We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget 5 star, Isla Paridita is a 10+ experience”
Review of Isla Paridita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiriqui Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isla Paridita
Reviewed 18 April 2016

This review is given in deep appreciation to Grant and his family for sharing Isla Paridita and to Grant and Alejandro for taking such good care of the 4 of us (2 adults and VERY busy 8 & 10 yr old boys) for 5 fantastic days. We missed you from the time we left Boca Chica and questions about when we will return have not stopped! Isla Paridita is not a hotel, it is an off-grid and off-the-tourist-path adventure that was a refuge of healing as much as it was a pinch-yourself-you-are-in-paradise type of wonder! The other reviews describe the practicalities exactly as we experienced them and they helped us prepare for our visit. What they didn't talk about were: learning about cashew trees and how much work it takes to get even one cashew (there's a 1st, having a night bonfire when it is 95 degrees outside!), playing in the hermit crab "highway" every afternoon on the beach in front of our huts, experiencing sleeping outside in a hammock all night and be awakened by the brightness of the moon, discovering chitons (that look like extinct trilobytes) and sea apples and learning which one not to touch! Seeing first-hand how kapok floats - hence why it was good in life jackets, experiencing dolphins playing in and around boat, snorkeling over HUGE parrotfish mere meters from the beach, watching the crocs in the lagoon, discovering Dr. Zeuss trees that are over 200yrs old, finding a nest of baby birds with long sharp beaks waiting for momma bird to return. The laughter of the boys as they learned how to blow conch shells and the EXTREME patience of Grant and Alejandro for answering zillions of questions and bearing with "conch practice". All this and Alejandro's creative cooking with fresh fruits, veggies and lotus-flower tomatoes, breakfast arranged in a palm beach scene on the plate and fresh-squeezed juice, even ice, and ice-cold beers! Grant and Alejandro, you've forever spoiled us! Thank you and see you in 2017!

Room Tip: We had the 2 beach huts - very comfortable, good breezes and sweet dreams of surf and sand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueSneyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016

We were looking for a warm, adventurous destination for our family vacation. Coming from Switzerland with a 19 & 20 yr old, we wanted to take a family trip we'd never forget. Isla Paridita exceeded our expectations. Its an amazing Eco-friendly, solar powered, no phone, no internet destination, which allowed us to take a break from it all. Each private bungalow accommodates 2 persons and has its own bathroom with sunken natural stone shower. With the open design you have beautiful ocean views that let you fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. It gives you a great connection to nature. After a great night sleep we looked forward to the delicious Panamanian coffee and breakfast that awaited us. All the meals were amazing. Grant & Marbel prepared them with fresh local ingredients & lots of seasonal fruit & juices. We discovered a new passion for snorkeling in the open Pacific. The water was so warm, you could stay out for hours and always see a new species of reef fish. We can highly recommend Isla Paridita to anyone with a spirit of adventure.

Room Tip: All bungalows are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I think I left my heart on Isla Paridita... will you let me know if you find it? :)

We totally fell in love when we stayed on Isla Paridita. This place is the ultimate island adventure beyond any wild expectations. Bird-watching, taking in the awe of the plant life, fishing, snorkeling, hiking, relaxing-- true jungle paradise. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean in the open-air cabanas was also a dream. Everything feels like an adventure from morning coffee with a million-dollar view to sitting in the inner lagoon hut appreciating all of the island's wildlife and tropical plant life.

Grant (owner/guide/McGyver), his staff, and even the resident wildlife (we miss Lalo the puppy-like crocodile of the lagoons) were such a sweet addition to our trip. They were so welcoming + accommodating and made us feel like family. We are coming back and bringing more friends!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

the island we stayed for 3-4 days. We met the owner (Grant) at this tiny village on the ocean but in the middle of nowhere which is where he docked his boat (The village was somewhat scary at first but turned out to be nothing to worry about), I think he would also pick you up in David if you worked it out with him. The boat ride to the island was ~45 minutes and a beautiful ride passing many islands along the way. Once we arrived a native family (Mother/Father and 3-4 kids, live on one side of the island and they are the caretakers of the island) met us and took our luggage to our huts. It is a 65 acre island that is mostly woods with 2 or 3 freshwater lakes, a brick trail takes you all over the island. It has 4 huts, each has its own shower, toilet and amazing view as well as a dining hut. The island has 4-5 beaches, some are black sand and some are white sand. The huts are open air with mosquito nets, everything is solar powered in the huts except they cook with gas, it is a little warm when you first lay down at night but the beds have a small fan which helps and by sometime in the middle of the night it cools down and you wake up in the morning with very comfortable temps. Each day you do whatever you want to do, just tell Grant. We went fishing in his boat a couple times, snorkeling, he took us to different small islands in the area to explore, we went kayaking on the ocean, paddle boarding, played games on the beach and did a lot of relaxing. Before we got to the island he asked what type of food we liked and I told him we wanted fresh fruits, vegetables and seafood from the area so that is what we had, he had a really sweet lady he hired that made all the meals and cleaned everything up. We drank either panama beer, water or a mixed drink that Grant made which was great. We went with two other friends so it was four of us in total and we were the only guest on the island (maximum of 8 guest on the island, 2 in each hut). Looking at going again next January/February. Crazy thing is, it is only $300 per couple per night and that includes everything (tax, food, drinks, transportation to the island, etc.). I couldn't say enough good things about Grant and the hospitality he provided us! I actually feel bad I didn't write this review earlier. If I was to give any advice is that it can be hard to get a hold of Grant, but what do you expect he is on a deserted island with probably little to no cell service, so give him a break he will get back to you. It's worth the wait :)

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashley714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The views from the bungalows were terrific, the buildings themselves were well done - great look! Meals were insanely good! It was great to go fishing,swim through the hole in the rock, kayak, hike and watch the sunset with a drink in hand!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bayareafiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiriqui Province hotels
16.4 km away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
163 reviews
88 km away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
149 reviews
20.7 km away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 km away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
35.6 km away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
78.4 km away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Paridita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Paridita

Address: Golf of Chiriqui National Park, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Chiriqui Province
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Isla Paridita Hotel Chiriqui Province
Isla Paridita Panama/Chiriqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing