We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday to Zanzibar ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

This was our second family holiday to Zanzibar on an all inclusive package. The best feature of this hotel is its amazing location and beach. The tidal range in Zanzibar can be extreme depending on where you are. This is not the case here with the deviation between tides having no effect on the beach. The food was varied and plentiful with the pizza at the beach bar being the highlight. The staff are very helpful and friendly even though we were there at a very busy time and it was clear they were very busy. Miriam in particular made our stay very pleasant at the pool bar. My only small complaint is the resort ran out of sugar free drinks . I was told this was a supplier issue. It made my son who can’t use sugar have limited options in terms of drinks on the all in package.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Clinton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in Zanzibar. I am very pleased that you liked your stay and apologize for the fact that we ran out of certain items. I will follow up on this. We all hope you will soon visit us again.

Best regards

MSchibler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay at Gemma. The service is great, people working there simply helped the relaxing experience in the hotel. Beautiful nature and very secure. I was amazed to see the hotel also offers yoga classes. I met Manuela there, the yoga teacher with whom i had an amazing wellbeing exchange, which compliment my perfect experience in the hotel! We might definitely come back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Boyana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Guest

I thank you very much for your kind feedback and for sharing it with us on Tripadvisor. I will share it with my team with pleasure and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

MSchibler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Recently returned from this lovely island spending two weeks over the Xmas holidays Beautiful beach crystal blue sea white soft sand. Fab service at the beach didn’t have to move off your sun lounger for a drink thanks to Abu and Julias at the bar service with a huge smile nothing was to much trouble for them. In fact all the staff were really lovely and friendly.
Main restaurant was very nice with a good choice of food. Egg station was a bit of a wait as only one person so big queues.However at dinner not enough tables were available we were escorted to the bar numerous times to wait for a table and sometimes the wait was quite a while as they forgot about us. Room was a bit disappointing it was cleaned daily and fresh towels were supplied but the smell of sewage was at times a bit overwhelming it was also very dark in the room and plug sockets were falling out of the walls. For the brits visiting take your plug converters.
Overall Great holiday great staff would love to visit this island again and this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

I thank you very much for your feedback and for sharing it with us on Tripadvisor. We are working as a team to get your feedback addressed. As to the room we have put in place a preventive maintenance program to address all such issues. Me and my team would be very pleased to welcome you back very soon to our property.

Best regards, MSchibler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Perfect location, one of the few with wonderful sunsets in Zanzibar.
Rooms are excellent with sea view and very clean and comfortable.
Excellent choice on restaurants. Very romantic Sea Breeze restaurant within the on-the-sea structure that makes this resort so unique and exclusive.
Emanuela, the recreation manager, is so nice and professional.
The on-the-beach restaurant and bar makes your on-the-beach day so relaxing and comfortable. We recommend the Don Pedro cocktail prepared by Lukas.
Living in Europe with just 2 hours shift we'll definitely come back!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for spending your holiday with us and sharing your feedback with us. I am very pleased that you did like your stay and will forward your comments to my team with pleasure. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards, MSchibler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed for the last week of our honeymoon at this hotel. It was unfortunately a bit of an anti climax from the warm reception we had in mainland Tanzania. To start off the hotel is layed out in a very strange way, with the main restaurant and lobby separate from the beach and bars. This restaurant was a buffet and the only restaurant included within the all inclusive package. It was OK but not the greatest choice, a buffet also ruins the occasion of sitting down for a meal together and is definitely not romantic. Also the range of alcohol within the package was a bit limited also with at the time only one local beer. I would expect a selection of beers and wines to make it feel more special. We did complain and they gave us a voucher for the seafood restaurant. This was really lovely, but it was a shame it took a complaint to get this, on honeymoon they should really expect that the couple will want one romantic meal atleast. The rooms also were very basic and the beds quite uncomfortable, really also need to be providing separate shampoos and conditioner. These might be small things but it is that little bit of luxury you do expect from a 5* hotel. Overall we did just feel like 1 in the masses instead of a personal experience. Shame because the beach is lovely.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank AllySimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager M, General Manager at Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize that you did not like all aspects of your stay and I will follow up each point with my team to seek improvement. We all hope that you will visit us soon again so we can make it right.

Best regards, MSchibler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
24.9 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,765 reviews
2.8 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
683 reviews
0.2 km away
Diamonds Star of the East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
35.4 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 175 in Zanzibar Island
542 reviews
23.1 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: €267 - €585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing