We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
Destinia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
102
81
29
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
102
81
29
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel lodge closed down the main road what it says on the tin service station out of the way comfortable stay comfortable bed bury st edmunds plenty of parking staff were very friendly excellent value an overnight stay only stayed one night plenty of hot water night's sleep local pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2020 via mobile

The hotel sits outside Stowmarket by a sorry looking old Little Chef which closed many years ago and to the front is a van and truck repair shop. Please note I have never suffered from lorry or van noise while staying there. The nearest shop is the Spar which is a short drive away or a 10 minute walk. To visit Stowmarket you will need to drive
The hotel is an old Travelodge so does not have a restaurant or bar. Overall it is a good old hotel but could do with a refresh

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2020

Booked in here for one night as a business overnight stay. The hotel itself is clean, tidy and well looked after. The staff are polite and helpful. The downside is that the place is isolated and appears to be in the middle of nowhere. I can only imagine that this is due to the fact that before the A14 was opened it would have been on the main road into Stowbridge. There is a Little Chef on the entrance but this is boarded up and covered in graffiti. So you find the hotel sandwiched between this and a lorry hire and tire company which isn't very welcoming.

There is no food available on or within walking distance so I opted to go to the local supermarket for my evening food and a few beers but there are some nice pubs around if you want something more catered. The 24-hour wifi is really cheap at £3 and worked well enough for me to watch Netflix.

Date of stay: July 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamKen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

Travelodge staff very welcoming and although there was no food available at this site sugessted a local pub where we had a fantastic meal. Site was just off A14 enough to ensure the traffic did not cause a problem sleeping. Good stay and excellent value.

Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank MrSeal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Our second stay at this Travelodge but probably our last! The first in October 2019 was to attend a function in Ipswich so we barely noticed the deficiencies of the room.
On this occasion we booked late on Saturday evening because our daughter had given birth earlier that day & we wanted to surprise her with a visit.
We drove up from London arriving late and were greeted pleasantly by the night staff. But the room we were allocated was not really prepared for two guests – despite it being a family room (i.e. for 3 people) there were only 2 towels - one hand towel and one bath towel! The lack of a bath mat meant that when stepping out of the bath/shower extreme care had to be taken not to slip on the smooth bathroom floor.
And despite the single purpose of this hotel being to provide somewhere to sleep, the bed was so exceptionally hard we both spent an almost entirely sleepless night! At least there was the option of the additional single bed to move to but that was as bad as the double - unyielding and deeply uncomfortable!
On top of this the lack of towels meant that only one of us could bathe in the morning whilst the niggardly provision of tea & coffee resulted in our leaving the property feeling we had been deeply ill-served.
I have stayed in some poor hotels in Europe & the UK but this was pretty close to being the worst. Only the F1 hotels in France beat this but at least they offer a decent breakfast - something not available here.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank SammiesSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Very basic hotel and an Isolated Travel Lodge. Abandoned Little Chef next door. No dinning or bar. However the room price reflected this. Sat Nav is incorrect, takes you to a Lay-by on the A14. Look for the Travel Lodge itself in Google Maps.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank dxrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Ipswich Stowmarket hotel.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the location and of the problems finding .the hotel

We appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.

Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews