We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
19
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomfurnished beautifullykathrynedwardmournesaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

If you have a larger than usual size of party and are looking for somewhere away from it all for a few days, this is a good place to consider. The house has a refurbished modern interior with lots of rooms (and bathrooms – one even with a whirlpool bath), and a huge kitchen. The place is warm, comfortable, and with a good range of facilities. All very pleasant.
It’s in the heart of the Mountains of Mourne, with lots of great scenery, and some attractions within easy reach by car. And despite the isolation it’s easily found, being just beside the road – a plus factor for anyone who has struggled over farm tracks and forest trails to locate their short-break cottage. Don’t worry about traffic noise, it’s not a busy road and the house keeps noise out well. Do make sure you have your supplies with you, even the convenience shops and take-aways are several miles off., and the supermarket even further.
You’re in the lee of Spelga dam so a couple of minutes’ walk takes you up to the viewpoint. And try the little road below the house and watch your free-wheeling car apparently go uphill with the engine off: it’s one of those roads where the surroundings create an optical illusion and a gentle downward slope looks as if it’s actually going uphill.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank IainNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a second holiday at Spelga House it was even better second time round with addition of a games room since are last visit . This holiday home is amazing can,t recommend it highly enough. The views and location are stunning and the hosts go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

We will definitely be going back

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Maeve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

This place is simply fabulous. From the moment we arrived to the second we left, we had a wonderful time. The house is superb as it has so much space in it. three bedrooms downstairs and three upstairs (sleeps 10)and you never feel cramped. the living room is a great size and the kitchen which has all the things you need during your stay is super. we loved the long table and the huge island in the middle.

Our boys loved the games room esp the pool table and the view is worth going for in itself. The beauty of the Mournes right on your doorstep.. the house is so welcoming and Kathryn and her husband have done an amazing job at fixing the place up to make it what it is. The open fireplace in the living room was also a bonus but we never felt cold in the house.

If you need a place to stay that is out of the way and in the middle of the Mournes then i would def recommend here...i loved waking up and pulling back the curtains to see the huge hill in front of me and the dam too...

no problems with here at all and id totally be back again with my family.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susiewonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We stayed here for a break at new year. There were 2 families and oodles of room for us all. The owners were exceptionally helpful and the house was well maintained and very clean.

It is a great location and close enough to the towns for anything you need. They have a nice telescope for the clear nights but we were unlucky with clouds but here's hoping the next time we go we'll get a few clear nights.

We will definitely be going back. A great location, a great house with great facilities and great owners. The perfect combination for a nice relaxing break

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DkDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I booked spelga house for my family to stay for my birthday weekend, the house is amazing! Loads of space for the kids, beautiful views, peaceful walks and 5 star facilities throughout! Everyone loved the games room, the pool table was superb! The jacuzzi bath was also a big hit with the kids, at home it's hard to get them in but at Spelga House we couldn't get them out! The kitchen was an excellent size were we could all eat together and we had a few agruements over who got the best seats at the breakfast bar! No one wanted to leave! We will definitely be back and I would highly recommend anyone to stay here, it's perfect! Thanks Kathryn for having us.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews