We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
556
182
82
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
556
182
82
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels afternoon tea country house drawing room the main house walled garden public rooms library bar roll top bath an overnight stay evening meal relaxing stay main course stayed for one night wedding venue four poster bed both nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful with gorgeous grounds. A very relaxing place to stay. the rooms are well decorated and it does feel very lux. We stayed in the stables and the room was gorgeous. the bathroom in particular was great with a roll top bath and free standing rain shower. Just a few minor issues, we had been informed that we could check in early to arrive and be informed that it was subject to availability. We would have come at the correct time had we known we could not be accommodated. However the hotel staff did offer us tea and coffee whilst we waited. The second issue is in regards to dietary requirements, once again I had informed the hotel in advance that I am gluten free and vegetarian and although a note was made when it came to breakfast it felt like it was a struggle and the staff didn't seem to be overally knowledgeable. I had to ask the waiting staff to check with the chef for every detail. I feel if someone informs the hotel that they have dietary requirements, more care/ steps can be taken to ensure this is accommodated (I'd suggest that maybe a manager deals with the order). It would have saved time all around.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rb-shar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Eshott Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you would highliy recommend. We do apologise for the communication issues around your dietary requirements as we cater for all requirements and on this occasion we have fallen short. On behalf of the team we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Eshott Hall in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2020

The hotel is well located and easy reach of the A1. The staff are friendly and courteous. Service in the dining room was generally very good. We were relocated from our original room on our first day at the hotels invitation, due to commenting on noise from plant or machinery coming from below the room, which we very much appeciated. Though due to Covid the room was not serviced during our stay, replenishment of consumable items was quick and efficient.
Car parking appeared congested. Though there is an overflow section, there is no CCTV or over night lighting of parking areas to deter criminal or malicious behaviour to vehicles. Unfortunately on the day of leaving the hotel we found that someone had inserted a bolt to a tyre causing a puncture.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Eshott Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you would highliy recommend. We are set within our own country estate and have never had any issues in or around our property but thank you for your feedback about lighting. On behalf of the team we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Eshott Hall in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020

Just stayed three nights in this beautiful Country House Hotel in an adorable little village. Staff are second to none. Very welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. To say we’re all in a difficult situation at this moment in time the staff still had a smile on their face and dealt with it very professionally..
Katelyn who booked us in was very nice and Helen who we saw in the dining room always had a little chat with us at breakfast was brilliant.. All the staff were were great.
Evening meals were very enjoyable.
I do think some lights at the entrance to the Hall would be good as it is very dark when entering the driveway in the evening.
The beer prices are slightly high but this always seems to be the case in hotels. Would we come back?
Yes definitely! In a flash!
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Settingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Eshott Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you would highliy recommend. Thank you also for feeding back about the outdoor lights. On behalf of the team we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Eshott Hall in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

We went for afternoon tea as an engagement treat for a friend. We turned up a bit late, but they were kind enough to let us in. Got a vegetarian afternoon tea. Great experience and beautiful place, very homely.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
51  Thank lostbird928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Eshott Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent afternoon tea with us. On behalf of the team we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Eshott Hall in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020

Our second stay. We were in the old stable block and in this case had room service for our evening meal and breakfast. Both were well presented, the evening meal was served course by course so each hot course remained hot. The rooms are superb with plenty of space so we didn't feel cramped when we ate our meal. It certainly reduced our covid risk.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip_G746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Eshott Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Welcome back to Eshott Hall and we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity ofwelcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews