We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Romitorio di Serelle
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais(Tavarnelle Val di Pesa)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa(Tavarnelle Val di Pesa)
US$978
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Semifonte(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borghetto di San Filippo(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Primavera(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Quercia al Poggio(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
157
13
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
13
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingother guestsstove topprivate patiofantastic weekthe entire propertyoutside arearecommend staying herecentral locationhome basewatching the sunsetvisiting tuscanyplaces to visitfantastic placemade us feel at homechianti regiongreat hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Sweeping views of vineyards, olive groves, and distant hill towns. Beautiful stone buildings. Great food. Utterly peaceful. Loved it all! Our unit, La Tinaia, was in the rustic Tuscan style, very clean and comfortable with a gorgeous, private outdoor space. It was so wonderful to start the day by sitting in our deck chairs with our morning coffee admiring the panoramic views! The location in Chianti was perfect for day trips to Florence, Siena, and various hill towns. We really enjoyed the pool after a hot day of sightseeing. Dinners were always good and never the same throughout the two weeks we were there. We never wanted to eat anywhere else! Roberto and Marco were both so friendly and helpful and Marinella did a fabulous job in the kitchen. This really was a wonderful holiday - a dream come true!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The surroundings were absolutely stunning. Normally on vacation we do not rest much since were trying to see as much of the area as we can. However, we would get up early and have a delicious breakfast out in the open overlooking the vineyards. 3 hours later we would begin sightseeing. We could not tear ourselves away.

The room was very comfortable and quite spacious with a functional kitchen. It was a nice place to play Scrabble, drink wine, and enjoy some bread and cheese in the late evening.

The owner, Marco, and his staff, Roberto, were extremely helpful and accommodating. They were also really a lot of fun. An optional dinner, usually outdoors, comprised the best food we had in 16 days in Italy.

The buildings themselves are worth the visit as they are hundreds of years old. Make sure you see the pictures of how they looked before and after the renovation. All efforts were taken to leave what ever structure they could intact and when possible restoration was done with stones that were already on property. This really was a masterful job.

If and when I returned to Tuscany I would stay here again. It is located in easy driving distance to many of the delicious small towns that dot the landscape here.

Room Tip: I Don't think it will make a difference which room you get.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationsrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at RdS and we would highly recommend it. I have never written one of these before but I promised Marco and Roberto that I would this time. The location is stunningly beautiful, with fruit trees, herb shrubs and flowers everywhere. The outdoor dining area and various seating spots were also quite breath taking. Our room was fine, with a nice shower and very clean- a bit of dish soap and some salt and pepper might have helped. We ate in the on site restaurant 3 times and found the food to be as good if not better than other restaurants around. The wine list too was extensive and Roberto was very helpful in that department. We thoroughly enjoyed Pietro and his wine tasting evening.
We had amazing weather so even though it was the end of Sept. the lovely, unheated pool was a welcome event at the end of each day.
The location was excellent and my husband thoroughly enjoyed those winding, Italian roads. Bring bug spray!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Oh my, where do I start? Our 2 weeks at RdS were the epitome of low-key relaxation surrounded by beautiful scenery. Our accommodations in Il Cieglio were modest, but clean and comfortable. Our hosts, Roberto and Marco, were friendly, helpful and eager to ensure that all their guests were satisfied. We ate many dinners at RdS with advance notice...each was plentiful and absolutely delicious, made right on premises by a chef with a definite passion! Many hill towns are within an hour or less drive. The swimming pool was an added bonus upon our return from our daily excursions. We hope to return one day, in the not too far distant future, to experience la dolce vita at Romitorio. Thank you, Roberto and Marco, for a remarkable visit!

Room Tip: You might wish to consider bringing your own fluffy pillows for sleep comfort.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emb80406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We visited Romitorio di Serelle for 1 week. We were on our honeymoon with our 20 months old girl.
We stumbled upon the place for the first time 3 years ago when we travelled Tuscany and Umbria and luckily we still had their folder so we could book it for our honeymoon.

Romitorio di Serelle is all you need when you visit Tuscany. You can use it as a couples escape or with your family and children. Everybody is welcome and the warm and heartly staff makes you feel at home from day one.

The apartments includes everything you need and if you want a day off from cooking yourself the Restaurant can provide you with breakfast and a beautiful vast variety of dinners at a very low cost. You can even have the dinner at your apartment.

We had some very nice relaxing days staying at the pool, enjoying the views, taking a stroll around the wine fields combined with day trips to the nearby towns. Larger cities like Florence and Siena is not more than 45 minutes away and you can even make day trips to Pisa and Lucca.

We flew to Pisa which was very convenient and during the week we went on day trips to Florence and San Gimignano.

We highly recommend Romitorio de Serelle. The place and staff made our holiday the best we have ever had in Italy.

We look forward to coming back every summer from now..!

Happy Travels!

Eva, Lasse & Siri Emilia Mechlenburg-Vrou

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mechlenburg-Vrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews