We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Arms Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Durrow
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballaghmore Castle(Borris-in-Ossory)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roundwood House(Mountrath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Loughlin's Hotel(Portlaoise)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
20
27
5
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
27
5
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedunder pressuresunday morningpleasant staysconescastlewaitresstrimmingsbathmealmotorway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Great food, best Irish Coffee around, fantastic service & a good night's sleep - what more could you want!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornish-Maid39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Castle Arms and have to disagree with most of the other reviews! My three friends and I were given a very warm welcome by all the staff, the manager/proprietor and regular customers of the bar. We mixed in with all of them and were rewarded by being treated not only as paying quests but as friends.
The rooms were clean, airy, and more than adequate for a short but busy stay.
The hotels function rooms are magnificant, having attended a ball during our stay. That leads onto the food! That too was excellent. During our stay we sampled all of the a la carte menu, not one dish disappointed! The Irish breakfast was tailored to our individual needs, and was promptly served, piping hot and plentiful. Setting us up for an energetic day in the Laois countryside.
The hotels proximity to many interesting and historical places makes it an ideal base. 1.5 hours from Dublin, 30 minutes from Kilkenny, 45 minutes from The Curragh racecourse and the National Stud. Who could ask for more?
I hope to return again next year and know I will not be disappointed. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK, all at the Castle Arms.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornishmaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Like the previous reviewer's I was staying at the Castle Arms Hotel while attending a wedding in Castle Durrow. I was quite apprehensive as I had read the reviews before booking and everywhere else had booked out. However contrary to the previous reviews I found the hotel to be quite charming, definitely clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tess28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Stayed here cause the nearby Castle Durrow was full. Paid €135 for a Double Room. Staying on the 3rd floor, no lift so had to struggle with my bags up narrow and uneven stairs. Room was freezing, no electric shower and the water came out of the handle!!! So couldnt have a shower. Given 2 keys to get back into the hotel that night, no night porter on.
Only 2 good things about this place: it is very close to Durrow Castle and the Breakfast was good.
I would never stay here again. I heard that the local B&B's are excellent.
I dont know how the Castle Arms gets away with charging those prices. Disgrace.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faughnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Im not sure theres any point writing a review of this place coz if youre reading this and therefore considering staying here its presumably only because you are going to a wedding at Durrow castle and cant get a room in the castle for some reason.

The rooms at the Arms are about a 2 star standard. They over look a creche where the little darlings wake you up at the crack of dawn with their screaming. For some strange reason there was a sign on the window of our room asking us not to throw things out the window onto the kids in the creche below! (what kind of people have been staying there that prompted this sign?)

The staff are some of the rudest Ive ever come across. On a Tuesday in October it was only marginally cheaper to stay at this kip than it would have been to stay in a beautiful 4-poster bed in Durrow Castle, and the reason they get away with this is because Castle Durrow do large weddings but cant accommodate all the guests, leaving people with no choice to resort to staying at this dump.

If you are going to a wedding in Durrow try and get a room at the castle instead - its almost the same price (coz the Arms is such a rip off) but is obviously a thousand times superior in quality to this place.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ilovecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews