We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at LCBB in mid July 2012 for five nights. 

In terms of position, LCBB is on the other side of the island from the port (eastern side) about ten minute walk across the island. Most of the restaurants/bars are on the port side (and they have wifi) and the only hotel with aircon, Delfines, is also there. The eastern side where LCBB is the windy side which is a plus for the bugs and heat, and less people. We also went for a walk to the northern beaches (farm peace love and ensuenos are two places to stay there) and the beaches are a lot nicer (although we didnt check out the accom, and it is more of a trek to get to them, more isolated). We heard Casa Iguana on the south side also has a better beach, but not as good accom. It depends what you are looking for- if you want more isolation and beautiful beaches head to either the north or south, if you want to be close to the action and/or air con stay on the port side at Delfines, and if you want somewhere in the middle go to LCBB! 

We were upgraded to the Shackleton cabin as soon as we got there due to our original cabin being repainted. The cabin was great, cleaned every day, spacious, comfy bed, hot water, mosquito nets provided, fans as well, and even though we were right next to the restaurant we weren't bothered at all by noise. Comfy hammocks are provided, and most of the cabins are just a few steps from the beach. 

Not sure why people complained about the introduction talk, ours went only for about five minutes and it was necessary to cover the different aspects of LCBB. 

We had booked the D&A package before we came, thinking it would save us money. If you are a drinker, this package will definitely be good value. If not, I wouldn't recommend it. Breakfast is $3 to $8, lunch prices range from about $7 to $12 and dinner $12 to $20 so the two meals might only add up to half the cost per day. Unlimited beers, soft drinks and juice (canned only) are also included, and you get free kayak use and some discounts on activities (tip: you only get a discount on snorkeling if you use the hotels equipment, so make sure you grab that before you head out). The owners comped a lot of stuff for us, but we still paid more than the package and would have been better off without it (but we do take responsibility for that, we should have thought about it more before locking it in- it is very clearly set out on the website what is included and what isn't!). 

The restaurant makes good meals, not the healthiest, but I think its hard for them to get fresh fruit and veggies to the island so they do the best they can. The lobster dinner was really good. Their meals are a touch more expensive than other places, but little corn is more expensive than the mainland in general (because they have to source everything from big corn or the mainland) so everywhere might feel like a rip off, but LCBB isn't much more than the others. The restaurant staff are really friendly. 

The yoga lessons at B&B are fantastic, American instructor, $10 per lesson. She also offers massages for $60, I didn't get one for cash reasons but wish I could have, I think she would have been fantastic. 

Also, make sure you take the snorkeling trips ($15pp), the locals take you out to some good spots, very close to shore (but too far away to reach yourself). 

The owners are pleasant, we didn't talk to them too much, but were very impressed when our last day Scott saw a local selling a freshly caught (live) turtle on the street (presumably selling to a restaurant or a local to eat) and bought it off them to release back into the wild. 

Overall, a good option, would recommend, especially for first timers to Little Corn who want a hassle free stay in nice accom and don't want to be too far away from everything. 






  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AmyH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thanks to these guests for taking the time to review our resort. We are gratefulf for their feedback.

In regards to the Dining and Activities package we offer that to our guests as an option with the informal promise that for guests who commit themselves to our resort we will be sure they get a better value.

It concerned us when we saw this reference to the package and caused us to go back and look at the bill.

These guests saved 6.47% on their food, beverage and services purchases with us over purchasing a la carte. Because Dining and Activities guest are loyal clients, we also give them priorities for cabin upgrades as well as other benefits. We are taking steps to more clearly explain the savings at checkout so people will not feel taken advantage of.

In these folks case, we could have moved them back to their originally booked cabin after the first night but did not since they were D and A participants Participating in the D and A package gave these guests the added benefit of staying in our nicest cabin for their original room rate which was a $175 value.

We have since contacted our guest to see if there was anything else we could do to make their memory of LCBB the best possible.

As always, we are very thankful for travelers who take the time to comment about our hotel so we can do all we can to improve our guest experience.

Safe travels,
LCBB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife and I went to Little Corn Island for the first time the end of June. We had no idea where to stay, a few friends recommended Little Corn B&B so we decided to give it a try. We stayed for 5 nights with the D&A package.

After reading some of the negative reviews on here I can honestly say no matter how hard you try, some people will never be happy. The information brief was short and to the point and was actually helpful. The owners Scot and Kristine were very friendly and helpful and never came across as being rude....but mind you, they are very busy people during the day and they have to be, to keep up the excellent standard they have set.

During our 5 nights my wife and I only ate at other places twice. We had breakfast at one place and lunch at another and the food at both was ok. With the D&A package we got 2 meals a day at LCBB and with the portions they serve that is all you need. The food was great, the service was great so we did not need to venture out for food because I am certain you will find none better on the Island.

We did walk around the island and saw most of the other resorts and LCBB was the best kept, cleanest and had the best eye appeal of them all. Our bungalow was very nice, we had a few small maintenance issues, but when we brought them to the attention of the staff they were dealt with immediately, remember salt water/air is very hard on things. The day before we left I checked....it took 27 steps from our bungalow until my feet were wet in the ocean(our bungalow was the closest, but the others are not much further back).

The entire staff was very nice, the overall experience was just what my wife and I needed. Very relaxing, very accommodating and when they say in the D&A package all the free domestic beer(Tona...mmm, good) you can drink....we put that to the test and it is true!!!

We have already started making plans to go back this winter with the kids and we will stay no where else other than LCBB.

Thank you LCBB
Kurt and Katie.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berberich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I had no reservations when we landed on Little Corn and walked right upto LCBB, seeing their awesome tripadvisor reviews, and were accommodated with no prior notice. Note: we were in LC during low season, I wouldn't recommend a walk-in during high season, I'm pretty sure they fill up pretty fast.

We had a great stay at LCBB. Their staff was attentive, warm and friendly. We enjoyed their meals so much that we'd actually skip eating at The Village sometimes just to eat at their restaurant. (The shrimp in curry sauce, and pork sandwiches were super). Their dinners are definitely good value, and include an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert for $10-11, depending on the meat/special of the day. As you down multiple (killer!) margaritas, the ocean breeze billowing, you can feel the tension melt away.

We stayed at their most expensive room, the cabins right on the beach. There is a variety in terms of price range, but we loved their cabins. The room was comfortable, with 2 queen beds and much needed mosquito nets. (Note: if you're budget travelers, then you may want to consider your choices. Like I said LCBB has a range of prices, and they're decent value, but it's your call :)) As their disclaimer says, there is electricity only at certain times of the day and therefore hot showers only at certain periods, however on a hot tropical island, you really don't feel the need for hot showers. {I noticed people complaining about their disclaimer and their briefing, but they're managing a small business on a remote island. If they have a couple dos and dont's, hear 'em out. It won't ruin your vacay!}

We fell so deeply in love with island that we pushed our stay out by a day, and Christine and Scott were super helpful navigating us through the variety of logistics: including extending our stay by a day, and the toughest of all re-booking La Costena tickets. They sent one of their people to Great Corn via panga and had him push our flight dates out by a day. (We had to pick our tickets up when we reached the GC airport the next day and in super secret Mission Impossible style ask for Elvis' package at the counter). It worked though, the process was so smooth and so pain-free. Really happy the LCBB folks made it so simple and easy for us to enjoy their beautiful resort for an additional day.

All in all, we had a wonderful, memorable stay and are already planning our next getaway to Little Corn!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rags_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Uptight owners, over explaining their terms and conditions a lot- a drag. The briefing upon arrival was mostly warnings about breaking things and fees. Unless, as Scott the owner said, "you'll be drinking 200 beers", the all-inclusive is not worth it. The activity discounts are mostly five percent.

They do not claim to be a 5,4, or even 3 star, but they want to charge like it. It's hard to find the value here for the money, and the last thing you'll get is a mellow vibe.

Don't expect the wifi to work, and don't expect them to have any sympathy on your behalf- they'll whip out their terms and conditions. Know them well, and obey them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

We know that our guests experience is ultimately our responsibility and that is why we so diligently attempt to accurately represent our hotels prices, conveniences, shortcomings and inconveniences on our website, in corresponding emails, during the introduction to the resort and if necessary at check out. Our most common guest comment is that we “undersell” our hotel and they are “pleasantly surprised” at how nice it is.

In our brief introduction (takes less than 7 minutes) we cover (this is the actual list of topics which is covered almost verbatim):
Inside your cabin is non-smoking there is no fire fighters on LCI
We recycle rainwater from your roof, please don’t drink the water or brush your teeth with it for health reasons. Purified water refills are available at the bar for $1.
To prevent toilet backups in your bathroom, please put no toilet paper or other things in the toilet. Everything that is made by man goes in the waste basket.
The hours the restaurant is open is available on our menu.
We run a tab for you while you are here which you can pay the day you check out.
Tipping is voluntary at lcbb, we have a tip pool for our employees that you can add to at the end of your stay if you would like.
We accept Visa or Master Card, there is a processing fee.
Check out time is 9:30am.
There is more information in a guide in your room, please read at your convenience.
In the cabin we discuss:
Locking your door it is safe to leave your windows open at night.
This is your key for your security box.
Be sure to use your mosquito net and tuck it in and here is your information guide

To operate your hot shower, move the switch to the right for hot water when village power is on, leave it in the center for a cool shower at any time.
To prevent toilet backups, please remember to put your toilet paper in the waste basket.
We mention nothing about “breaking things” and this is our entire introduction (appox. 7 minutes total).

The goal of our Dining and Activities package (this guest and you can find this on our site) is to “reward guests that choose to spend most of their time at our resort with a better value AND discounts on activities than if they were purchasing “a la carte””.

These are some of the discounts (two meals a day, free beer and beverages as well as many other benefits are included in the D and A package, see our website for more details):
Diving: 5% (a two tank dive on LCI costs about 40 US)
Wine: 25%
Rum drinks: 25%
Kayaks: 100%
Snorkel gear: 100%
Guided boat fishing in the ocean: 10%
Massage: 10%
Yoga: 10%
Guided boat snorkeling: 33%
Laundry Service: 100%

This guest states “activity discounts are mostly five percent” which as you can see from the above information is not the complete nor accurate assessment. She does not of course mention all of the things that are included one of which was the diving discount which she accepted
.
This reviewer also only gives part of the picture when she says “Unless, as Scott the owner said, "you'll be drinking 200 beers. . . ” ( It is intended as a joke!) because the package offers many benefits.

We find that the D and A package in most cases has been a good value for our guests. In this case we made complimentary 6 meals that were not included and 6 pina coladas as well. We did this voluntarily and had done so prior to presenting the bill. By selecting the D and A package this client saved almost $60 off of her total which was almost a 10% discount compared to if she had purchased a la carte.

Those that drink lots of beer and the other included beverages save more, but most of our guest save from 8 to 12%. The fact that we voluntarily offer more benefits (we choose to comp things too add value) we think puts us in a rare category among hotels.

Another benefit this guest received by choosing the D and A package is that when they discovered that they had misinformed us about their departure date (during the reservation and confirmation process) we upgraded them to our nicest cabin as a courtesy at no additional charge (saving them another $30) for their additional night.

This guest also states “They do not claim to be a 5,4, or even 3 star, but . . . charge like it.” We are sorry she feels that way but we go into great detail about what we are as a resort, what our cabins offer (our prices are accurately represented as well) and our emails and site urge everyone to become totally aware BEFORE they confirm a reservation. All guests confirm their reservation with a personal check for ½ their cabin. Because of this our guest knew, or at least should have known (as her statement above is quoting our web site) what our accommodations are like and the cost. To make an issue of this after the fact seems a bit disingenuous.

We think we offer comfortable cabins on the beach in a remote, challenging setting for a fair price.

Our Wi-Fi works just fine (router and modem are fully operational). But unfortunately, the satellite down load which she references with her comments about “ . . .they will whip out their terms and conditions” had not been operational for almost two weeks at that point. After having this guest repeatedly complain we finally had to remind them that we clearly state on our faqs page, in our “tropical island disclaimer” and referenced in EVERY email that there are things out of our control (things like satellites, weather, airlines, conditions at sea, etc.) The lack of functional Wi-Fi is also noted on our website.

As far as sympathy, she actually has our total empathy in regards to the internet problem we are experiencing as we have to walk 40 minute roundtrips to answer reservation emails every day, rain or shine. We are doing all we can to find and internet alternative both for our guests and ourselves. The last time we had this problem the internet was down for three months.

We respectfully urge everyone that is considering coming to our resort to read our website and strongly consider if the humble offerings of our resort and our little island are for you. We do not want any of our guests to walk away with the bad taste in their mouth that this guest did when a little more research might make it clear that we may not be the hotel for you. Thank you for taking the time to read our response. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This place is a miracle. If you truly want to escape and be in complete paradise this is the place to do it. And the best part? You have all the comforts you could ever need. The restaurant could rival that of any resort and drink menu is exactly what a remote beach needs. I would recommend this place to absolutely everyone. And never forget to meet the locals - the whole island genuinely wants you to have a dream vacation...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thegreatfafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.7 km away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
255 reviews
0.8 km away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
86 reviews
0.6 km away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
17.1 km away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
166 reviews
17.4 km away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Address: | Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: €94 - €256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Corn Beach and Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) and Little Corn Island were recently listed in the New York Times #1 Best Selling Travel book, "1000 Places to See Before You Die." Recently, the Travel and Leisure website listed LCBB as 1 of 27 "Best Affordable Island Hotels" in the world. Come and join us on this beautiful remote tropical island. Experience an extraordinarily scenic and unique Caribbean world while stepping back in time. We offer relative comfort while respecting the island's delicate eco system. No cars, motorcycles, golf carts or airport disguise the fact that it is relatively easy to find this paradise. Come and see Little Corn Island before it becomes just another Caribbean island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Little Corn Beach and Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Hotel Little Corn Island
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing