We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$308
View deal
Priceline
US$308
View deal
Agoda.com
US$272
View deal
Hotels.comUS$308
Expedia.comUS$308
TravelocityUS$308
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,068)
Filter reviews
1,068 results
Traveller rating
790
184
55
20
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
790
184
55
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach main restaurant enjoy the beauty beautiful hotel large balcony staying at this hotel perfect stay excellent choice great pool spent days rental car bay beaches corsica french terrace boat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,068 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2019

I have experience the most amazing stay in U Capu Biancu.
You are in touch with the nature and the view is stoning.
I had such a wonderful weekend. The local gastronomy is delightful and propose you different tastes and great plates.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ivonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel-cmanager, Virginie SAYEDE, Director of sales at U Capu Biancu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Dear Ivonne,
thank you for sharing such a nice review about U Capu Biancu, Bonifacio.

A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards; and we are truly delighted to hear that your stay with us was one of comfort. Thank you as well for your kind mention of our tasty food options.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for another memorable holiday. All the best.

Virginie SAYEDE, Director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2019

Surely, we wanted to see the hotel and decided to at least stay one night there as we had many other places to see in Corsica and got picked up by boat the next day, already.
The hotel is pretty much at the end of the world where a new and beautiful world begins. Top location, top sea views, beautiful gardens, furniture, everything is beautiful and this is what people seek and pay for.
However, the rooms are actually perfect as no room equals the other. We had room 218. Admittedly, it wasn't the nicest. Our kids room was somewhat nicer. Especially the toilet smell in room 218 is somewhat special and has to do with this room in particular I guess !? I think something needs to be done about it as it is a clear malus, especially with the prices in the U Cape Biancu.
Other than that we liked everything about U Cape Biancu, very nice food, wines recommend by the sommelier and the pool is beautiful, too.
Going to southern Corsica a must see, although we were happy with our "1" night as there is definitely more to be discovered in the south, i.e. Bonifacio the city...wonderful by night, so spent a night there as well :-)

Room tip: Ask for advise
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tilo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel-cmanager, Virginie SAYEDE, Director of sales at U Capu Biancu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Dear Tilo,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for appreciating our location. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the view and that you found us to be of good value. Regarding the room, we wish you had informed us during the stay so that our team would have found an immediate solution. Regarding the smell, we have taken note of your remark and passed it to the relevant department. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful dining experience. Your kind mention on our pool facility is truly appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back.
Best wishes,

Virginie SAYEDE, Director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

The hotel has a nice view. The beach is not great though. The dining in the evening is good. What's really lacking is a sense of service. Sure, at first contact there is a smile, but too many things just don't work well, and management is inexperienced and not client-oriented. Examples: it's positioned as a spa hotel, but the gym space is terrible: no air conditioning or even ventilation, machines are broken and not repaired, no free weights. Wifi: forget about reading news online, listening to music online or even reading a book: poor coverage and frequent drop-outs. We alerted them to water leaking into the room: it wasn't fixed, not even cleaned up (for days). Breakfast in this supposedly luxurious hotel is an exercise in self-service ("we don't toast your bread", "you can get your tea over there...", etc.). They blast music out over an otherwise quiet beach, and if the loudspeaker keeps dropping out every 30 seconds or so nobody seems to care (torture...). Conclusion: heavily over-priced for what you get, there are much better places to go nearby (we checked). I cannot recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FGT2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel-cmanager, Virginie SAYEDE, Director of sales at U Capu Biancu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share you opinion regarding your recent experience.

Whilst we are pleased to read that you appreciate the view from our hotel, We regret that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We would like to clarify that we have a satellite wifi connection as there is no broadband as in many places in Corsica, so the overall coverage is restricted. We have a spa or we offer massages and treatments solo or duo, it is an intimate space that fits the hotel and it is not the classic spa with jacuzzi etc, we advertise this on our website to avoid confusion. We have taken good note of your comments regarding our gym and handed them to the concerned department to be dealt with. We are sorry that our self service breakfast buffet wasn't to your liking, however our servers are present to assist customers if needed and to take the special orders of drinks not present at the buffet or for the order of the eggs which are prepared in the kitchen. We understand that not all of our guests appreciate the music on the beach, we have noted your comments regarding this. We are sorry for the technical concern around the speakers we have already done what is necessary to resolve this. We encourage our guests to let us know of any issues during their stay so that we can find an immediate solution, the comfort of our guests is our highest priority.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards,

Virginie SAYEDE, Director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

To put it very simply: if you love great service, attention to detail and expect “the extra mile”, don’t go there.

The location is clearly breathtaking and the room (even having booked what was left very “last minute”) had charme and a nice balcony with a beautiful side view. Breakfast was very generous and enjoyable (tad expensive at 30€ pp). A special mention to the Paillotte, our dishes over lunch were original and tasty, staff very friendly. We were much less enthusiastic about the diner which fell short of expectations.

Beyond that, the hotel service was overall disappointing despite a few nice waiters and one reception gentleman. Beach service was non-existent, the fitness is pretty much useless, our room had a broken glass-door lock, AC was super noisy.

All put together, either good staff and strong managers are hard to come-by in Corsica, or the owners are just banking in on the splendid view and neglect some investments. Had we gotten a 500€ room we would have been massively disappointed.

Not a no-go but don’t expect much. It should do way much better!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank VinceL_DianeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel-cmanager, Marie-Josèphe Mucchielli, Manager at U Capu Biancu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Dear Vince and Diane,
Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review of your recent experience.

While we are delighted that you enjoyed our location and views, we regret that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests are of the utmost importance to us and we would like to apologize that not everything was as you expected.
We urge our guests to inform us of any concerns that they may encounter in their rooms so that we may take immediate action. We understand that only having stayed one night, may not have given you time to make us aware of the issues you mention, however, we have already looked into the matter and are taking care of it.
We cannot accept your remarks regarding our concern for investment and regarding our managers and staff. We wish to point out that we are very proud of the investments and upgrades we have carried out over the years as for your information we indeed do invest every winter in our hotel and will continue to do so to ensure all our guests are comfortable and satisfied with their stay. Our team of managers are with the capu biancu since at least 10 years now and we are proud of this team of professionals who in return ensure to recruit professional staffs for each service and they are all pleased to be able to deliver an excellent experience here to our guests.

Kind regards
Kind regards

Marie-Josèphe Mucchielli, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2019

Lovely hotel with magnificent vues over the bay. The staff are warm and welcoming and extremely helpful and courteous. Rooms are nice (we had a suite and our son had a small room) but nothing really special. everything was clean and of good quality. The restaurants had interesting menues and excellent products. Despite the long and bumpy road to the resort, the trip is more than worth it! It is not only peaceful but easily accessible to Bonifacio, Porto Vecchio and Figari airport. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dnnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel-cmanager, Marie-Josèphe Mucchielli, Manager at U Capu Biancu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2019

Dear Dnnic,
Thank you for taking the time to share such an amazing review.

The satisfaction of our guests during their stay among us is very gratifying for our team; we are delighted to hear that everything about our hotel and unique style were to your liking. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our ideal beach setting with beautiful views and a relaxing atmosphere. It's rewarding to know that you enjoyed your dining experience and we thank you for the mention of our quality produce.

We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Kind regards,

Marie-Josèphe Mucchielli, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews