We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baraza Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bwejuu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018

An absolutely incredible hotel. The entire facility is so well thought through. Everything fits together and the guest very important for all the staff, always.

We stayed eight days at Baraza in a two-bedroom villa of 193 sqm. The villa has everything you can imagine. The beds are amazing so we wondered why one needed a day bed? However, actually used this place to read, chill and have a glass of wine after the beach (in the air conditioning). I really have nothing to complain about, but ... as a woman using makeup, I have to say that there is no cosmetic mirror and no good light in the bathrooms. Five-star bathrooms look like the ones at Baraza, but have a secret button that gives a light that you can see your face in.

The food leaves nothing to wish fore. Every other evening a five-course luxury menu is served and every other evening it is a wonderful buffet (Asian, Indian …). Perfect variety. The wines included are absolutely drinkable. Not top class, but okay. One can buy, but we only did it once, because it was not needed. The food is good healthy food, there is a lot of variety and if you do not want to eat fatty foods there are many vegetables and fish (shellfish) to choose from. If you want to have just a little sweets, there is a wonderful banana cake for breakfast.

On New Year's Eve and one other evening in the week there was a part on the beach, with bar and DJ. Terrific but unfortunately very few guests attending. The hotel is a bit of a hideaway. No party place and no perfect hotel if you are looking for new contacts/friends.

The staff is one of the best I've met. A strict but charming restaurant manager who had full control. Only nice waiters. Wonderful bartender who quickly learned our wishes. The SPA manager is very helpful and pleasant. Reception staff as well. Everyone was outstanding.

Zanzibar as island is worth a visit. The beach at Baraza with coral sand is very nice and the influence of tides is large. You can not swim or snorkel directly outside the hotel. Maybe dip in the warm water, but more inviting for a swim is the pool. We went on an excursion to Stone town. I think you should do it, but it's not a beautiful experience. Zanzibar is very poor and Stone town is worn and dirty. The food market is purely disgusting. However, I think you should see something outside Baraza to understand where you are. The Islamic religion and culture make society so different if compared to the mainland. You can dress normally but should avoid the shortest shorts and small shirts.

So my advice - go here !!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evanbella1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-TZC, Manager at Baraza Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

It is always such a pleasure to ready about our guests' holiday experiences and we are all very happy that you had a relaxing visit to Baraza and to Zanzibar.
It is definitely an island of many contrasts with wonderful sights and sounds in Stone Town, at the Dolphin beaches, at the mangrove forest, at the spice farms and many other interesting and unique places.
I thank you for your suggestion regarding the make-up mirror and we will look into this.
From all of us; we say 'asante sana' and I wish you a great year ahead.
Sergi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

We have just returned from our fourth stay at baraza which was just like 'coming home '. As requested we were allocated the same garden villa with its own secluded garden which was spotlessly clean and well cared for by housekeeping . It is difficult to add more to the amazing reviews other than to reaffirm that the service is outstanding, you are made to feel very special and that the food offer is exceptional . We stayed over the new year period and are still amazed at the quality of the food and service during such a busy time. Huge thanks to Esther, Kalei and team . Thanks too for the water sports staff who arranged the spectacular fireworks display out at sea . The organisation was incredible! No visit to baraza is complete without visiting the local village - another good reason to return!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-TZC, Manager at Baraza Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Sue,
The whole Baraza team is always delighted to welcome you back to your home on the Swahili Coast!
Thank you for everything and our fingers are crossed that we will see you back at Baraza very soon.
Our best wishes,
Sergi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We stayed at Baraza after an 8 day safari in Tanzania... and I have to say that it was amazing. The villa was spacious, the pool lovely and the gym and spa were fantastic (my husband had one of the best massages... i used the gym a lot. It had all the basics - so it was fine). I also thought the gift shop was lovely (a minor point, but it was massive, like a mini mall, but very classy). But what really made Baraza special was the service and food. It was an all inclusive (except for the pricey gin), and they couldn't have been more attentive. There was champagne on the way into dinner. They frequently checked if we wanted anything as we were sitting in our lounge chairs by the beach (I must have had 10 large bottles of water a day!) It really had that 'discreet yet full service' feel. And the food was some of the best I've had. We're not huge fans of buffets, but the buffets I dare way were better than the menus. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were a feast (and we've stayed at some amazing places). I think because it only has 80 people max in the whole resort, you get wonderful attentive service and food. We were there over new years eve, and they really put on a special drinks event before dinner (by the pool) and dancing on the beach with fireworks after. They even handed NYE themed costume type stuff (which sounds tacky, but was actually really fun). My only two complaints were: there was no conditioner in the bathrooms. Seriously. It was that shampoo/conditioner combo that never works on long hair. Because we were just on safari, I didn't have my conditioner (packed light). So I had to buy some from the gift shop (and then the front desk). The reason this stands out is that everything else was perfect. It seemed an odd place to save money. The other thing was when it was low tide, there wasn't much water. Like, you seriously couldn't swim. There's nothing they can do about it, and everyone on that coast I'm sure has the same problem, but I've never seen a beach like it! (but when it was high tide, it was perfect..!)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-TZC, Manager at Baraza Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Janet,
We are all very happy to read about your Zanzibar holiday and I am pleased that you had a memorable start to the new year.
I note your concern regarding conditioner however from your experience with us I am sure you can agree that Baraza does not 'cut corners' where our guests are concerned and this is an issue of preference.
It was our supreme pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you back at our Swahili Coast in the very near future.
Warm regards from us all and happy 2018!
Sergi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We have been in the Baraza resort and we felt like a king. The staff, the accommodation and the foot.... It was all over overwhelming...This one is the best...
The villas are very complet and cozy and gives you everything you need.
You feel save and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margarita v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-TZC, Manager at Baraza Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Margarita,
Thank you for visiting us; we are happy that you had a good holiday at Baraza.
We wish you a great year ahead and please do come back and see us again soon.
Sergi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Very nice resort , relaxing ,amazing ocean view.
Meals, entertainment >>>to the point.Will definately make as second trip soon.
Strongly recommend for anyone ,including couples, families to make no other choice for a beach holiday apart from BARAZA!!Hakuna Matata!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msahota45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-TZC, Manager at Baraza Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Asante sana!
We look forward to seeing you again and until then we wish you a very happy year ahead.
Baraza Hakuna Matata!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
2.9 km away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
39.9 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 175 in Zanzibar Island
542 reviews
32.3 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,111 reviews
22.5 km away
Tulia Zanzibar Unique Beach Resort
8.2 km away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Michamvi
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range: €540 - €962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing