We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem find!!!!”
Review of Isla Paridita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiriqui Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isla Paridita
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

the island we stayed for 3-4 days. We met the owner (Grant) at this tiny village on the ocean but in the middle of nowhere which is where he docked his boat (The village was somewhat scary at first but turned out to be nothing to worry about), I think he would also pick you up in David if you worked it out with him. The boat ride to the island was ~45 minutes and a beautiful ride passing many islands along the way. Once we arrived a native family (Mother/Father and 3-4 kids, live on one side of the island and they are the caretakers of the island) met us and took our luggage to our huts. It is a 65 acre island that is mostly woods with 2 or 3 freshwater lakes, a brick trail takes you all over the island. It has 4 huts, each has its own shower, toilet and amazing view as well as a dining hut. The island has 4-5 beaches, some are black sand and some are white sand. The huts are open air with mosquito nets, everything is solar powered in the huts except they cook with gas, it is a little warm when you first lay down at night but the beds have a small fan which helps and by sometime in the middle of the night it cools down and you wake up in the morning with very comfortable temps. Each day you do whatever you want to do, just tell Grant. We went fishing in his boat a couple times, snorkeling, he took us to different small islands in the area to explore, we went kayaking on the ocean, paddle boarding, played games on the beach and did a lot of relaxing. Before we got to the island he asked what type of food we liked and I told him we wanted fresh fruits, vegetables and seafood from the area so that is what we had, he had a really sweet lady he hired that made all the meals and cleaned everything up. We drank either panama beer, water or a mixed drink that Grant made which was great. We went with two other friends so it was four of us in total and we were the only guest on the island (maximum of 8 guest on the island, 2 in each hut). Looking at going again next January/February. Crazy thing is, it is only $300 per couple per night and that includes everything (tax, food, drinks, transportation to the island, etc.). I couldn't say enough good things about Grant and the hospitality he provided us! I actually feel bad I didn't write this review earlier. If I was to give any advice is that it can be hard to get a hold of Grant, but what do you expect he is on a deserted island with probably little to no cell service, so give him a break he will get back to you. It's worth the wait :)

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashley714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The views from the bungalows were terrific, the buildings themselves were well done - great look! Meals were insanely good! It was great to go fishing,swim through the hole in the rock, kayak, hike and watch the sunset with a drink in hand!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bayareafiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a really unique and special place. 3 things: 1.You have to want to get here as it's a challenge. If you're in Panama City you can rent a car and drive for 7 hours to Boca Chica (good luck with that) before the boat transfer. Or you can fly to David and get a car service to Boca Chica. If you are in David you can drive it in about an hour and there is parking at the pier in Boca Chica. 2. There is NO ELECTRICITY (everything is run on solar)- you will not be charging your Kindle or IPhone or laptop or camera so bring extra batteries. 3. You must love nature.

We were met at the pier by Grant, knower and provider of all things Isla Paridita and he took us the 12 miles across Chiriquí Bay to the island. Landing was on a gorgeous, sparkling black sand beach. Our luggage was placed in wheel barrows and disappeared. We were led to a path that looked like brick but is actually concrete with designs in it to keep you out of the mud and on firm footing as well as moving in the right direction. This path is very, very cool and takes you all over the island. It takes about 10 minutes to walk across the island to the cabana side. The jungle is more like a forest littered with palm trees and black and gray boulders and lizards and iguanas scurrying about and it is so beautiful.

We stayed at a beachfront cabana at the end of an off-shoot of the path. Loved, loved the cabanas. They're on stilts and the front porch hangs over the top of the beach. There are chairs and a hammock. No doors or windows or full walls. Wooden floors, bamboo walls, thatched roof. The stone shower is attached to the property but with walls low enough to look out at the jungle and empty beach.

It's a short walk to the bar/restaurant, past an outdoor shower where you can rinse off after a swim in the ocean. There's a communal table for meals and a small kitchen where Flor made the best coffee I've ever had in my life. Meals are good and Grant is prompt to offer Isla Paridita punch or a beer. And as promised there is ice available. Tons of fresh fruit for breakfast and fish is caught nearly daily. The well water is safe and delicious.

You can do as many activities as you want (fishing, swimming, snorkeling, kayaking) or simply be gob smacked at the intense beauty of the surroundings. The view changes constantly with the tide and it is dramatic. King crabs and iguanas come around for leftovers after dinner. Hermit crabs and small king crabs litter the path (watch your step as some will play chicken) and lizards dart around and scurry off into the underbrush.

It is simply stunning and we loved being here. Word of the week was Magnificent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimbo1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I visited Isla Paridita on our honeymoon in late May 2012. The rainy season was just beginning. It was fairly buggy - something we're told is not a problem outside of the rainy season - and it rained nearly every night. The island is beautiful. We had the beach wholly to ourselves. Snorkeling is available immediately on a rocky outcrop from the shore. There are excellent sunset views from a cliff just off the dining hut. Grant was also available to take us fishing or on excursions to other islands, island caves, or tidal pools on Isla Paridita. His wife's cooking was very, very good - best we had in Panama.

If I had one complaint, it was that sometimes when it rained at night, the water blew into the hut making for a less than steller sleep. Again, that wouldnt be a problem during the dry season.

Prior to visiting, I experienced a fair amount of anxiety. I had paid half up front via paypal through their website. When it came time for my second payment - which was to be in full prior to arrival - the website had died. There are relatively few reviews here and the web presence was almost non-existent. I became very concerned but I was eventually able to locate a phone number in the united states connected with the place. I ended up speaking with Grant's father who owns the Island. Grant's father, George, lives and San Diego - if you call and he answers "Hotel Palomar," don't be concerned, you have the right number. I felt very assured after speaking with George and was able to send my final payment.

When we arrived, everything worked like clockwork. Grant had a driver waiting for us at the airport and Grant and his wife and beautiful daughter were waiting at the dock for us.

It is a truly unique place. While the rooms are spartan (they are exactly as the pictures show), if you are ok with that, you have to go!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you have ever fantasized about being on a secluded tropical island, with great food, fun activities, amazing sunsets and long stretches of beach all to yourself this is it! I loved our cabana, clean water, and a very natural setting. Our hosts were awesome! Grant was always available to get our activities (snorkeling, paddle boarding, sea kayak, and fishing) set up for the day! And his lovely wife Marbelle's cooking is the BEST!
We think Isla Peridita is the most unique vacation getaway we have ever encountered! The family obviously put their heart into this place. It is simply wonderful!
No cell phone, no Internet, no problem! There is plenty to do to fill your days. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spicylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiriqui Province hotels
16.4 km away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
163 reviews
88 km away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
149 reviews
20.7 km away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 km away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
35.6 km away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
78.4 km away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Paridita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Paridita

Address: Golf of Chiriqui National Park, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Chiriqui Province
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Isla Paridita Hotel Chiriqui Province
Isla Paridita Panama/Chiriqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing