We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
If you can only see one thing…

If you can only see one thing while in Banská Štiavnica See this. I’ve been here three times... read more

Reviewed 26 February 2022
Daniela V
via mobile
Amazing idea that is absolutely worth the money

Looking at the house from the outside I wasn't really impressed by the whole project and the idea... read more

Reviewed 30 September 2020
850lu
Read all 85 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Banska Stiavnica
from US$419.68
More Info
from US$214.14
More Info
from US$155.63
More Info
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
75
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
75
7
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2020

Looking at the house from the outside I wasn't really impressed by the whole project and the idea. But after seeing all attractions, the interior of the house and the love bank I was really surprised how beautifully it all has been put together. From the whole reconstruction of the house to the presentation of the love story it all made very nice and interesting experience. You will not find anything similar anywhere in Slovakia. I have also seen the famous house of Romeo and Juliette in Verona or the love museums in South Korea and I must say that the experience there was really poor. This one actually made a point and especially it was based on the true story. I was actually quite impressed how well it was all done. You can feel the inspiration from other exhibitions like Harry Potter studios or the book and mirror installation in Bratislava, but it doesn't matter at all, because after all you'll be glad that you paid the money for something unique and exceptional.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank 850lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina_BL, Public Relations Manager at Banka Lasky, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you sooo much for your words! We really appreciate that and we are happy you liked our Love Bank! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2020

It's in fact a bench on the main square in front of a building, in which Marína Pischlova lived around 1840. The longest love poem in the world is dedicated to her. The love poem is registered as a world record. The House of Marína or House of Slovakia's Romeo and Juliet is very popular for lovers. They put a padlock around the bench so you can see lots of colourful padlocks.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank laczkozsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina_BL, Public Relations Manager at Banka Lasky, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you very much for your review! We really appreciate that :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2020 via mobile

Authentic experience of true love story born directly in the house where you will visit museum. New owners of the house were able to build amazing experience from almost destroyed historical building. Whole experince of visit and ideas behind are really on world class level. When you pay attention to all details and ideas you will appreciate this place much more! I loved to discover that such a place was build in Slovakia and how much can be made from ine idea and true story. I recommend to learn more about region, city, walk around and then visit the museum, you will connect with genius loci.

Date of experience: June 2020
1  Thank tomas-sokol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuzka_BL, Manažér pre styk s verejnosťou at Banka Lasky, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2020

Dear Tomas, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your recent visit to our Love Bank, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your visit to the full.
The story of the poem Marína is unique to the world and close to our hearts - we are really pleased that there are people who believe in the same things as we do. This project took plenty of passion, sweat, determination, and persistence; and we are grateful that our visitors appreciate all the hard work which made the Love Bank possible.
If you are visiting our town again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Love Bank. Zuzana From Love Bank.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019 via mobile

It's a place for a love story . It's ok but if you wanna but your name there you need to donate fee for renovation. A 125 € or more depending on the mesmerizing method you want to write your name and your love name. But a good afternoon program. Need to reserve before you go because it's time fixed visit view.

Date of experience: November 2019
2  Thank 459medy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina_BL, Manažér pre styk s verejnosťou at Banka Lasky, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2019

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you liked it :) Love Bank is a Fundraising project dedicated to saving and restoring the historic House of Marína; and to promotion of Sládkovič’s MARÍNA around the globe
as the World’s longest love poem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2019

During a walking tour of Banska Stiavnica in late September 2019 with our group of 22, the local guide stopped in front of this structure. She called this "Marina's House," a place that celebrates, and houses, the world's longest love poem, written by Andrej Sladkovic.

She told us the following story: Andrej was from a poor family, and to earn money, he tutored Marina at her parents' house. Her parents were among the richest families in Banska Stiavnica (the Pischl Family). While teaching her, they fell in love.However, the gap between their property and origin was too much to be surmounted. Marina's family insisted she marry a rich man, while Sladkovic was studying in Bratislava, the marriage taking place in 1845. At some point, Andrej wrote his 2,920-line poem, "Marina," that was eventually published in 1846. Both our local guide, and our Tour Leader told us that this poem is studied and memorized in Slovak schools!!

Also of interest is the fact that the house is part of a 500-year-old gold mine, and is the house where Marina lived for most of her life. This house also contains a Lover's Vault with 100,000 tiny drawers for lovers to place their words.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina_BL, Manažér pre oblasť vzťahov s hosťami at Banka Lasky, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Thank you very much for writing us your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews