We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
2
2
9
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
2
9
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This hotel takes me back to the 70s in decoration and a very large room. The room was clean, air conditioning worked, free internet and wonderfull location to centre of town and markets (less 10 minutes work) The staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was satisfying and adequate.
Konstantine

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Spacious rooms, good wifi - that's about it. Very noisy with lots of drinking and shouting through the night... The lobby is usually full of mildly drunk people at all times of the night. I had a couple of unpleasant encounters with heavily drunk people in the lift. If you are going alone like me, its fine, but if its with family, please avoid.
Most of the staff dont speak a word of english and communication can be a problem. However, its very conveniently located in the centre of town. Oh and did i mention - very average breakfast.

Room tip: go on the higher floors - maybe less noisy since the noise is from the lobby area
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anandpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2015

I would recommend the Xieng Khouang to visitors to the Plain of Jars. The rooms are very clean and bright. The air-con is efficient and the breakfast is fine. All for about $30. What more could you ask for? A couple of days in Phonsavan is easily enough.

Room tip: Choose an upper floor
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2015 via mobile

Not fancy but solid 3* everything works. Rooms are big, hot water, free internet and clean. Helpful staff, ok food and good location for many restaurants. 7km from plain of jars site 1. Would stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Pierre_Leforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I was at this hotel 3 years ago. At that time, it was bad and very poorly maintained and not clean.

After 3 years, i returned again because phonsavan has limited hotel option and this is one of the better place near the town center to stay at. I was surprised that it was much improved in terms of cleanliness and general outlook.

The price has not change much but the quality of the room is decent and relatively clean. I had Vietnamese pho for breakfast and it tasted great.

Of course, this hotel can't be compared to the other better hotels in other Laotian cities Vientiane and Luang Prabang but for the price of USD17 for a air con room with breakfast, definitely worth the money.

Room tip: Pay a little more for air con rooms
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sun_TT1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews