We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
Hotels.com
US$57
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/06/21
Trip.com
US$59
US$56
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/06/21
PricelineUS$57
Expedia.comUS$57
HurbUS$59
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
121
74
45
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
121
74
45
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room christmas lunch bunk beds bar and restaurant big car park staff were very friendly the ground floor couldn't do enough pleasant stay mid week on duty visiting family one night stay nothing is too much trouble tucked away excellent value biscuits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2020

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself however, is in dire need of a makeover.

Noisy pipes outside my room that sounded like drilling next door and seemed to sound when I was trying to sleep and it have a lay in. Not once did I manage a full nights sleep because of it.

The food wasn't great, despite a high priced menu giving a false sense of quality.

The room itself was very outdated, having said that, that basics were there.

Ideally located, stone throw away from Stowmarket which saved my trip here being a total waste of time.

Huge squashed spider that I managed to walk past everyday for 12 days... indicating that a vacuum wasn't on the high priority list of the staff. Leading me to believe, What else was going under the radar?

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kempy536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2020

Dear Kempy536

Thank you for taking the time to write you review and please accept my sincere and full apologies regarding the pump noise which has now been fixed.

The New Build and extensive refurbishment started but was ceased due to Lockdown and will restart next year.

We normally get good comments on housekeeping and our food, I sorry that this was not the case for yourself.

I do hope you will visit us again

Kindest regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020

We were made most welcome Denis the new .mascot welcomed our two dogs. had an easy check in our room was on the ground floor spotless very quiet as it was so hot we only had a bar snack one evening this was well presented would recommend the ice creams. Breakfast is delivered to your room in a bag but as they do not have a breakfast chef on this time they did their best.
There is a big car park and loved the owl in the tree at the entrance.
if you do not want the Ritz would recommend this hotel

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2020

Dear Brenda

Thank you for your lovely review, we have a small and dedicated Team @ Cedars who will be delighted

Glad you meet Dennis and we hope to see you again soon at Cedars

Kindest regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020

The staff at this honest hotel bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable, all great characters.
The General Manager, Julie, showed us the extensive plans for the New Build and Refurb. Rooms are currently dated but very clean.

Home from home atmosphere.
Ask to meet Dennis, the new hotel mascot.

Well done Cedars during difficult times

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AW-disss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2020

Dear AWDiss

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, this will be much appreciated by our small Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

This was a 2nd visit to The Cedars during Covid Lockdown whilst visiting family very close by; we were very pleased with both visits. All Covid-Safe Guidelines were adhered to; we felt very welcomed by excellent reception and restaurant/bar staff. The room was clean, warm, comfortable. We were informed prior to visit that due to Covid-Safe measures the room would have less items (ie hairdryer etc) but anything we wanted would be available, which was the case. In asking to borrow hairdryer, it was brought within a few minutes.

We were able to book a table in the bar for meals, there was a more limited menu from 'before Covid' days - but that was perfectly reasonable and expected during this restricted Covid situation for everyone.

The hotel is due refurbishment and some extension work which had to stop when lockdown arrived; from the plans and illustrations in Reception and the Mood Board with the colourways for the rooms it looks very exciting project - I hope this particular B/Western is able to restart the work soon, as it is an excellent stop over for anyone wanting to stay in the area to visit family, friends, business meeetings.

Good luck to The Cedars in the future...

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S8765KAmaureenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2020

Dear S8765KAmaureenm

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely and informative review, it means a great deal to our very small Team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

Ok so this is now my second stay at this hotel whilst visiting family, both times the price for staying here has been very reasonable. The hotel is dated and it’s not the Ritz but it’s clean and tidy plus the staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble. I put in a request for a quiet room and was pleasantly surprised when I received a lovely reply and was put in a quiet room.
This will now remain my first choice when down this way.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank klmw106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Campbell, General Manager at Best Western The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2020

Dear Klmw106

Thank you for taking the time to write you kind review, it will be greatly appreciated by our small Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kindest regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews