We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
US$42
View deal
Trip.com
US$44
US$41
View deal
SAVE US$3
FindHotel
PricelineUS$42
Destinia.comUS$44
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
102
81
29
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
102
81
29
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel lodge closed down the main road what it says on the tin service station out of the way comfortable stay comfortable bed bury st edmunds plenty of parking staff were very friendly excellent value an overnight stay only stayed one night plenty of hot water night's sleep local pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Our second stay at this Travelodge but probably our last! The first in October 2019 was to attend a function in Ipswich so we barely noticed the deficiencies of the room.
On this occasion we booked late on Saturday evening because our daughter had given birth earlier that day & we wanted to surprise her with a visit.
We drove up from London arriving late and were greeted pleasantly by the night staff. But the room we were allocated was not really prepared for two guests – despite it being a family room (i.e. for 3 people) there were only 2 towels - one hand towel and one bath towel! The lack of a bath mat meant that when stepping out of the bath/shower extreme care had to be taken not to slip on the smooth bathroom floor.
And despite the single purpose of this hotel being to provide somewhere to sleep, the bed was so exceptionally hard we both spent an almost entirely sleepless night! At least there was the option of the additional single bed to move to but that was as bad as the double - unyielding and deeply uncomfortable!
On top of this the lack of towels meant that only one of us could bathe in the morning whilst the niggardly provision of tea & coffee resulted in our leaving the property feeling we had been deeply ill-served.
I have stayed in some poor hotels in Europe & the UK but this was pretty close to being the worst. Only the F1 hotels in France beat this but at least they offer a decent breakfast - something not available here.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank SammiesSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Very basic hotel and an Isolated Travel Lodge. Abandoned Little Chef next door. No dinning or bar. However the room price reflected this. Sat Nav is incorrect, takes you to a Lay-by on the A14. Look for the Travel Lodge itself in Google Maps.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank dxrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Ipswich Stowmarket hotel.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the location and of the problems finding .the hotel

We appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.

Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

any bath, couldn't lie in it just sit. No heated towel rail so damp towel in the morning.
Not very comfortable pillows either. Booked it because it was the cheapest around, maybe I'll look around a bit more next time

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Ipswich Stowmarket hotel.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the facilities in the bathroom and that you found the pillows to be uncomfortable.

We appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team.

Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

Although we arrived late, we had a friendly greeting at reception. The room was clean and comfortable and in addition to having a good night's sleep, I appreciated the fact that we had until midday to checkout and did not feel rushed.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank OnAir40011994133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020

Big room, comfortable bed, virtually no noise from the A14 (despite being only about 100 yards away), plenty of hot water, friendly and welcoming staff. Conveniently located close to a junction, about 15 minutes from Bury St Edmunds. Not that I got much chance, but ther is some nice countryside east of there out to the coast.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 678hughw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews