We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
2
5
5
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
5
5
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Terrible place to stay althougha great view. Far too far out of town without your own transport. Our room was unclean, the bed as hard as a rock and the pillows so plump they were impossible to use. Mosquitoes in our room, dogs barking all night. Cutlery was not clean in the restaurant where we were supposed to have breakfast. Breakfast was not acceptable for a ‘deluxe hotel’. We left after one night.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank judithclotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The hotel is on the site of the old runway. There is a vibrant market and food stalls nearby. There is a nightclub but I didn't go there and it's far enough away from the hotel not to be a nuisance. I had breakfast by prior arrangement at the Runway Restaurant which was freshly prepared for me each morning. The staff were friendly and eager to please. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I thought it was reasonably priced.

Room tip: I chose an upstairs room because the downstairs rooms opened straight on to the street.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShotleyGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

If you're coming to Phonsavan and if you're willing to make some compromises, you can have a good time at the Phouviengkham hotel. I have visited the town four times and checked out 2-3 hotels at every occasion, and in my opinion, this place is the best (maybe with the exception of the other hillside resort, but I have not visited that one yet, and it is even farther out of town).

+ enjoy the stunning view from your own spacious terrace
+ spacious room including two king size beds, which might not be up to international standards, but which are definitely at the upper end of everything I have experienced in Laos so far
+ friendly and helpful staff: offering shuttle services for free to town and airport anytime we asked

- the bathroom needs some renovations, shower door missing, etc
- no mini bar (but two small water bottles provided for free)
- restaurant is open only for breakfast

+/- breakfast is a rather limited event, as expected: fresh eggs and baguette, fruits, butter and jam, coffee and tea

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank W3812WWmarcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Not sure what's going on here, but it's prob not completely kosher! Stayed here one night and turned up unannounced. No other guests, lobby a mess, 8 blokes drinking Johnny Walker Blue label. Asked for a room and rate. Much confusion and shown a room that was huge with mismatched bedding, creaky floors and filthy bathroom. Quite frankly it was bloody creepy!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank advrider-ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Wow, this place is amazing. Could be something really special win stunning views etc but it is cold and friendless. Almost no one there to help guests and try speaking English..no tuk tuk service from town after about 9pm when Phonsavan totally closes down. Fortunately we got the owner of the local cafe to arrange a car for us. Going down the slope to breakfast was a chore. The meal itself was.....different!

Room tip: Looking to the hills or the city are equally good
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews