We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Find!”
Review of Le Mas des Gres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Mas des Gres
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Although it's been about a month since we stayed at Le Mas des Gres, the pleasure lingers in our memories. Upon recommendation of Paris-based friends we booked 5 nights in early October. Lagnes makes a good base for exploring the area, with easy day trips possible to the wine towns like Gigondas or Chateauneuf-du-Pape, delightful hill towns such as Gordes and Seguret and tourist-attracting towns like Fountains-de-Vaucluse or L'Isles-sur-la-Sorgue. You drive through very pleasant countryside with vineyards, orchards, vegetable-growing fields-beautiful, peaceful with little traffic.

The owners of Le Mas des Gres, Nina and Thierry, have created a very special place, throughly welcoming, with a high level of comfort, and amazingly delicious meals. Not stuffy in the least. You felt like family, if your family included a world-class chef and superbly charming hostess. We didn't want to leave! We stayed in the ground-level room 12 which had its own patio and because it is also accessible, a very nice, big shower. We were worried that it might not be sound-proof, but it proved to be perfectly quiet, even with families staying there too. (Note that our hosts provided for family guests to eat in a separate dining room from "adults"-a very nice accommodation for all parties.)

We were delighted with breakfast and dinner-truly 3-star cuisine. The Inn is lovely with common rooms filled with books and comfy sofas and a perfect patio for enjoying the rest of that bottle of wine you started at last nights dinner. We hope to return!!!

Room Tip: #12 on first floor has it's own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina C, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Gres, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

thank you for your personal comment regarding your stay at le mas des grès. we really hope welcoming you back again and are certain that you will also spread the word as your friends did. it is always the best to reserve directly via mail or phone in order to get the best price/quality value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

A warm welcome to a relaxed hotel is complemented by exceptional and beautifully cooked and presented food. Location is ideal for discovering Provence. You will leave happy and content - and reluctantly. Facilities [pool, exercise room, jacuzzi, TV/air-conditioning in room] are first-rate. It combines the relaxed reassurance of a family hotel with the efficiency of a well-run inn. The staff clearly enjoy their work. A very attractive place for brief stop or [as I found over almost a fortnight] a prolonged stay.

Room Tip: Best views are from rear, though others overlook shady garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank barry148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This is to Nina (the owner, along with her husband who is a Michelin level chef),

Thank you for such friendly service whilst we were there with our two children. We loved our room, the hotel, the pool and all the nice touches that make a hotel special.

And the food was quite exceptional. We were concerned that guests at your hotel must eat what is served and we wondered if our children were going to be faced with the more traditional French food that can be hard to face! This was not the case and our 9 and 11 year old both loved all of it.

Your staff we also very polite and helpful. Please wish Alex all the best on his travels.

To anyone considering staying here, it is a real discovery. There is a great outdoor playground with football net, basketball, table tennis etc. The pool is lovely with an honesty fridge and outdoor kitchen, which is a super touch, the outside terrace for meals is beautiful.

You stay here and have the food - this is what you do and you won't regret it. It is an experience and five star all the way without the shiny bling.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I could almost stay for ever! The hosts are charming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. The house guidebook in our room was so amusing as to the house rules etc! The food was delicious and the pool inviting. With so much sun we would bring our chairs under the trees or go into the small shelter where there was an honesty bar for soft drinks and beer in the fridge. Also a kettle to make tea. Our room was comfortable with a good bed, chest of drawers, small wardrobe containing a fridge and bedside tables, TV and a nicely decorated ensuite with walk-in shower. The housekeeper kept it immaculate. The staff were so helpful and pleasant. Thierry the chef/owner and Nina his wife obviously love being great hosts. We enjoyed watching small children being given a task and interacting with the guests. It is near L'Isle de la Sorgue and Fontaine de Vaucluse as well as many other beautiful villages. The only slight problem for us was dinner goes on a long time so starting at 8 pm we didn't finish till after 10 pm.
We liked the fixed dinner menu and breakfasts consisted of delicious fresh fruit and croissants, cafe au lait and wonderful home made preserves. We managed a couple of superb lunches too. We definitely recommend this hotel de charm and look forward to returning. It was just so relaxing and friendly and we mingled with French, German and Swiss couples. Wonderful! Just remember it gets very booked up!

Room Tip: We had a room on first floor no 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an extended bicycle tour. Many easy rides around here to fabulous villages. Very nice location to come back to rest and swim and wait for the lovely evening meal.
We had room 8 which is an extended attic room with 1 x double and 2 x singles for the boys. It was great and really suited us rather than seperate rooms.
The staff wee great throughout.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina C, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Gres, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

thanks for your comment who will remember us your lovely family biking arround the area with great boys and well organized cycling holidays. we loved the fact that you played family games while waiting for the meals and we are only your mirror and loved serving you and your family. please spread the word to your friends and we are sure that your sons will be back with their families one day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagnes
5.6 km away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
283 reviews
5.4 km away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
225 reviews
4.3 km away
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
Le Domaine De La Petite Isle
#4 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
Hotel Le Mas de Cure-Bourse
#9 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
250 reviews
5.7 km away
La Prevote
La Prevote
#6 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
127 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Les Nevons
Hotel Les Nevons
#5 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas des Gres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Gres

Address: 1651, Rd 901 | Four à Chaux - Isle sur la Sorgue, 84800 Lagnes, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue > Lagnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lagnes
Price Range: €87 - €329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas des Gres 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Provence, near Isle sur la Sorgue, Avignon and on the outskirts of the Luberon Park with Gordes and Roussillon, this charming hotel has become the reference for families, golfers and lovers of good food and wine. It is the first and only "Hotel au Naturel" in the Luberon Park and you will find professional and kind service all stay round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Mas des Gres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Des Gres Hotel Lagnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing