We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
11
10
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
10
7
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Very nice and comfortable hotel in the centre of Banská Štiavnica. The room was spacious, clean and with wonderfull city view. We had small fridge on the room, that is very handy. They have own parking in the hotel patio.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2016

It is small 3 star hotel in the city center of historical town BS. Its clean, with big rooms.
I don't like the of mix of modern and historical style but it depends. As highlight of this hotel are really comfortable beds, which I assume is one of the most important and wanted feature of most tourists. The personal is very friendly and always helpful.
The breakfast was OK. Also they have a inside parking for 4 cars.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuloJulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSl, Manažér at Hotel Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for your review and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

It is small 3 star hotel in the centrum of historical town, it is very comfortable, clean, with big rooms of mix of modern and historical style. As highlight of this hotel are really comfortable beds, which I assume is one of the most important and wanted feature of most tourists. The personal is very friendly and always helpful.
The breakfast was OK. For lunch and dinner I recommend the restaurant 4 Sochy (15 m from hotel) with small cafe. The meals and coffee are excellent! The owner is very friendly as well as personal.

Room tip: President Apartment
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 328pavolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSl, Manažér at Hotel Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you for your time and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Suite on the 3rd floor without lift is better for younger people. Room furniture is nice but nothing special. There is everything you need, also TV, phone and small fridge. I slept very well thanks to very comfortable mattress. Breakfast is very tasty, staff is really friendly and helpful. And it´s a dog-friendly hotel!

Room tip: Suite for 3 with - room with 2 beds and room with 1 bed + bathroom in the middle.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evkalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4SOCHY, Majiteľ at Hotel Salamander, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you very much, we will be glad if you visit us next time and you will be satisfied with our services...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Salamander Hotel, Banska Stiavnica
Nice place to stay in an absolutely enchanting medieval town
Cozy hotel with welcoming and extremely helpful staff, well located in the medieval town. [Yes it is worth the the trouble to get to Banksa Stiavnica!] Breakfast (5 Euro) offers cheeses, meats, yogurt and eggs cooked to order. Laundry service available. Very good wifi. One English TV channel (CNN).

Banska Stiavnica is a real gem—every bit as charming as towns on the Alsace wine route but much less visited. To reach it, take the train to Zvolen (there are two stops, be careful to get out at the main station: Osobna stanica), cross the street to the bus station and ask for the bus to Banska Stiavnica (possibly lane 3). You can buy a ticket on board the bus (2.10 Euro) for the 45 minute trip. From the Banska Stiavnica bus terminal get a taxi in the adjacent supermarket parking lot for 1.50 euro to the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PlanetMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews