We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waiorau Homestead
Nearby Hotels
Wanaka Haven(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka Heights Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
373
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscardrona hotelann blythcardrona valleygourmet experiencenew zealandfantastic chefgreat hostssouth islandbeautiful propertyguest loungegreat companyhot tubsnow farmski resorttwo nightsmemorable stayliving room
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This is truly a first class B&B deserving a full five stars. Beautiful setting, great hosts, wonderful room, and fabulous food. Blythe and Ann are true professionals who are not only knowledgeable about the area but also truly delightful people. If Blyth is cooking dinner when you're there don't miss the chance to experience his offering.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Dojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi Dojoe,
Thank you for taking the time to do this lovely review - we are very appreciative of our guests taking the time to do reviews for us. Delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and we would love to see you here again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

One of our most enjoyable overnights in over a month in NZ with welcoming & hospitable hosts Blyth & Ann. The B&B is just up the road from the Cardrona Hotel, so you have the option of eating out at the pub or pre-arranging dinner cooked by Blyth in-house, as we did. We also enjoyed the comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, the peaceful garden with mountain views and the excellent cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dazdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi guests, we are pleased you enjoyed your time at Waiorau and thank you very much for taking the time to do this lovely review for us. We are pleased to hear it was one of your most enjoyable stays in NZ and of course look forward to see you here some other time in the future. All the best. Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed at the homestead two nights. It felt like our home, thousands of miles away! We didn't get to meet Ann and Blythe - the owners and hosts - who were on vacation themselves; but their friend Leslie was a gracious and delightful hostess.

This homestead, where three rooms are usually rented is a set on several picturesque acres right off the Crown Range road between Queenstown. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms well appointed and clean, the grounds are spectacular, the breakfast generous and fresh, and the hosts are amazing.

I can't recommend this property enough.

Despite the 45min drive to Queenstown, I'd stay here again and make the trek down.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pgsanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi Sanjay, on behalf of Leslee and ourselves thank you for taking the time to do this review for us. We were sorry to have missed you but we hear you are the most gracious and lovely guests. Hopefully we might see you on another trip in the future. In the meantime, kind regards, A & B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Certainly one of the best B & B's we stayed at in NZ - not cheap mind you.

Facilities in the room and building were wonderful. We were lucky enough to have good weather which means we were able to take full advantage of the lovely grounds. It was a real pleasure to simply sit down with a drink, read, do a cross-word and enjoy the company of fellow travellers and the great views the property affords.

The hosts were very welcoming and happy to chat about New Zealand and the area.

Make sure you visit the Cardrona hotel if you are staying here, nearest thing to a good English country pub we came across - though it would be a frontier pub in the UK!

Lastly, the breakfasts at teh location were the best we had in NZ - well done the the hosts and compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastbourneoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi English friends - thank you for your lovely review and we agree that while we have a fabulous local historic hotel - it will never be as old as a U.K pub! The chef appreciates your feedback as well. Kind regards. Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

My husband and I were delighted with our stay at Waiorau Homestead, which was a real favorite part of our trip to New Zealand. It was breathtaking to drive there from Queenstown over the Crown Ridge Road! Then we went through the tiny historic town of Cardrona to the bucolic setting of the Homestead itself. Our room was very handsome with sliding doors to a patio. The common living room was attractive and conducive to friendly mingling with other guests. Lovely grounds all around and delicious breakfasts. Loved our special dinner (extra charge) in particular.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hi Christine, thank you for your lovely review - we do appreciate the time you have taken to do this for us . And of course we are pleased you enjoyed your time at Waiorau - please come again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews