We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
316
144
24
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
144
24
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location balcony overlooking the lake small kitchenette a couple of minutes walk afternoon sun close to town restaurants and shops within easy walking distance first floor the ground floor enjoy the view room was spacious south island great room fantastic views would stay again friendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We have had a wonderful experience at this motel. Rooms comfortable, although no air conditioning. Hosts were wonderful from the moment we arrived. Introduced the children to the pet dog and cat. Allowed them to take the dog for a walk in the morning. Helped us when we couldn’t work out the DVD player.

Next to the playground, wonderful view. A really great place to bring kids.

Wheelchair access was excellent!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank jessie99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thanks for your review - much appreciated.Our dog Keira will take any walk she can get so thanks.

We have recognized our studios would benefit from air conditioning so are intending to install aircondtioning for next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Dec after the glacier visit. We were given the room 101 on ground floor with a balcony and green garden in front on the room. We loved the room as we could have breakfast and drink in the balcony which was facing the lake and so relaxing. Just inside the town center and close to nice restaurants. Not too expensive, highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Saikung F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apt came with a kitchenette and there are shared laundry facilities in the compound. The apt was very clean and location is central, near to many eateries. Will come back to The Moorings if I’m back in Wanaka again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank BL_sg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Showed up with no booking & received the last available studio. Beautiful mountain & lake views with a very tidy room. Friendly service, immaculate room & walking distance to the restaurants. Great stop for a wary traveller or as a destination for a longer stop. Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cruiser445352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here (group of 6 ladies) in 2 x 3 bedroomed apartments which were very well presented, clean and functional. Both apartments had lake views and a bonus of having 2 bathrooms in each apartment. The apartments are located right on Lake Wanaka, a beautiful setting and some lovely walks locally. Equally convenient to walk into the shopping/bar area too. We cannot wait to return to Wanaka and The Moorings will be our first choice.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank LoriYau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews