We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does not get any better than this !”
Review of Isla Paridita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiriqui Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isla Paridita
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Isla Paridita is the perfect getaway for couples with an adventuresome spirit. The property is a study in contrasts. The island is remote and beautiful. It is a mix of Hawaii and Panama. Part Swiss Family Robinson – part Ritz Carlton; Part Club Med - part private resort. There are six or seven different beaches from which to choose. Each is different and isolated from the other. The food is simple yet delicious.

There are four cabanas, two overlooking a cliff with crashing waves below and two right on one of the most beautiful beaches you will ever see. I would stay in any of them. The hosts are wonderful. They will try and tailor your food and activities to whatever you want. They make you feel like it is your own private island.

As I said earlier, the island is remote. Don’t even think about your cell phone or the internet. You will be completely unplugged. It does have basic electricity, from solar cells and batteries but you will hardly every use it. I think it was the first time in 10+ years I never even took my cell phone out of the suitcase. The real miracle is the world continued to spin without access to email or messages. I think many readers will understand what I am talking about.

I did countless hours of research on where to spend a few days of vacation (second honeymoon) in Panama. Panama is Panama. It is not (yet) a typical tropical destination for the average American or European tourist. The one trend I found in all of my research is there are several resorts who try to be like the 5 star resorts elsewhere in the Caribbean. While many of them are nice they will fall short of their peers in more developed locales. So I decided, why try that route. If I want the lavish 5 star resort, I will go to St. Croix or St. Barts. I decided to subscribe to the old adage, when in Rome, do as the Romans.

Isla Paridita is a truly unique resort and unique to Panama. It knows what it is and what it is not. In our opinion, it is not to be missed. This kind of resort is disappearing, if they ever existed before. It is family run, not a corporate chain. Go visit while you can. You will not be disappointed.

FYI – consider going with 4 couples (or family) and rent the whole island at a time. That is what we are going to do. Your own private island with your friends or family – paradise. I guarantee it would be a once in a life time experience for everyone.

Room Tip: Any of the four cabanas are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frequentdiner63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

If you've ever dreamed of running away to a deserted island, far from cell phones and traffic but being fed gourmet food and having your choice of 5 isolated beaches, Isla Paradita is your ticket to paradise. You're sleeping in the midst of nature, without feeling like you're roughing it. We awoke in the morning and went to sleep each night hearing only the sound of the waves on the beach, just outside our palapa-roofed cabin.

Grant and Marbel were the perfect hosts--they are available as much or as little as their guests require, ready to guide you on a kayak trip to a nearby islet or a hidden beach, to take you fishing for the evening's special dinner, or merely to point the way through the jungle to a new vista. Every meal with them was a delight, and Marbel's cuisine was among the best we had in 2 weeks traveling around Panama. We were fortunate enough to have the entire island to ourselves. Our only misfortune was spending only 3 nights.

We rented a car and drove from Panama City (5-6 hrs), parking the car in a secure location at Boca Chica. Rumor is that the airport in David will soon be scheduling direct flights from the U.S., which will make Paradita that much more accessible.

Isla Paradita is the kind of place that you want to keep a secret, despite also wanting to tell everyone you know how incredible it is. The family who own the island have built everything there with obvious love and care for retaining its natural integrity. It's only a matter of time before the real estate boom hitting the Panamanian Pacific coast makes its way toward Boca Chica, if not also the larger island Parida just next to Paridita. You owe it to yourself to visit Paridita, now, before anything has a chance to change. It will be a vacation you'll remember for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dyova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The sunsets are amazing and this island is set-up so each cabin is private with great non-stop ocean views. Nicely groomed paved paths to walk on and explore this beautiful unique island. The food was perfect, with fresh fruits, homemade soups, steaks and great cocktails. New snorkel gear and kayaks ready to use anytime.
The warm clear water was heavenly to swim in and lots of sandy beaches to search for sea shells.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Plan on an exciting adventure with as much romance as you can handle. Layering of light weight clothing, sun screen, shade hats, swim suits. It is like nothing else you will experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Wow, where to start?
We stayed there for 2 nights about a week ago with my fiancé. Such an incredible place. After a 45min boat ride among one of the most scenic islands in Central America, you get to your very own private eco-island. We discovered there that we had the island for ourselves! We spent around 3 weeks in CR and Panama and that was definitely the highlight of our trip. Everything is included in your stay (even rum yes!) and the food made by Marbel is delicious. Special thanks to Ted and Grant and Don Valerio who show us around the area, for the great fishing experience and for your kind attention. Wish I could come back more often. Rom

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceDDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiriqui Province hotels
16.4 km away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
163 reviews
88 km away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
149 reviews
20.7 km away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 km away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
35.6 km away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
78.4 km away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Paridita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Paridita

Address: Golf of Chiriqui National Park, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Chiriqui Province
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Isla Paridita Hotel Chiriqui Province
Isla Paridita Panama/Chiriqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing