We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I thoroughly echo the sentiments of bill_chris58, Shinx, PaulR74_13 and others who say this is the best / one of the best motels they'd stayed in. Apart from the Esplanade Apartments in Queenstown (which I would say is in a different category of accommodation, being a 2-storey townhouse), this was definitely the best motel we stayed in during our 2-week travel last November. Price was reasonable, the units were spacious and having our very own washer and dryer was a real boon! Most motels would just provide a communal coin-operated washer and dryer - we had problems in 1 of the other motels, where another guest hogged the washer and dryer for himself, washing load after load after load, without regard to the "queue" of laundry baskets lined up in front of the machine.

The kitchen was also well equipped and we could just pop over to the New World Supermarket 2 mins' drive down the road to buy groceries to cook up dinner instead of eating out.

Our group of 14 occupied 3 ground-floor units, with a view of the gurgling brook running in front of the units. When we got up in the morning and drew back the sliding doors, it was a lovely sight of ducks scampering on the grass with the brook beyond and the hills above in the background. The lake was just 2 mins' drive down the road.

Hayley and Dwayne were great hosts - we would definitely have liked to stay longer than the 1 nightwe had there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearbrookWanaka, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

AZLee, thank you so much for your kind words! We agree that the in-room washing machines and dryers are a big asset, as are our fully equipped kitchens. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and service! Hope to see you again, Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 212 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed only 1 night in Jan 2013 and would loved to have stayed longer. This was one of the best places we stayed in. The apartment is very spacious, has a large and well equipped kitchen (by far the largest of any of the places we stayed...including a two door fridge, dishwasher and full oven), a large bedroom with very comfy bed, large private balcony and a washing machine and dryer in the spacious bathroom. It is only a 200m walk to the centre of Wanaka. The supermarket is a 5 minute walk (if that). The staff were friendly. The property is well maintained. Clearbrook is great value for money. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs apartments have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill_chris58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearbrookWanaka, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again soon (longer than 1 night this time!). All the best, Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We arrived in at the motel and as soon as we got into our room we decided we wanted to stay another night! The motel is very well equipped with a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer in each room. Each room has a view of the mountains and you can see the water running the stream that runs throught the grounds.
The room was very clean. Our request to stay another night at short notice was accomdated, we had to change rooms, however we had help with this with was a lovely touch.
We have been in NZ since 11th Jan and can safely say that this has been the best location we have stayed in for both the area and the motel.
Thank you! Sheena and Mark

Room Tip: Try and get a room upstairs as I think the view is slightly better, also one of the end rooms at eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearbrookWanaka, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Hi Sheena & Mark! Thank you for posting such a lovely review. We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate you for an extra night & that you had such an enjoyable stay. Hope the rest of your NZ holiday was just as wonderful! Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This was one of the best places we stayed in NZ. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained with freshly cleaned linen and the beds are fit for a king. Big spa bath and also a laundry and kitchette. Lovely mountain views and a running brook at the doorstep. Conveniently located to the main shopping hub with a short pleasant stroll to the lake and parks. Highly recommend this one...

Room Tip: We had a ground floor unit which had a lovely outlook of the garden and freshwater brook and mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulR74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearbrookWanaka, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clearbrook & hope to see you again soon! Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights before joining a tour around the north and south islands and so glad I did! My room opened up to a brook right in front of it with some very cute resident ducks. The room had a jacuzzi bath along with a fully fitted kitchen and a washing machine - absolutely perfect as I had been travelling for a while and was dying for some clean clothes.
The motel is located close to town - no more than 5 mins walk where there are ample shops, restaurants, cafes etc. There is also a supermarket close by where you can stock up and use the kitchen in your apartment.
The staff also went out of their way to help me - the owner even helped my jump start the car I had borrowed from my friend every morning! Its the little things like this that truly make a place excellent.
Accommodation in NZ isn't the cheapest, but Clearview is definitely worth every penny and I would definitely go back if I were in NZ again - something I'm already planning to do.

Room Tip: I would go for a ground floor room - nothing better than kicking back with a glass of wine on your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pobbiphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClearbrookWanaka, Manager at Clearbrook Motel Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay here, thanks very much for taking the time to post a review! We look forward to seeing you again. Hayley & Dwayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
830 reviews
0.5 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
0.4 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
366 reviews
1.9 km away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.8 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearbrook Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearbrook Motel Wanaka

Address: 72 Helwick Street | Corner Helwick and Upton Streets, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: €119 - €271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clearbrook Motel Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clearbrook is an oasis of quiet comfort, within easy reach of all that Wanaka has to offer. Conveniently located in Wanaka's town centre, Clearbrook Motels offer private, self-catering units and self contained holiday homes. All are fully equipped for a rejuvenating holiday. This spacious accommodation is ideal for singles and couples on vacation or honeymoon, corporate and wedding groups, families on skiing and summer holidays as well as visitors on hunting and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Clearbrook Motel Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing