We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
141
37
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
37
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san donato chianti region short stay toilet paper a nice place to stay wonderful place private cooking class co op beautiful property stayed nights nearby village minute drive great hosts visit tuscany tuscan experience olive trees tuscan hills
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed here in late June. Stefano was friendly and explained the grounds and the villa to us. The villa, itself, was spacious, clean, and well appointed. It is important to note that, if you go with the week-long villa option, you are responsible for supplying any consumables that you need (even toilet paper). Luckily, the inn is located only a couple of miles from a Co-Op that has most anything that you might need, including food and alcohol. The property is so picturesque that you might end up spending a half-day taking photographs without leaving the area. Lastly, the property is very centrally located within the heart of Tuscany, being only 40-45 minutes from Florence, 1 hour from Siena, and 30 minutes from San Gimignano.

If you want to experience Tuscany, I highly suggest this place!

Room Tip: If you have 4 people, and plan on spending a week there, the Solatio is the way to go!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ogieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Highly recommended.
Very beautiful place with great accomodattions and wonderfull view. Great people work there! Very clean and quiet! By car, you can drive back and forth to many places at Toscana. A+++

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank Gustavo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Gustavo,

many thanks for your wonderful feedback. We're glad to know that you had a nice time at La Canonica di Cortine and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards

Lucia, Stefano & the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

What more can be added to all the wonderful reviews of this fabulous property? La Canonica is an historic and romantic Tuscan estate, where guests are treated more like family than tourists. Our room was cozy, clean, comfy and warm. Numerous nearby restaurants were very special in quality of food and friendliness of staff.

La Canonica is centrally located to vineyards and walled cities. Staff were helpful in directing us to sights of interest in the area.

Thank you Lucia and Stefano for a wonderfully memorable stay! The grounds are beautifully maintained by Ercules. Thank you Veronica for your very special breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SpringPark209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hello and thank you for your very kind words.

On behalf of all the team, we wanted to say how much of a pleasure it is to have such wonderful customers. We at canonica di Cortine always want to make sure that our clients have a wonderful and relaxing stay and your special comment is our reward.
We feel touched and honoured that you felt this way about your time here with us. Hercules does a wonderful job because he simply loves the garden and he expresses that through the results he gets. Veronica is also a passionate cake maker and so your comments just made her very happy. Thank you once again for making the effort to write such nice things about us and hope to see you again in the future.....we will make your stay just as memorable!

Lucia & Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We reserved our room through the B&B directly instead of Expedia, they told us they would throw in breakfast by doing so and we did. Upon arrival we were told they had upgraded us to an apartment unit instead of a normal bedroom unit.

We obviously were very happy initially. The property was beautiful and scenic, clean and well kept. However, our happiness only lasted until we were told that if we wanted heat in the apartment that was a separate charge. It was cold, so we of course said OK. We bit our tongues and set out to enjoy the trip. The next day we also found out that breakfast was not included with the apartment unit, nor was maid service. They eventually did give us maid service, but we were charged for breakfast and heating. I've NEVER had to pay for heat at a hotel, anywhere. Breakfast was average at best - it consisted of precooked eggs on a hot plate, toast, cheese, croissants (somewhat stale), OJ and coffee.

In regards to cleanliness... it was average. I felt the bathrooms could have been MUCH cleaner. I even found cobwebs on the towels hanging near the shower.

All in all they were friendly and it truly was a BEAUTIFUL property.....but I just don't think they care about customer service that much. I wouldn't recommend against this hotel, but I certainly won't recommend for it either. When I return to Tuscany chances are I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hello and thanks for writing.

We are sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with our villa but just to make sure that you remember, you booked an apartment in self catering and not a room in the B&B . Apartments don't have a breakfast service like the B&B and we still decided to throw that in, the first morning of your stay. After you complained about the fact that you wanted more breakfast we put it on for the whole stay. For free (even though you didn't appreciate the food). As far as the heating is concerned it is also a surplus as it does clearly state on the detailed web contract you print before coming here. The Villas are all in self catering and so is the cleaning. We have a final cleaning service but not a daily maid one as you requested. We also decided to give you complimentary towels and extra cleaning. Once again, we are very sorry to hear that Canonica di Cortine wasn't up to your standards. We strive to satisfy our clients and most of the time we achieve our goals. This time it seems we didn't and we feel awfully sorry about it.

We hope you carefully read your future bookings, with whichever hospitality lodging you may choose and wish you all the best.

Kindest Regards

Lucia & Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Can't say enough about how lovely this property is, the idyllic setting and gorgeous grounds welcome you immediately. The location for touring the area couldn't be better. So close and centrally located to everything, but still in the beautiful peaceful and tranquil countryside. Waking up in the mornings to the sounds of the birds, enjoying our coffee or wine on the beautiful private patio, walking the winding road outside our apartment and enjoying views in every direction, it was a fantastic experience. The apartment itself was so charming, it was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, even a washing machine. The owners and staff are a joy to work with. We would highly recommend this property and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tjcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you for your review.

We feel happy that your stay was enjoyable and look forward to giving you another memorable one should you want to come around again in the future.

On behalf of all the staff working here I thank you kindly for your nice words.

Lucia & Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews