We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!!!!!”
Review of Castle Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEVER AGAIN!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My advise to anyone with a little standard is to stay well away from this Hotel. As attending a wedding in the Castle and unable to get a room there I booked to stay here.
There was no lift, no assistance with bags and the carpet on the stairs was thread bare!! The room it self appeared OK at first as was in a rush to get to the wedding. However the following morning I was disgusted to what I saw in the daylight!!!! The phone was black with dirt, the bathroom had mildew on the window ledge, hair in the plug hole, the shower head was full of black grime, the lino was all stained etc. (would not even shower). The dining room had stained crockery and the tea pot was gross overall a real let own....check out the photos. How can it be called a hotel! It makes me wonder how bad things are in staff only areas!!!! Also the prices they charge is a cheek €130 per night, I've stayed in a lot of hotels in the past and this is deffinitley the worst.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hols04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
26
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Great food, best Irish Coffee around, fantastic service & a good night's sleep - what more could you want!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornish-Maid39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Castle Arms and have to disagree with most of the other reviews! My three friends and I were given a very warm welcome by all the staff, the manager/proprietor and regular customers of the bar. We mixed in with all of them and were rewarded by being treated not only as paying quests but as friends.
The rooms were clean, airy, and more than adequate for a short but busy stay.
The hotels function rooms are magnificant, having attended a ball during our stay. That leads onto the food! That too was excellent. During our stay we sampled all of the a la carte menu, not one dish disappointed! The Irish breakfast was tailored to our individual needs, and was promptly served, piping hot and plentiful. Setting us up for an energetic day in the Laois countryside.
The hotels proximity to many interesting and historical places makes it an ideal base. 1.5 hours from Dublin, 30 minutes from Kilkenny, 45 minutes from The Curragh racecourse and the National Stud. Who could ask for more?
I hope to return again next year and know I will not be disappointed. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK, all at the Castle Arms.

  • Liked — Frienly atmosphere, good food and good craic!
  • Disliked — Close to a busy road, bit noisy at busy times of day.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornishmaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Like the previous reviewer's I was staying at the Castle Arms Hotel while attending a wedding in Castle Durrow. I was quite apprehensive as I had read the reviews before booking and everywhere else had booked out. However contrary to the previous reviews I found the hotel to be quite charming, definitely clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — the very friendly and efficient staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tess28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Stayed here cause the nearby Castle Durrow was full. Paid €135 for a Double Room. Staying on the 3rd floor, no lift so had to struggle with my bags up narrow and uneven stairs. Room was freezing, no electric shower and the water came out of the handle!!! So couldnt have a shower. Given 2 keys to get back into the hotel that night, no night porter on.
Only 2 good things about this place: it is very close to Durrow Castle and the Breakfast was good.
I would never stay here again. I heard that the local B&B's are excellent.
I dont know how the Castle Arms gets away with charging those prices. Disgrace.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Most things
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faughnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
7.4 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
173 reviews
19.8 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
678 reviews
23.2 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
23.6 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
265 reviews
36.0 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arms Hotel

Property: Castle Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Durrow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Durrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing