We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
316
142
24
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
142
24
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationbalcony overlooking the lakesmall kitchenettea couple of minutes walkafternoon sunclose to townrestaurants and shopswithin easy walking distancefirst floorthe ground floorenjoy the viewroom was spacioussouth islandgreat roomfantastic viewswould stay againfriendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We've stayed here a couple of times and find it excellent. Units are clean, comfortable and very well-appointed. Beautiful lake views and easy walk to the town Centre. Friendly staff. Cosy gas heater and very comfy beds! Outdoor furniture and BBQ - great to relax in the sun!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank jen0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

A very friendly welcome and check in. The room had everything we needed for a 2 night stay. Location was a very short 4 minute walk to the restaurants in town, the room had a lovely lake view. There was plenty of heating in the room to make it comfortable.
Very impressed with the variety of TV channels, especially for Aussies.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SuziOzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at The Moorings for many years running, but always in a 2 or 3 bedroom apartment. This year, many of our friends could not commit to a ski trip, so it was just the two of us and for the first time, we stayed in a studio unit.

Like all my previous experiences, everything was excellent. From the minute you arrive and deal with the friendly reception staff, you know you are in for a great stay. The studio unit is just as lovely as the 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and is fully self contained. There are sufficient kitchen facilities to get by and make anything from breakfast to a simple meal. The bathroom is an ample size and the heating flooring is terrific. The bed is comfortable and there is a nice sitting area where you can relax and unwind. There are great views of the lake from the balcony, if you have time to enjoy the view.

There's plenty of parking for vehicles and the on site laundry is also great with a couple of washing machines and dryers and there is also a ski drying room.

Wanaka is a great base to ski fields in the area and the town itself is beautiful, with plenty of food options and facilities to hire equipment.

The Moorings feels like a home away from home and I love how relaxed and friendly this place is. I can't wait to return in future years.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This is an excellent hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. It's only a short walk to a great selection of restaurants and bars, but it's extremely quiet and peaceful. Our room didn't have a view of the lake but it wasn't an issue for us as we spent most of our days skiing or taking in the sites around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The Moorings is a great hotel. It's well located just a few hundred meters from the centre of Wanaka and our room had a fantastic view over the lake onto the mountains. The rooms are everything you could want, nicely laid out, clean, tidy and with good amenities. The service from the check in staff was extremely friendly, with some great advice. The level of service also extends to the staff showing you your room and explain simple things like how the heater works which is very helpful. Onsite parking is also no problem. Overall a great hotel which was good value for money. I would happily stay at again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews