We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Marine Lodge(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
311
57
12
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
57
12
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreef walkstone townfishour honeymoonremembered our namesbush babieseco tourismthe cliffbeach housesea urchinsindian oceanoverlooking the waterinfinity poolswim with dolphinseach mealmnemba islandspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We were met by an excellent driver, Khamisi, who gave us a superb intro to Zanzibar history, as we made our way to the GORGEOUS Matemwe. Ross was at the door to meet us, and we felt so relaxed, warm and happy as he showed us around the stunning setting... the dining room view is unbelievable, each room so well appointed, beautifully laid out and decorated. The plunge pool was a real bonus! and the two swimming pools real heaven. Feeding the bushbabies a the bar in the evening was a total highlight!!! The boat trip to swim with dolphins and snorkel was utterly memorable. The ongoing work at the turtle sanctuary was great to see... All the staff were outstanding. Pleasant, polite, happy. It was a joy staying at Matemwe, a real treat, and we will no doubt find a way to return one day!

Room Tip: We would suggest a towel rail/rack for hanging towels both in the bathroom (existing one is too small) but also outside for draping towels after swimming etc. Otherwise everything was very comfortable. A brilliant stay, thank you!!!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joojNaivasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hello,

We are so pleased that you had such a superb time with us and really appreciate your review. It's a special piece of paradise for us and we take great pride in offering excellent service. Your choice of activities certainly must have created lasting memories and we hope to welcome you back to indulge in even more!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Matemwe Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Looking out over the Indian Ocean from our private Villa with plunge pool, we felt all our cares just melt away. This exotic paradise exceeded all expectations.
The food was world class both in its presentation and flavour.
We had the choice of private dining in our villa or even a candlelit dinner on the beach.
Siting by the pool being served a delicious lunch was just as magical.
Day activities made for tough decisions. Do we book a massage, go canoeing or perhaps snorkelling to be followed by lunch on our own private beach. Hmmm, maybe after a dip in our plunge pool.
The staff were genuine and efficient, the resort surroundings were lush, comfortable with stunning views.
Highly recommend this property.
Heads up, it’s a rough and bumpy road taking around 90mins from Stone Town, so worth it once you get there.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jennymay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hello Jenny,

Thank you for this superb recommendation and lovely review. We are so pleased you had a magical time in our incredible corner of paradise.

It's so rewarding to hear that we managed to exceed your expectations and you were able to relax so completely and simply enjoy. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back and help you out with those tough daily decisions.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Matemwe Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We (a family of four from the US, 2 boys ages 11 and 14) just returned from 17 days in Africa — 8 of them spent at Matemwe Lodge. Choosing a beach and lodging from the other side of the world was a daunting task, but we were absolutely thrilled that we settled on Matemwe Lodge. The setting is ideal, with 12 huge and gorgeous bungalows overlooking the water. It’s rare that a place is more beautiful in person than it is in photos, but Matemwe Lodge is just that.

Somehow, even more extraordinary is the staff — they are out of this world! Truly among the most exceptionally kind and helpful and genuinely wonderful people we’ve ever met. Mohammed and his brother, James, were among the many standouts. Mohammed taught us to play the Tanzanian game of Bao and would happily indulge our son’s many requests to play him at the bar. James was our waiter more often than not and remembered every detail of our crazy orders, from Tangawizi without a glass to rice instead of potatoes, to no tomatoes ever.

Each night, while we were at dinner, our bungalow was magically transformed to be ready for sleeping: beds were turned down, garbage and dirty towels removed, and mosquito nets put down and secured.

The manager of the Asilia properties in Matemwe is on-hand regularly and is lovely to chat with. He helped us arrange our own modified version of a Stone Town and Spice Farm tour and recommended the incomparable Scuba Fish for all of our diving.

There aren’t enough stars available to adequately rate Matemwe Lodge and it’s staff. Every moment of our stay with them was top notch. We hope to return to Zanzibar one day and wouldn’t hesitate to march right back to Matemwe Lodge.

A top notch establishment with the most wonderful people around. Stay here. You will be so glad you did!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hello Molly,

What an incredible accolade for our team! Thank you for posting this superb review and for choosing to relax with us. It is indeed often rather difficult to sift through all the options so the fact that we met your high expectations is the ideal compliment.

Our team so enjoyed spending time with your family and it was an absolute pleasure to host you. We're looking forward to that return trip and to many more games of Bao!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Matemwe Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Wonderful "boutique" resort with a great view overlooking the ocean. Superb personalized services provided by a dedicated and friendly staff. Food was very good. Will always remember the candlelight BBQ in the beach on Valentine day!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jbernlague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review of your time with us. It is such a pleasure to offer great service and our team is so pleased to receive these compliments.

We hope the romantic memory of that Valentine's Day will have you returning to us soon.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Matemwe Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We loved our 3 night stay at Matemwe Lodge. The room had a super view over the ocean with a hammock and sofa, perfect for relaxing and reading. Because of the proximity to the large village of Matemwe, there was loads to watch as a variety of fishing boats went to and fro in front of the hotel during the day. We also enjoyed walking to the village and seeing the lively fish auction take place. Walking along the beach was safe without hawkers hassling you. Snorkelling off the island was good. It is a shame you have to pay extra for it, as snorkelling off the beach is no good. I would have preferred to have the charge incorporated in the price of the hotel. The meals were delicious, especially the lunches. All in all a really beautiful place and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer the facilities. Some of the rooms are some way a way from the restaurant and pools.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 724olivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for this superb recommendation. Our team appreciates the feedback you have offered and are so happy you enjoyed a relaxing time in our idyllic setting.

We would welcome the opportunity to offer you some more time to soak up those views!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Matemwe Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews