We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds and friendly staff”

The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Durrow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfy beds and friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed for wedding in castle durrow. Room was spacious, comfy and v clean! Only regret that didn't have more time to spend there!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    24
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
76
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
No Its Not
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Great place to stay if you're attending a wedding in Castle Durrow (although it's not much cheaper than staying in the Stables of the Castle). Friendly, welcoming staff; spotlessly clean and fresh; elegant decor; fresh, delicious cooked breakfast; and the killer: FRESHLY GROUND COFFEE!

Would stay again if I get the opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This is without doubt the best B&B we have ever stayed in, period. The rooms, furnishings, welcome, food and general atmosphere make this the equal of any hotel even in a higher price bracket. Attention to detail and genuine friendliness makes the Ashbrook Arms a place to remember. The restoration work on this lovely period house is in itself something worth seeing, but ultimately it is the people, Rosita and Sean, who make this a place to visit and visit and visit. Don't just believe me, try it yourself. A genuine Irish gem.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We were in Durrow to attend a friends wedding at the weekend and we stayed at the The Ashbrook Arms for two nights. I have been to many hotels, B&B's throughout Ireland and this is the most amazing place I have ever stayed! The rooms are fabulous.. Arrived at 12.30am and were brought straight to our room which was gorgeous 5 star standard.. Roseita was a great host and very nice. The breakfast was amazing.. Overall I would recommend staying here..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smccart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We traveled to Durrow for our daughter's wedding at Castle Durrow. We stayed at Ashbrook Arms two nights before the wedding and one night after. Rosezita and her husband Sean were magnificent hosts. They helped in every way possible: setting us up with a large taxi for our group to visit Kilkenny, waiting up for late arrivals, serving breakfast early when we needed to leave early in the morning. The following week we stayed in a variety of castles in Ireland (Clontarf, Durrow, Clontarf) and then moved to pousadas in Portugal. While these other accommodations were lovely, it is the Ashbrook that won my heart and gets my top rating.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angele01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrow
7.4 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
171 reviews
23.6 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
256 reviews
22.4 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
676 reviews
23.2 km away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
664 reviews
13.3 km away
Castletown House B&B
Castletown House B&B
#1 of 1 in Rathdowney
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse

Property: The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse
Address: The Square, Durrow na, Ireland (Formerly Bianconi Red Lion Restaurant)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Durrow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Durrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run guesthouse and restaurant is situated in the picturesque georgian village of Durrow, Laois in Ireland. The house was purpose built by Lord Ashbrook in 1777 and meticuosly restored by the Murphy family in 2005. It has 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms and the restaurant is open on Friday and Saturday nights and for Sunday lunch. It was formerly called the Bianconi Red Lion Guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashbrook Arms Restaurant And Guesthouse Hotel Durrow
Durrow Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing