We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mud Plains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mud Plains”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Checking in at the resort was a breeze, friendly porter took us to our room which was a family room with bunk beds. Room was well equipped but looked tired for a 5 star resort. Kids were excited to explore the beach but to our disappointment we found no beach but dirty black sand. I suppose when you build a resort on reclaimed swamp land one cannot expect much.

Service in the Lagoon restaurant was the worst we had, I had to keep asking the staff for cutlery, napkins, water, clearing the table etc during the buffet breakfast and dinner.. Could understand if the restaurant was busy but it wasn't.

On this trip we stayed at other 2 other 5 star resorts in Fiji and found that the Sofittel didn't provide great value for money for families nor match up to the standards of the other resorts for a luxury resort.

A disappointing end to an otherwise great holiday in Fiji.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to list your last review, I am sorry that you experienced some problems during your stay. I have forwarded your comments on service for Lagoon Restaurant to both the outlet Manager as well as our Director of F&B for their attention and action.

I was also sad to read that you enjoyed other resorts in Fiji more that the Sofitel, we of course always strive to provide constant value for money and excellent service so we will keep trying for improvments in this area.

I do hope however that you still return to Fiji for your next holiday in the sun.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    1,236
    498
    191
    82
See reviews for
1,185
1,578
102
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last year or so and have always found it to be a pleasure. It is well managed, relaxing and friendly. The various restaurants are all good value and the food is of the highest quality. Staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel as a good all round package.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were sort of trapped in the Sofitel by bad weather, with 2 tropical cyclones nearby, however an upgrade to a very nice room, good cafes, bars and restaurants - even the swimming pools in the rain - meant we didn't really mind. A covered buggy ride meant we stayed dry while being shown to our room.

The room wasn't the usual hotel bed and bathroom fitting into the predictable rectangle; it was still bed and bathroom, but arranged at an angle with an open space between for dressing, ironing and a counter for making coffee, etc. Both the bedroom and bath rooms were reasonably sized. The bedroom was tastefully decorated with a lounge/study area at one end that included flat screen TV and a Bose iPhone charger/amp. A strongly built sliding door lead onto a balcony with good views of the gardens, pools and the tree lined beach. The bed and bedding was especially nice - we would like to have bought it all home!

Other than using garden paths or a buggy, rooms were reached by covered walkways and corridors, and there were elevators and stairs at each block for those staying in the upper floors. Apart from a bar and restaurant near the swimming pools, the other restaurants and cafes were sited around the large central foyer.

Guest laundries were located on each floor of each block. Apart from the stormy weather, which the hotel managed thoughtfully by dropping heavy plastic curtains along open corridors and using heavy duty fan heaters to keep walkways dry, I could find little else to complain about.

My only annoyance (and a pet peeve) is probably typical of many hotels in certain countries - wifi access. Travellers often need to either catch up on emails or check bookings, so using your own device via wifi is very handy even if restricted to use in the main foyer or around the pool. The Sofitel had a complimentary 30 minute free-for-all that anyone could use near the foyer, and they also rent out iPads for use in the foyer.

Once checked-in, guests could sign-in and use either wifi in the foyer or LAN in their room, however this was limited to 2 hours per day. That might be adequate for most of us, however once logged on the first time, the 2 hours (or free-for-all 30 minutes) ticked by from that moment even if you signed off seconds later. If you'd initiated a booking or flight enquiry then returned 2 hours later to get the answer, you'd be unable to log back on. It seemed a silly restriction in this day and age no matter the local Internet cost. Simply limiting the connection speed for that guest would be much more appropriate, still allowing wifi/LAN to remain useful 24 hours a day for all, even for the greedy as long as they're patient.

Overall, however, the Sofitel is somewhere I would really consider staying at again - hopefully when the sun is out!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilburight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Booked a 'Superior Room' for 4 nights. Room was not big but had King size bed and quite modern. But on Denarau you can use the facilities of about 6 different resorts no matter where you stay so we just booked the cheapest room we could find. $143 AUD a night. Plus $20 each for buffet breakfast. Breakfast was excellent with huge choice. Just dont leave uncovered food as the birds will have a nibble. Live music every morning, pancakes, cakes, fiull breakfast, delicious fruit smottihes.
Pools are amazing. As is the view from the 'Salt' outdoor restaurant. Every night we walked to other resorts for dinner and to see free shows or listen to live music. The pools at each resort are outstanding and worth a visit. The beach at Denarau is not so good though - grey/black sand that is not inviting. No one swims in the beach , everyone is in the pools. Next time we'll book cheapest room again then wander wherever we want for meals, shows , shopping, etc. Sofitel is central too so easy to walk to Westin, Radission, Sheraton, Hilton or even 10 minute stroll to Port Denarau. The Port is a little cheaper for meals. Meals at resorts tend to be $20 - $35 AUD for a main. Westin has a Fijian show on Wed/Sat nights for $50 AUD - might be worth catching. Also went and visited Nadi - now thats another story :-(

Room Tip: A view of the water is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coco080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,166 reviews
63.2 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,620 reviews
19.2 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
1.0 km away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,114 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing