the Campari vineyard in the San Gimignano area. We were graciously invited to spend some time at Villa Iris with Lucia and Gabrielle and their daughter. Spectacular is an understatement. Six BRs & baths and large pool.

Our thanks to our hosts for a memorable two weeks

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XSki007
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Villa Carolina”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Six of us stayed for two weeks in July and loved every aspect of our experience. The Villa was spacious, the grounds were perfect, and our hosts were truly outstanding.
They cooked wonderful meals for us and brought us to their newest Villa rental nearby and also to one of their favorite restaurants in San Gimignano - Poggio Alloro. You must go here.

We used the pool and grounds every day at day's end and this was a great placed to come home to after a day of sightseeing. The PAM supermarket is 5 minutes by car and is stocked with everything you need including wine. Also close by and two must stops are the winery Sant Appiano (Tele # 335 335073) where you should experience the wine tour and light lunch for 25 Euros and the close by restaurant Secolo Decimo Quinto (Tele # 055 0540260) where the lunch and diner specials are outstanding. Both are 5 minutes away by car.

Not to be missed is asking your gracious hostess Lucia to cook a fabulous meal for you. We did this several times and arranged one in advance so we had dinner our first night in the Villa.

Highly recommend this rental and we would definitely return. We all miss it already.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lwermers
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous vacation at Villa Carolina”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our family stayed at Villa Carolina for two weeks and it was heavenly! The Villa is even more beautiful than the photos. There are so many outdoor spaces to relax and look at the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The inside of the villa is very clean and beautifully decorated with modern bathrooms, a modern kitchen, and nice furnishings. The location is perfect for exploring the wine regions, Florence, as well as Tuscan walled cities. Lucia and Gabriele are very kind and helpful. Lucia’s dinners are so delicious – the best we had in Italy! - make sure to enjoy them during your stay. Lucia was very helpful in accommodating food allergies for people in our family. This was an unforgettable vacation and we are recommending this villa to everyone and hope to return very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic week at Villa Carol”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We adored every single part of this villa. I believe there should be a special feature about it in the broadsheets! Spotless, stylish, tasteful & comfort itself. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming! Even the local stray (but extremely well-fed) cat welcomed us every morning by the door, much to my 6 year old son's delight! I speak enough transactional Italian to survive and the owners speak a tiny bit of English but we communicated well. The rooms are huge with 3 stunning bathrooms and a well-equipped kitchen should you wish to cook a risotto or some linguine! The view over the vineyards is truly breathtaking and the villa grounds are magical, lit up at night so that you can sit out and enjoy a lovely grappa or whisky. Our trip was to celebrate my 50th birthday and I will remember it forever. The organisation by "To Tuscany" prior to our trip had been seamlessly executed between themselves and Lucia and Gabriele, the owners. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The couple live in the villa above with their small daughter, Carolina, and whilst they were accessible and helpful whenever needed, were not intrusive at all. The villa is central to the main places of interest and a huge supermarket (PAM) is a couple of minutes' drive away. We are people who like comfort, space and cleanliness. This place beats every place we have ever stayed in, and we are pretty hard to please! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts to Lucia, Gabriele, Carolina "Conkers" the cat and to "TO TUSCANY" for a gem of a holiday! ("Conkers" the cat now has a loving home with Gabriele's mum, you'll all be glad to know - so even he had his dreams come true!!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bard12345...
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed one week of our holiday in Villa Carolina. The appartment was very nice with three big bedrooms with their own bathrooms. The appartment has their own private beautiful garden with an amazing swimming pool. The owners ( Gabriele, Lucia and their daughter Carolina )they lived upstairs. We appreciate the owners helpfullness and discretion. Lucia prepared us a fantastic dinner with 4 courses and served a tasty wine.
Thanks for an unforgettable week at Villa Carolina it was an excellent stay and we really want to recommend it to others.

Kindly regards
Familien Løkke
Norway

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$272
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing