We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Canonica di Cortine
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Semifonte(Barberino Val d'Elsa)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sogno d’Oro Bed and Breakfast(Barberino Val d'Elsa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Romitorio di Serelle(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bosco ai Marzi(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello di Pastine(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Maria a Poneta(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Petrognano(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fattoria Casa Sola(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa San Filippo Resort(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
138
36
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
36
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschianti regiontoilet papera nice place to staysan gimignanowonderful placeco opstayed nightsnearby villagegreat hostsolive treesbeautiful locationstefanoluciapropertyheartgrapes
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My 2 girlfriends and I spent one week on Rome and one week in Tuscany. During the drive from Rome to the Villa we were robbed while in a rest stop. Upon our arrival we were quite stressed but very excited as soon as we saw La Canoncia di Cortine. Stella and Stefano were very warm and welcoming and had waited for our late arrival. The accomodations are picture perfect and the people in the surrounding area are warm and welcoming. It was the most romantic trip (Even if I was with friends) and La Canoncia di Cortine was enchanting beyond description. I plan on going back to La Canoncia in May 2012.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Janet,

thank you so much for all your nice words. It is a pleasure reading that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your time in Cortine.
We are all waiting your next visit next year.

Warmest regards
Lucia Fusi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This place is what we dreamed about to stay during our Tuscan holiday. Initially, we planned to stay for one night (booked using www.booking.com) but when we arrived at the place we were surprised by the beauty of this property and the surroundings. Bedroom is typical Tuscan country style, spacious bathroom There is wi-fi available in the lounge (outside the breakfast room) and the lounge was so comfortable we stayed hours reading books and surfing internet and chilled out at night. There was a fireplace but dormant, pity they didnt use it.

I highly recommend this place for romantic escapade or family holiday (they have villa for bigger party). We will definitely come back. Btw, the restaurant nearby "La Locanda di Pietracupa" is great and quiet (well maybe I went during their off season in winter time) and very private, serving modern Tuscan dishes. 5 minutes drive from the property.

My only negative is the location, we came to Tuscany to visit Siena, Pienza, Montalcino. It is quite a drive to these places, though it is a good base if your goal is to relax and explore the Chianti regions and taste their wines. Well, thats what we did anyway - we changed our itinerary to explore Chianti region, Panzano in Chianti, Volpaia, Radda in Chinati, Greve in Chianti - these are really beautiful villages. We had no regret. Drank lots of excellent Chianti wines.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeyWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Good day from Canonica di Cortine, and thank you for having found the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcoming you again soon.
Warmest regards
Lucia Fusi and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Two of my sisters and I originally planed to visit La Canonica di Cortine in 2002. We had put a deposit down but in the end opted for a cruise. We passed on the deposit to a friend and she has returned 3 times. That was all we needed to hear when we planning a big birthday
celebration this fall. This time however, there were 9 of us coming so we needed the largest villa possible...Castrum. We were coming from Kuwait, Arizona, New Hampshire and Atlanta, so communicating all the details could have been a challenge. Right from the very beginning Claudia and Erica took care of every question and detail and very promptly as well. They recommended a local hotel for our first night (a Friday) that was perfect for our first night in Tuscany. I had trouble emailing them and they took care of forwarded messages back and forth for me....great service. By the time we checked into Villa Castrum & Meragio we felt like we were already old friends with the staff. They accommodated everything we asked including great restaurant recommendations. The villa was very well stocked w/ everything we could ever need. We ate 3 large meals there and every breakfast. They were able to steer us to the co-op to buy food, the train station, etc. The grounds were exceptional and we felt the photos on the internet do not do them justice. Absolutely glorious. We were lucky with a very hot Tuscan sun the week we were there and able to use the pool. The bathrooms and bedrooms were spacious and plentiful. There was so much room you could easily spend time by yourself but most of the time we spent either in the kitchen or on the terrace drinking wine!! It was a wonderful vacation for all of us and we all agreed we would return as soon as possible.

If we could leave one recommendation it would be: add a microwave oven. You have every other convenience...but that would have been great. We would also say that you must have a car unless you are there in summer and only want to use the pool and the beautiful grounds. We took day trips every day which we had planned on. We could not recommend this hotel enough....way exceeded our expectations...which were already high to begin with. You can't go wrong with La Conica....they're the best.!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlfoodieAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We spent 8 nights in the rental "house" Solatio. It a converted 15th century barn with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths and a washing machine.The bedrooms are very large, baths are big and very clean.Whole villa is very clean and well appointed. We cooked in several nights and had everything we needed. The main living area is a little small, hard for 4 adults to stretch out. Only a small issue for us because we were there for so long, would not be an issue if your visit was shorter. We had a lovely rear patio where we dined at night and we caught the sunshine in our front courtyard in the morning.The grounds are immaculate. Hedges of bay, rosemary, lavender, olive trees and roses were everywhere. Stefano (owner)and his grounds keeper were out every day manicuring the grounds. Office staff Erica, Claudio and Lucia (owner) were extremely helpful and frindly and everyone was happy to chat and help us with our italian. Many guests we met had returned year after year. The tiny little town of San Donato has everything you need, the butcher shop is fantastic (2 km away). Just work around siesta, everything is closed from 1:30ish to 5pm. Major food shopping is in Poggi Bonsi 10+ mins away.
The location is perfect for visiting Chianti country, Florence, Siena. Because we had the luxury of time we tried to stay within an hours drive and were able to get to every little village we wanted. The drive to Volterra is outrageous (1 hr). Very fun but be prepared for a challenge.
We walked to a wine tasting tour at Casa Emma and that was a highlight of the week. Many fine restaurants and winerys within minutes. A perfect location and the restored village that is Canonica di Cortine is breathtaking.
Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhodeIslandLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stumbled upon this tranquil village by accident and were very lucky.
This is a fully renovated, middle ages village which is simply beautiful.
Our room was in a large, private building and was lovely renovated sleeping room, with views of the swimming pool and the Tuscan hills.
The bed was huge and so was the bathroom, and the room felt like a true vintage one.
Breakfast was fresh and wholesome, with fresh Cappuccino on request.
Overall excellent value for money and great atmosphere. Very well recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews