We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing honeymoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Relaxing honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks in September 2011, for our honeymoon.

We had a sea view suite, which was nice, although the bathroom could have been better. We often didn't get hot water, unless we left complained or left the water running for a while.

The hotel had quite a few power cuts during our stay, but they didn't last for more than a few minutes at a time, so it was never a big problem.

We had a lovely welcome to the hotel and generally found the staff to be very personable, although clearly not fully trained.

Drinks were rarely chilled sufficiently, so you should ask for plenty of ice.

The food was good, we had a very nice buffet on the beach on several nights and the pizzas at the pool bar are the best I have ever tasted.

The entertainment was locally sourced and good.

The beach was lovely and it's nice to see the locals catching fish every morning. It was very quiet when we stayed, so we never had at trouble getting sun loungers.

It's worth going on a trip to Prison Island to see the turtles and it's also worth seeing the Red Colobus monkeys, which are indigenous to Zanzibar.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel, although there is room for improvement.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Queneth_Veneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Queneth_Veneth,

thank you very much for taking the time to post the review.
All the staff really appreciates your positive comments specially after quiet some month after you have left!!!
You are right, there is always room for improvement, and we do so every time ( i.e. we can serve now chilled drinks even without ice :-)

I hope the lovely mermory will stay forever!!
Sunny regards from Nungwi
Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    452
    136
    62
    34
See reviews for
233
637
81
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hi All
When I checked in they offered me sea view balcony room instead of sea front deluxe room which I have booked it. I don’t know why they want to cheat me in small thing as almost resort was empty.

I have complained for hot water in my room from day one. But they haven’t sorted out till I checked out and though maintenance staff and desk staff all know. And I have got in answer was sorry that’s it. They even not bothered to change my room either. It was just warm water coming from all the taps. Also bathroom condition was so bad that all the taps and shower and rack got rusted and also there is no shower curtain either. It wasn’t standard of Hilton Group. I stayed in room no. 134. I have taken the pictures of taps and shower and cleanliness of bathroom. The hotel and also its not worth for money. Location was very good of the hotel. But hotel is not up to the standard of Hilton group at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krunal_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Krunal Patel:

thank you very much for taking the time to fill out the survey.
The direct communication with our valued guests is the most helpful way to improve our standards and reach our goals of total customer satisfaction.

I sincerely apologize, also in the name of the entire staff, that we have failed while you have been our guest. I very much regret that I couldn’t be at the property to take care of your needs.

Definitely is what not the aim of our staff to provide you with a room in a lower category then you have booked. As I can follow the records you have been checked-in to room 233, which is in the 1st floor of our sea front cottages. We have defined the five separated cottages in the middle section of the resort as our deluxe seafront category as they are directly located at the beach.
We may have caused a misunderstanding, because of the ground floor and the first floor but all five buildings belong to the same category.

The insufficient condition of the bathroom fittings and the water supply to these special buildings had been identified already. Unfortunately we haven’t been able to proceed with the exchange as fast as we had wanted to. Since the beginning of May we could start in the standard category to remove the bath tubs, just today the first thirty new bath taps and shower sets arrived in our secluded location.
By the end of this month all 96 rooms in the resort will be up-to-date equipped, the deluxe category will have an additional pump to supply sufficiently hot water.

I hope that we can welcome you again to convince you with our performance.

Sincerely,

Stephan Sandmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South west uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

After overlanding for three months it was a pleasure from the moment we walked through the entrance untill we left. We were personally greeted by the manager who had recently taken over the position. Checkin was a pleasure and we were offered a cookie and cold drink before being shown our room several hours before offical checkin time.
The rooms are beautiful and well appointed with views overlooking the beach and pool. Free wifi
in the room. There is nothing anyone could complain about. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellinggirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed here back in Jan 2012 as part of a climb to Kilimanjaro.

The good:
- The hotel is right on the beach which was private and located in the remote nothernmost part of Zanzibar.
- The hotel room I received was beachfront with a walkout right to the lounge chairs.
- The Indian ocean is very warm and gentle enough to swim.
- I had a massage there as well which was amazing.
- Very relaxing.

The not so good:
-The restaurant over there was average and overpriced.
-The hotel room was also average, but considering the price I paid not bad.
-Check - in was slow.
-Very far from stone town and the airport. It's almost 1 hour away and the taxi cost is almost $50.

I would recommend this hotel despite the shortcomings. It's very nice and has a great beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakeel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We came here last month during Easter with our kids. We spent wonderful time. The hotel is very safe with security on the beach, the hotel has a private beach and a public beach. Many boats sailing but we enjoyed a lot, so typical ! They have also a good swimming pool, great for kids with different levels of deepness. We enjoyed the night animation with different shows.
The staff and service was very good. It was Buffet at the restaurant, very easy for kids - food was good. Setting on the beach for diner, under the stars...unforgetable
Sunsets were gorgeous.A special thank to the Massai bell boy who was very helpful.
A very good atmosphere, " something special " !
Hoping to come back soon, I recommend

Room Tip: On the ground floor for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
26.8 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.8 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.0 km away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.2 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
1.3 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing