We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We only stayed at Casa Iguana for three nights but left wishing we had more time. The staff is incredibly helpful, the location is beautiful, and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in one of the cabañas with a shared bathroom, which was very accesible and clean. Lots of hammocks around. Also, it's spot just away from the Village is really convenient and provides plenty of isolated beach time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aliceelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very nice and romantic place. Cabins wih beautiful wiew to the caribean sea. We stayed there 4 nights medio novembre and had almost only sunny weather. Lucky us. Everything is walkable is this island. Very quiet an beautiful if you take a walk along the northern beaches from fra Casa I. And You will pass to nice places where You can buy some refreshments. We also recommend to join a snorkling tour. There are about 10 places to buy lunch or dinner within 15 minutes walkingdistance. Several beaches, some of them with some plastic garbage. The staff brougt our luggage back to the small panga boat without any extra charge when we left this paradise. And not to forget: There were some very" romantic" paths surrounded by small palmes at their property!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

You must go into this hotel realizing it's rustic. The showers are outside, the rooms are pretty basic--mosquito nets over the bed, tin roofs, small rooms, twin-size beds. Once you accept what it is you are getting into, you will appreciate the wonderful things about it. The grounds are wonderful. The picture posted for the hotel (above) is the view from the restaurant. you can reach the beach in a minute. The restaurant (especially breakfast) is delicious. The staff (hippie tree hugger ex-pats) are very friendly and helpful. This hotel also runs a scuba store "downtown," which is very convenient. bring a flashlight, however, because you have to do a short, 5-10 minute walk through the woods to get to the hotel. it's safe, but can be a little unnerving in the dark!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anontrav09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Little Corn in general has prices that are (much) higher than the rest of Nicaragua, so if you're coming here from the mainland you may encounter some sticker shock. Casa Iguana is one of the more expensive places on the island for sure -- but you'll be rewarded with great rooms, beautiful views, free satellite internet in the main lodge, and a fun (yet laidback) bar for the evenings.
We left Casa Iguana with wonderful new friendships forged over wine and the nightly dinners. As others have mentioned, there is also a discounted rate on diving at Little Corn dive shop if you stay at Casa Iguana -- though when we were there (August) they were having problems with their compressor.

Room Tip: Go for the Casistas that overlook the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed in Casa Iguana for a week with a friend. Our plan was to go to a remote island somewhere in the Caribbean, relax, hammock and maybe do a little scuba diving. Well thanks to LCI's hook up with one of the dive center's on the island, and all the incredible staff that felt more like long lost friends meant to find each other on this little island, we did way more scuba diving than we'd planned to do and way more singing, bon firing, hammocking, story telling and laughing than we had planned on. There was some relaxing and professional hammocking done as well (thanks to the two hammocks per cabana and the dozens scattered across the island). Almost every night we had dinner at the main lodge with the other guests and all the staff and besides the food being awesome the company was unbeatable.

I'd definitely recommend to any group (families, couples and friends) to stay at Casa Iguana. Loads of friendly people, friendly animals, great diving at it's partner dive shop (Dive Little Corn) and if you know the right places to look, you may even find a penguin or two on this remote island east of Nicaragua.

Room Tip: Go for the Cabanas, more expensive but nothing beats waking up to your balcony over looking the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.3 km away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
85 reviews
0.9 km away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
498 reviews
2.6 km away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
16.6 km away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: €17 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing