We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I relied heavily on TripAdvisor prior to coming to Fiji so I'd thought I'd better give my view…
I travelled with my husband, mother-in-law and three young children aged 5, 2 and 5 months and we stayed at the Sheraton just after Christmas for 5 nights as part of a wedding group. Due to the broad mix of reviews I went with an open mind and expected the "Fijian time". We had booked two adjoining Ocean Breeze rooms (one room had two double beds, the other King bed and they were lovely, clean and very roomy) and when we checked in only one was ready. After 4 1/2 hours later we eventually were able to get into the other room after many calls to reception - it was 10pm kids were really exhausted. Other friends experienced the same type of delays checking in on different days. Back to the rooms - after our friends wedding were continuing onto Castaway Island so we did not want a room that had ocean views and honestly with three kids we would not have had time to appreciate the views anyway. The downside of the hotel room was that the fridge was not cool enough and could not see any dials around the sides or top so I could adjust it. I think it took about one full day to cool a 2L bottle (but was not ice cold). There is no microwave as you would expect so having a 5 month old I needed to sterilise bottles. I purchased Mothercare cold water steriliser bags which where great. I used bottled water in the bags and hung it in the bathroom as they had a good sturdy robe hook. The sterliser held four Tommee Tippee bottles with teats, then to warm the milk they had in the room a stainless steel coffee plunger which JUST fit the Tommee Tippee bottles which worked perfectly. Our rooms was located close to the stairs and we did not have any problems with noise much to my relief although I wished we asked for a ground floor room as we had a stroller and found it a battle going up and down with it and two other children.
We were offered a discount voucher at Feast for dinner so being the first night and some of our friends from the wedding were eating there, we gave it a go. It was typical buffet some good some ordinary but ouch it ended up costing us for 3 adults and 2 kids $317.25FJ!! Honestly think we could have ordered room service and that would have come in a lot cheaper than that.
Being summer the heat is intense and found that after 1hr you really do need to reapply sunscreen and take a bottle of water at least for the kids. At night the mosquitos do attack if you are outside but did not have any problems with them in the rooms.
The hotel is really nice and personally would classify it as a 4.5 - 5star despite other reviews. All staff including grounds people were pleasant would say 'Bula!' when you passed them. On the second day we went into Nadi Town to their local supermarket called MH Supermarket which is on the main street (all taxi drivers know where the MH is). This shop had everything we needed, its almost what you would expect Woolies or Coles to sell just a whole lot cheaper than the Sheraton or even Port Marina. We asked our taxi driver to wait for us while we shopped which he was happy to do at no extra charge. It costs FJ$12 each way via taxi. Some of the things we purchased at MH were (all in FJ $) Meadowlea margarine 110g $1.99, Ritz Cracker Biscuits$1.85, Finefare Milk Coffee biscuits$1.40, Beach Bucket with rake, moulds&watercan$5.59, Beach bucket with shovel $1.99, Giggles Infants nappies @11.79, Giggles Toddler nappies $11.79, 3L Bottled water $4.19, Oreo biscuits$1.95, Fiji Water 500ml $1.85ea, CocaCola 2.25L $3.19, Orchy Orange Juice 2L$8.69.
I liked their kids wading pool as it had a shallow sand entry and my two year old was able to slowly walk in by herself . The deepest point was about 70-80cms as my daughter was able to just keep her head out of the water whilst on her tippy toes. We bought some cheap plastic beach toys and bucket from MH Supermarket in Nadi Town which entertained her endless as we sat in the shallow waters on the sand.
I did not eat lunch at the Sheraton as it was extremely overpriced so we went to the Café just across the road in front of the Sheraton. They sell pizzas, sandwiches, wraps, milkshakes and reasonable prices. Eg I purchased a chicken wrap for approx FJ $6-7. We also went to Port Marina which again had a wide range of restaurants at reasonable prices (roughly 1/3 of the price of food at Sheraton plus it only costs $5 FJ each way via taxi.
We had the hot/cold breakfast buffet included in our package. I found this to be quite okay (wasn’t' the best but definitely was not the worst) with a wide range of choice from fruits, margarita/cheese pizza (yes at breaky time!), toast, pastries, mini sausages, eggs, bacon and best of all they had Vegemite! (my kids live on Vegemite so that was a life saver for us) Everything at the Sheraton can be done on Room Credit which was handy as we could purchase food, drinks or small souviners at their shops and not carry cash/card Everything at the Sheraton can be done on Room Credit which was handy as we could purchase food, drinks or small souviners at their shops and not carry cash/card.
In regards to Kids Club, I cannot offer too much as my 5 year old only went twice. The girls seemed really nice, my son seemed to have fun and really liked that they took the kids swimming and coconut hunting. they do have three sessions-morning, afternoon and after dinner as the parents must pick up their kids and feed them. I did like the fact that the last pick time was about 10pm which allowed us adults to do dinner and drinks after.
All in all it is just a typical 4.5-5star hotel and would not say it’s the best way to experience what Fiji has to offer. We also found the nanny service very good, costs FJ$20 for first 3hrs then I think it was $6/hr thereafter. Could not believe how cheap this was.
I definitely would consider staying at the Sheraton again if we had to do a stop over between Island to airport.
Hope this is helpful to any families thinking of travelling with young children...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank turtledove003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,868 - 1,872 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

My family spent 4 nights here in Jan 2012. We stayed in an ocean studio room. It was located about 20m from the water and had a lovely view from the balcony. The room had 2 queen beds, a large bathroom with separate bath, a plasma, tea/coffee making facilities, a small bar fridge and in room safe. The room was nice and clean on arrival and this was maintained throughout our stay.

The resort is nicely set out, spacious and very relaxing. It is great to be able to use the pools at the adjacent villas and Westin resorts. The swim up bars are fantastic!! The restaurants serve nice food, though they are a little pricey. It is easy to get the Bula bus to the Port for cheaper food, or the golf club across the road has great pizza.

The staff here make the resort a wonderful place. They were always smiling, more than happy to help, and loved the kids. Every staff member we passed greeted us with a 'Bula' and a smile. Alot of the staff got stranded in the resort due to flooding during our stay, but worked all day with the same happy attitude even though they couldn't get to their families and flooded homes.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattred74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Sheraton does not deserve its rating, the staff are not a happy bunch, they mope around and fail to sort problems out . Check in took over an hour, the room was badly prepared and serviced. Stairways were badly lit, the only plus poit was the flying fish restaurant which was more like a 5 star quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynotcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

we decided to take our Son, Daughter-in-Law and 2 Grandchildren to the Sheraton fiji for a
2 week break before school returned for 2012.
Every day our 2 Grandchildren always started the day by saying 'thanks Nana and Pops for bringing us to a fabulous hotel for a fabulous holiday.'
The Staff without doubt are the best weve come across in all our trips away. Nothing was an effort and nothing was too much. We were always made to feel welcome. The Family stayed in the Vilas and my husband and myself stayed in the Hotel. We were all really really comfortable. The beds were liking sleeping on aloud !!! We were able to have breakfast at both the Sheraton and the Westin - included in the price. Kids ate for free which was great.
The Pools temperatures were ideal - and nice and clean. The Sheraton Fiji to even the most fussy travellers.

Room Tip: Vilas come fully equiped including a Washing Machine/Dryer No noise from other guests in the Vilas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Fiji resort as an overnight on the way to the island of Teveuni. Going TO Teveuni, it has a different flavor than AFTER one has visited a different island. Suffice it to say, it is probably difficult for Nadi to compete with Teveuni on a beauty scale so you might want to keep this in mind.

Getting here: Arriving in Nadi, you can just take a local taxi to the resort. It will take about 25 minutes and should cost approximately FJD $20. On the return, the hotel called a taxi for us and we were charged FJD $30.

The room was quite nice and we had an ocean view. Bathroom was very large, and we had a small deck to overlook the beach. The beach itself isn’t one of fine white sand and not what one might have in their mind. The water was nowhere as nice as the water at Teveuni.

Food at this hotel is not cheap. The buffet runs approximately USD$50 for dinner, and is far overpriced. There aren’t many options on site, a high end, white table cloth restaurant, the buffet, and a bar out by the pool that serves mostly seafood in the evenings. There is a pizza place just out front of the lobby but it was closes a bit early so we didn’t eat there.

The resort itself isn’t the nicest resort in the world, but it is functional. If you have in your mind beautiful white fine sand beaches, it probably isn’t here. If you don’t have time to get to an outer island, then this is probably not a bad place to be in Nadi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ordflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.5 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,376 reviews
18.4 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.6 km away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.3 km away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
772 reviews
41.3 km away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fiji Resort

Address: Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: €143 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Fiji Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Fiji Resort is stunningly situated in the tropical oasis of Denarau Island. Designed with comfort in mind, the 297 spacious guest rooms and suites are beautifully furnished in harmony with the idyllic South Pacific setting. The resort is the ideal playground for vacationers and families to experience an array of dining venues and leisure activities. With its close proximity to Denarau Marina, it has an easy and quick access to the beautiful outer islands, shopping and a vast range of dining experiences. The resort is the ideal backdrop for an unforgettable destination wedding in Fiji or a corporate style event. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. As part of Fiji’s only 5 star integrated resort complex, guests have access to facilities at the adjacent Sheraton Denarau Villas and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa giving guests a choice of 12 restaurant and bars & 6 swimming pools to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Fiji Resort Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing