We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much more than we expected!”
Review of Hotel Eltina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Eltina
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“much more than we expected!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

we booked this hotel as late deal at a very low price (and so did not expect much!). We are a couple in our mid twenties, and although we knew this was an 18-30s holiday we only wanted a break away. upon arrival we felt the reps where a bit of a let down, but once we where walked through the hotel grounds to our room we where pleasantly surprised by the Eltina! The hotel is brilliantly maintained, with 2 well kept pools, nice gardens and the buildings themselves are immaculate (especially compared to other hotels we have seen on our visit to Malia)! the room was tidy with good facilities (as we did alot of our own cooking) and within walking distance of central Malia and the beach. The Old Town is a must on a visit to Malia! The staff at the Eltina really made our holiday for us and we couldnt have asked for more. We would definately come back again and would recommend to anyone! Thank you Eltina!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisburkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    25
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

worst hotel i have ever stayed at they never clean your rooms,the women who sits there all day smoking like dot cotton is really rude and robs u out of money by stealing your key then selling it you back the room stank of sweat and there were stains allover the bed, dont even wanna know wat they were we complained and they still didnt clean it never ever agen

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by the reps with our suitcases only to drag them across the entire hotel and 3 flights of narrow stairs. We were then hassled by the rep at 1am to make decisions regarding activities during the week which are 50 euros each! The hotel room itself is very basic, we had no cups in our cupboards and the bathroom was more of a wetroom with a handheld shower over a square base. We did not even have hot water for the first 2 days. Our room also only got cleaned due to our rep making a request after the 4th day. The pool area is very average and the snackbar's meals i felt were overpriced for what they were as i found the food very greasy and tasteless. On the third night there was an altercation with my friend and the bar manager Maria who was very verbally abusive and even threw an object at her. You also have to pay seperately for aircon which is 60 euros itself for a week. The only good thing about this hotel is the fact it is perfect distance from the strip about 10 minute walk. i would certainly not reccommend this hotel to a friend. Despite this we did have an enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katess17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is my second time in Malia and I absolutly loved it! Me n my friend got this hotel at a really cheap price so didnt expect much but when we got there it was clean, nice and in a good location. There were 2 pools, one where you could chill and 1 where you could have a laugh and get talking to everyone. The people that work there were really friendly specially maria and a big thank u to the maids for always tidying our room no matter what state we left it in. The food was yummy and I liturally tried everything on the menu! lol. The drinks were cheap and I do advise that you get steamin at the hotel before you go down to the strip as you save alot of money. Also buy some party wine for b4 you go out.. its really cheap and gets you smashed! lol. Another thing i suggest is to hire out a quad bike.. they're sooo much fun! the strip is about a 10 min walk but it is easily done.. even after many many drinks and in heels! I really would advise this hotel to all of my friends and if though it is 18-30's it still has a nice relaxing atmosphere in the day time. Me n my friend are going back to Malia next yr to work there for the summer.. thats how much we loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidays049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Eltina is a great place if you're going to Malia with friends. It's about a 5 minute walk to the strip but you're far enough away for it to not be in your face all day as well. The staff are brilliant especially the bar staff who make you're stay that much better. Theres a decently priced bar open 24/7 which means before and after you go out you can always go there. As there's two hotels joined together you can use the facilities of both of them which is very usefull too. However the maid is something else no matter what kind of state you're in she WILL wake you up at about 11 even if that means rolling you out of bed...which gets annoying very quickly. Also if you're thinking of getting transport e.g. mopeds or quads watch out for the salesmen there so sly and avoid the company Hermes, they are definitley the worst. Overall a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minister_magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
0.2 km away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Kastro Beach Apartments
49.2 km away
Eltina Hotel
Eltina Hotel
#126 of 175 in Rethymnon
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#14 of 90 in Malia
171 reviews
0.9 km away
SunVillage Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eltina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eltina

Property: Hotel Eltina
Address: 35 Venizelou Eleftheriou | Malia Main Road, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Malia
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Studios and apartments from 1 to 4 persons, 2 swimming pools, 2 snack bars (one 24hours open), sun terrace , sun beds, reception, free wifi in public areas and some rooms, Internet corner *,full kitchen in rooms , a/c*,fan*, safe box*, late check out*, shower curtains, (* extra charge, paid locally ). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Eltina Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing