We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Castle Durrow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Durrow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2006

I cannot recommend Castle Durrow highly enough. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome - a genuinely friendly greeting from the receptionist and the owner (as opposed to the fixed grins one so often encounters), bags whisked away as if by magic...

We had booked a midweek break for two nights, at an extremely reasonable price, and were given a Master Room, which contained a huge and very comfortable four-poster bed. The room was bigger than some apartments I've been in, with lovely high ceilings, and had underfloor heating. TV offered the four main Irish channels. The bathroom was spotless, with a great selection of Molton Brown goodies, and proper, big, bath towels. The large antique wardrobe contained a fan heater, a proper ironing board, a decent iron, and a real hairdryer. Copies of Image and Image Interiors were a nice touch, although the copy of Irish Weddings might scare some of the blokes out there! Castle Durrow is a very popular wedding reception venue - it's easy to see why, as the grounds are lovely. And don't worry about staying there if there's a wedding on; from what we could see, the function room was entirely separate from the main hotel and I gather guests are accommodated in a separate part of the building.

As if first impressions weren't good enough, the food here is to die for. The castle grows its own organic vegetables, and the table d'hote dinner is wonderful. Our booking included dinner on both nights in the price, but the set price listed on the menu for the (4 course) meal is only 50 euro. A comprehensive and extremely reasonably priced wine list seals the deal. In Dublin you'd have paid twice or three times as much for a meal of inferior quality. The service was perfect; courteous but not intrusive, and the restaurant manager was brilliant, giving personal attention to all, despite being monopolised on much of our second evening by some quite frankly obnoxious people at the next table.

Breakfast was also a delight - a beautifully arranged stack of the traditional Irish "fry" ingredients, possibly the nicest cooked breakfast I've ever had. It certainly sets you up for the day. You can also choose from a good buffet, or go for other hot options like scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.

The hotel bar was very quiet, but pleasant, midweek; you can enjoy a few drinks by an open fire.

A beauty salon has just opened in the castle - I went for a facial while the other half was persuaded to have a massage. Thoroughly enjoyed the former; they use Matis products and it was very reasonably priced.

Kilkenny City is only half an hour's drive away, and the "designer outlet" at Rathdowney is also nearby if you fancy picking up some jeans, shoes or sports and ski gear. The grounds also offer archery, clay pigeon shooting and so on, but there needs to be a group of 8 or more for this to be arranged.

If I had to say anything negative about Castle Durrow, it would be that the bathroom lighting could be a bit better. But I genuinely can't find anything else to fault.

Castle Durrow may not appeal to those who like their action holidays, but for those of you who want to get away from it all, switch off completely, and chill out in cosy surroundings for a wee while, it's just the ticket.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shopaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2006

I stayed at this hotel in August 2005. I was attending a wedding in another nearby hotel and they were full up, so I booked a room in Castle Durrow.

Check in was quick and painless and I was escorted to my room. When I entered it I was hugely impressed. The room was enormous, beautifully appointed and with an equally large and well appointed bathroom. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this has some of the best quality furniture I have ever seen in one.

I was a bit annoyed that upon returning late from the wedding it took me quite some time ringing the doorbell in the pouring rain before I was let in by the night porter.

Breakfast the following day was excellent, beautifully presented and served quickly.

All in all a most impressive hotel and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnSDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
12
Reviewed 21 March 2006

Great place - at a wedding which was great (food best i have had at a wedding) breakfast was also great and the place is just lovely. would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
15
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Staff welcoming, extremely helpful and polite. Overall a good stay.

However several small shortcomings, and plenty of room for improvement, which is surprising given what has been invested in the this Hotel.

The paintwork in our room was peeling with large cracks in the plasterwork in the bathroow. Cracks are visible elsewhere in the hotel and halls. There was a cracked window in the door leading into the gardens, and a portrait over the fire has disintegrated with large flaps of canvass hanging down for several days. There was a great deal of dust and dirt along cornices and wainscotting in the dining room. The impression was that a great deal of money was invested upfront in the restoration 5 years ago, but that this investment was not sustained and in places work is needed, plus a cleaning regime!

The other small thing is that awful, annoying muzak was playing at all times in the otherwise excellent restaurant - during breakfast and dinner - which made me want to get out as fast as possible.

In conclusion, excellent food and friendly staff but a bit ramshackle here and there, so not 4 star.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2006

Have just returned from a short break at Castle Durrow. Really fantastic place, grounds beatiful and so well maintained, leading down to a river - will be stunning in summer. Reception looks as though it is part of the house, all candles and stain glass windows. Very large comfortable rooms, spotless clean - great spacious bathrooms with Molton Brown toiletries. Amazing food and lovely staff - can't wait to return - not much to do in Durrow but Kilkenny worth a visit

7  Thank wilb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
25.9 km away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,556 reviews
7.5 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
195 reviews
36.1 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
234 reviews
25.9 km away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
22.6 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Durrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Durrow

Address: Demesne, Durrow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Durrow is located in the heart of the village. A fully restored, magnificent 300 year old Mansion with luxurious bedrooms each with their own atmosphere. Our restaurant is located in stunning south-facing rooms, decorated with mirrors and hand blocked wallpaper, our head chef creates delicious seasonal menus, popular with visitors and locals alike. We are a terrific place to relax and let romance and Guinness de-stress the mind and body in our cosy bar and reception rooms. In the Magnificent garden, with fabulous scented borders and a walled garden, from where our chefs pick their daily produce, you can stroll around for hours or have a more vigorous walk by the river and in the hills adjoining the castle. A stay at the castle with Dinner and some romance would not be complete without a beauty treatment in our salon , aptly named the Powder box ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Durrow Hotel Durrow
Castle Hotel Durrow
Durrow Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing