We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
172
34
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
34
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews le mas des fresh local ingredients plane trees table tennis etc room was super quiet every evening great hosts her husband excellent food the ground floor thierry guests provence garden patio hostess vaucluse
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We first visited Le Mas des Gres in the early Fall, and our second visit was in late October, so we decided this year to visit in the heat and sun of July. What a glorious time to be in Provence! The lavender is in full blossom, the vegetables and fruits are everywhere, and so, of course, the dinners that Thierry prepared for us all each of our 5 evenings were fresh from the fields and streams. Such things as cheese-stuffed zucchini blossoms nested in a bowl of spicy pimento puree, melon and prosciutto , salmon on a bed of ratatouille, cheese tray every evening, peach soup, homemade intensely flavorful sorbets in a super-thin cookie "tulip", and on and on. In other words, it is no surprise that all the guests in the 14 rooms in the auberge choose to have dinner every evening out on the terrace. We started at 7:30 with a kir royal, or a champagne, and then dinner was served at 8. Our room was air-conditioned, and despite the heat and sun during the day, by evening, the cool breezes were blowing beneath the immense plane trees on the terrace. The inn is as welcoming as ever and Nina and her able staff take care of every need. While we didn't use it, many guests were in the pool or lounging along the side when we came dragging in after a long day running around the countryside. Le Mas des Gres is perfectly situated for day-trips in every direction. Our room was super quiet and cool. It was so hard to say good bye to Nina and Thierry. We will return. We must!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Although it's been about a month since we stayed at Le Mas des Gres, the pleasure lingers in our memories. Upon recommendation of Paris-based friends we booked 5 nights in early October. Lagnes makes a good base for exploring the area, with easy day trips possible to the wine towns like Gigondas or Chateauneuf-du-Pape, delightful hill towns such as Gordes and Seguret and tourist-attracting towns like Fountains-de-Vaucluse or L'Isles-sur-la-Sorgue. You drive through very pleasant countryside with vineyards, orchards, vegetable-growing fields-beautiful, peaceful with little traffic.

The owners of Le Mas des Gres, Nina and Thierry, have created a very special place, throughly welcoming, with a high level of comfort, and amazingly delicious meals. Not stuffy in the least. You felt like family, if your family included a world-class chef and superbly charming hostess. We didn't want to leave! We stayed in the ground-level room 12 which had its own patio and because it is also accessible, a very nice, big shower. We were worried that it might not be sound-proof, but it proved to be perfectly quiet, even with families staying there too. (Note that our hosts provided for family guests to eat in a separate dining room from "adults"-a very nice accommodation for all parties.)

We were delighted with breakfast and dinner-truly 3-star cuisine. The Inn is lovely with common rooms filled with books and comfy sofas and a perfect patio for enjoying the rest of that bottle of wine you started at last nights dinner. We hope to return!!!

Room Tip: #12 on first floor has it's own patio.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EatApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina C, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Gres, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

thank you for your personal comment regarding your stay at le mas des grès. we really hope welcoming you back again and are certain that you will also spread the word as your friends did. it is always the best to reserve directly via mail or phone in order to get the best price/quality value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A warm welcome to a relaxed hotel is complemented by exceptional and beautifully cooked and presented food. Location is ideal for discovering Provence. You will leave happy and content - and reluctantly. Facilities [pool, exercise room, jacuzzi, TV/air-conditioning in room] are first-rate. It combines the relaxed reassurance of a family hotel with the efficiency of a well-run inn. The staff clearly enjoy their work. A very attractive place for brief stop or [as I found over almost a fortnight] a prolonged stay.

Room Tip: Best views are from rear, though others overlook shady garden.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank barry148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This is to Nina (the owner, along with her husband who is a Michelin level chef),

Thank you for such friendly service whilst we were there with our two children. We loved our room, the hotel, the pool and all the nice touches that make a hotel special.

And the food was quite exceptional. We were concerned that guests at your hotel must eat what is served and we wondered if our children were going to be faced with the more traditional French food that can be hard to face! This was not the case and our 9 and 11 year old both loved all of it.

Your staff we also very polite and helpful. Please wish Alex all the best on his travels.

To anyone considering staying here, it is a real discovery. There is a great outdoor playground with football net, basketball, table tennis etc. The pool is lovely with an honesty fridge and outdoor kitchen, which is a super touch, the outside terrace for meals is beautiful.

You stay here and have the food - this is what you do and you won't regret it. It is an experience and five star all the way without the shiny bling.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I could almost stay for ever! The hosts are charming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. The house guidebook in our room was so amusing as to the house rules etc! The food was delicious and the pool inviting. With so much sun we would bring our chairs under the trees or go into the small shelter where there was an honesty bar for soft drinks and beer in the fridge. Also a kettle to make tea. Our room was comfortable with a good bed, chest of drawers, small wardrobe containing a fridge and bedside tables, TV and a nicely decorated ensuite with walk-in shower. The housekeeper kept it immaculate. The staff were so helpful and pleasant. Thierry the chef/owner and Nina his wife obviously love being great hosts. We enjoyed watching small children being given a task and interacting with the guests. It is near L'Isle de la Sorgue and Fontaine de Vaucluse as well as many other beautiful villages. The only slight problem for us was dinner goes on a long time so starting at 8 pm we didn't finish till after 10 pm.
We liked the fixed dinner menu and breakfasts consisted of delicious fresh fruit and croissants, cafe au lait and wonderful home made preserves. We managed a couple of superb lunches too. We definitely recommend this hotel de charm and look forward to returning. It was just so relaxing and friendly and we mingled with French, German and Swiss couples. Wonderful! Just remember it gets very booked up!

Room Tip: We had a room on first floor no 2
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews