We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Slice of Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Potager

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Descartes, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trevor M
1 review
“A Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Having travelled and stayed in France over many years La Beladiere is the pick of the bunch! Fantastic location, superb accommodation and attention to detail are just a few of the superlatives that can be afforded. Kath & Roger are wonderful hosts with a genuine willingness to help with your stay and travel plans. Numerous chateau's within east reach. Great medieval towns and villages abound. Polly (the dog) Stumpy/Beryl/Black & Decker (the chickens) Denis (the cat) Mondice (the goat) we miss you all!!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn B
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wonderful family holiday for 15 so using all accommodation . Everything was perfect. We all loved the swimming pool especially the children. The whole place is so safe for them. Kath and Roger could not do enough for us, from arranging a birthday meal to be cooked. By a local,chef, a birthday cake, bike rides, canoe trips, sheep shearing and so much more. They really went beyond the call of duty to ensure that our trip was special in every way .
We cannot recommend this place highly enough and have booked a return trip. There is lots to see and do in the local area and beyond, yet it is peaceful and relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew R
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful return”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Le Potager for a week last year and within 2 days we'd already decided to go back so here's my second review.
We stayed for 2 weeks this time and once again had a wonderful time. The gite is first class, 3 excellent en-suite bedrooms, plus all the facilities you'd want, but it's the larger extensive property which really adds to it, the converted farm of La Beladiere, the owners, Roger and Kath have created a beautiful idyllic retreat to get away from it all in the rustic rural French countryside. There are plenty of places to relax and unwind, whether in the private garden, in the field at the back, in the orchard in the front, by the pool...it's so very peaceful. There is lots to do as well, my daughters are 17, 11 and 4, and they all had a great time, obviously the pool was very popular, but also the table tennis and badminton was utilised, as well the numerous mountain bikes, provided free of charge to use, cycling down to the local river. We were also lucky to be able to eat produce from the vegetable garden at the back, fresh tomatoes and cucumbers - plus freshly laid eggs from the chickens, my 4 year old daughter was very excited to be handed a warm freshly laid egg to have for lunch! it's very well located for the sites of the Loire Valley and we enjoyed visits to Chinon, Amboise, Tours plus the Futuroscope theme park (we went on a quiet day which was great!). We would thoroughly recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed, Kath and Roger are absolutely superb hosts - they are so helpful and clearly enjoy having people stay in their home and helping them fall in love with it as they have, I'm sure we'll be back at some point, it'd be sad to think we won't.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and tranquility of the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeordiesL...
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay, lovely owners”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We and two Canadian friends spent two idyllic weeks in Le Potager from 8th May until 21st May 2016; we cannot think of sufficient superlatives to describe our stay. It was absolutely brilliant!

Le Potager is a three bedroomed three bathroomed gite, one of two at La Belardiere. When we arrived at 4:30 on a Sunday afternoon we were warmly welcomed by Kath and - abandoning his grass-cutting for a while - Roger whose house forms part of the ‘C’ of buildings, set between a lovely large garden, beautifully kept, and a field running up the hill behind the gite.

The gite itself was spotless - and we mean spotless. A welcome pack of both local products and essentials had been thoughtfully provided, and the shopping that Kath had so kindly offered to do for us (the weekend was a public holiday and in France that means that everything was closed!) was waiting ready for our evening meal. Kath and Roger showed us round the gite and explained how all the equipment worked, and introduced Boudie the airedale, Denis the cat and the five hens. Everything is there that you would need and the gite is very comfortable - beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated.

Outside, the space between the two ‘wings’ is covered in stone chippings with flower beds around and metal sculptures (all made by Roger) of birds, a dragonfly and various animals - it is amazing the way he sees interesting shapes in things that others (including us, we might say) would miss (check out the giraffe peering over the garden wall). The garden has sun and shade (fruit and nut trees - the walnuts were much appreciated!) with plenty of space for children to use up all their energy running around it and for adults to lounge in. There is a large fenced-in pool, carefully kept bright and clear by Roger, to sit around or for those moments when you need to cool off.

Kath and Roger have a wealth of information and knowledge about the local area and beyond that they happily share and were great at pointing out the places that are really interesting but that many visitors do not know of. They helped us to find interesting walks locally where orchids were coming into flower and were ever so helpful in telling us about markets in the area, including very usefully, where to park. If this sounds as though they were ‘in our faces’, they were not! They have the enviable quality to be there but not there, never intrusive but always willing to help with advice and more. Friendly and easy-going, they never stop in their efforts to keep the whole place in apple-pie order - and it shows. We would recommend having a few drinks with them and hearing about the area and the things that they do, both at La Belardiere and outside (and get Roger to show you his on-going projects!).

This was our first stay at La Belardiere, and we hope that it will not be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmp73
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most tranquil and relaxing Gite in the Loire - courtesy of Kath & Roger”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Whether you want peace and tranquility or some engagement with the local community, this is a splendid holiday location. Kath and Roger can't do enough for their guests.

Le Potager sleeps six comfortably and it's wonderful. Well equipped, spacious and clean throughout.

Roger's a gem at creating works of art out of metal and a dab hand at DIY too. Kath is a font of knowledge on the local area and both are well integrated with the local community.

The canoeing trip down La Creuse was amazing. The nearby market stalls replete with fresh produce and the locals most welcoming and accommodating.

My personal highlight were the hammocks on the bank behind the property under the shade of gorgeous trees.

WE LOVE this place and visited twice in 2015. I really hope we'll revisit Kath and Roger in 2016... We also need to top up on wine from the Ampelidae winery, which is outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Kath & Roger, Dennis and Boudi
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing