We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, refined and peaceful retreat”
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2017

One of our most enjoyable overnights in over a month in NZ with welcoming & hospitable hosts Blyth & Ann. The B&B is just up the road from the Cardrona Hotel, so you have the option of eating out at the pub or pre-arranging dinner cooked by Blyth in-house, as we did. We also enjoyed the comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, the peaceful garden with mountain views and the excellent cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dazdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi guests, we are pleased you enjoyed your time at Waiorau and thank you very much for taking the time to do this lovely review for us. We are pleased to hear it was one of your most enjoyable stays in NZ and of course look forward to see you here some other time in the future. All the best. Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017

We stayed at the homestead two nights. It felt like our home, thousands of miles away! We didn't get to meet Ann and Blythe - the owners and hosts - who were on vacation themselves; but their friend Leslie was a gracious and delightful hostess.

This homestead, where three rooms are usually rented is a set on several picturesque acres right off the Crown Range road between Queenstown. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms well appointed and clean, the grounds are spectacular, the breakfast generous and fresh, and the hosts are amazing.

I can't recommend this property enough.

Despite the 45min drive to Queenstown, I'd stay here again and make the trek down.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pgsanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi Sanjay, on behalf of Leslee and ourselves thank you for taking the time to do this review for us. We were sorry to have missed you but we hear you are the most gracious and lovely guests. Hopefully we might see you on another trip in the future. In the meantime, kind regards, A & B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Certainly one of the best B & B's we stayed at in NZ - not cheap mind you.

Facilities in the room and building were wonderful. We were lucky enough to have good weather which means we were able to take full advantage of the lovely grounds. It was a real pleasure to simply sit down with a drink, read, do a cross-word and enjoy the company of fellow travellers and the great views the property affords.

The hosts were very welcoming and happy to chat about New Zealand and the area.

Make sure you visit the Cardrona hotel if you are staying here, nearest thing to a good English country pub we came across - though it would be a frontier pub in the UK!

Lastly, the breakfasts at teh location were the best we had in NZ - well done the the hosts and compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastbourneoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Hi English friends - thank you for your lovely review and we agree that while we have a fabulous local historic hotel - it will never be as old as a U.K pub! The chef appreciates your feedback as well. Kind regards. Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

My husband and I were delighted with our stay at Waiorau Homestead, which was a real favorite part of our trip to New Zealand. It was breathtaking to drive there from Queenstown over the Crown Ridge Road! Then we went through the tiny historic town of Cardrona to the bucolic setting of the Homestead itself. Our room was very handsome with sliding doors to a patio. The common living room was attractive and conducive to friendly mingling with other guests. Lovely grounds all around and delicious breakfasts. Loved our special dinner (extra charge) in particular.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hi Christine, thank you for your lovely review - we do appreciate the time you have taken to do this for us . And of course we are pleased you enjoyed your time at Waiorau - please come again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The rooms are not very big, but there is a large guestlounge which makes up for it. Fabulous breakfast, prepared by Blyth! He really is a great host! He makes you feel welcome, gives good advice about what to do or see and where to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamEnjoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear guests, so pleased you enjoyed our hospitably and it was a pleasure to assist with recommendations - I hope you got to do some of those?
Come and stay again sometime.
Kind regards, Blyth & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
21.7 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
21.7 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
20.8 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
359 reviews
23.8 km away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
23.3 km away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | Rd1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: €154 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing