We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
8
4
13
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
4
13
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the Phouphadeng Hotel-Auberge de la Plains des Jarres after a long and grueling motorbike ride. The location is a bit tricky to find, but well worth it! They have sweet wooden chalets with comfortable beds and fireplaces (it was cold and rainy and very welcomed). The food in the restaurant was good, but a little pricier than if you made the decision to eat in the town. For us, well worth it! The owner is lovely and has 8 dogs for pets, so if you aren’t a dog person, it could be intimidating. The staff were wonderful and our stay was great. The breakfast was also amazing-best omelette in Laos! I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Phonsavan.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank danicoleman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Yes, it is true that this hotel is located some distance from the Town Centre! But if it is a great relaxing place to rest after your hectic travels, then this is it! It is situated on a hill with nice views overlooking the town ( when the morning mist lifts!) The cottages are cozy and mostly wood, so a warm feeling comes over you as you settle in! It is rather cool at night, and the warm blankets are good. The hotel grounds have a calming and soothing effect from the roughness of Laos!
But our small group went to the Bar in the main building to drink and chat. The one-man show who calls himself McGyver attends to all your needs! He lights up the fireplace and serves you drinks and tidbits! And brings you the ice! And makes sure your get Internet connection! He also serves as waiter for Diners. Fantastic guy! (The next morning, he is on hand to help you carry your luggage!) You cannot ask for more from one man.
The next morning, the owner comes out to say farewell along with McGyver! And impressive set-up! They are building 4 more new cottages!

Room tip: Choose views into the forest, rather than town views which can be a bit noisy!
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mahteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We loved our 3 nights here, this hotel is on a hill overlooking phonsavan so suggest a Tuk Tuk to get you here from the town if you have bags, otherwise it's only a 25 min walk into town ,so unlike other reviewers we walked in and out with no problem. They are little wooden chalets, with a sitting area which has the fireplace and the staff will give you as much wood as you want for no charge, and even light the fire for you. We loved this, every night when we got back from town after dinner, to sit next to a real fire reading a book in what is best described as a Swiss chalet on a hill..the dogs are super friendly ( and numerous) and will walk around with you if you walk in the Forrest, they know the best paths! The breakfast is one of the best in Laos. Can't recommend this place enough, you will love it if your not to fat and unfit. Don't mind walking. Or have your own transport. The two young lads who seemed to be running the place where fantastic and couldn't do enough for you..great place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2016

This hotel is extremely pleasant overlooking the town and set amongst pine trees. The bar and restaurant have wood fires on a cold Decemeber and January night as do the cabins. Our cabin was wonderful, overlooking the town and having a lovely log fire and a sitting area as well as bedroom area. The staff are friendly and helpful. Meals are good and quickly served. Everything was very clean and pleasant decor throughout.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Phouphadeng Hotel is located on a hilltop about Phonsavan, so it is a bit out of the way. The accomodations are cabins with a main lodge where the restaurant and bar are located. The accomodations are a bit spartan but have a certain rustic appeal.

The cabins are heated by fireplace and the hotel staff make certain that you have enough wood to keep your cabin heated through the cool nights of the highlands of central Laos.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the owner did a great job of ensuring our comfort during our stay. The owner/manager even asked us about our food preferences and made us a special meal one night from ingredients that he procured locally to make our dining experience very enjoyable (and the food was delicious).

The complimentary breakfast was spartan but more than enough to keep us filled for our various sightseeing expeditions that we enjoyed during our stay at this hotel.

The accomodation price was very reasonable for this type of accomodation, but it is a bit out of the way for someone expecting nightlife or the selection of restaurants in Phonsavan.

We have no complaints and would stay here again, but do your research on the location of this hotel before booking this property.

Room tip: The rooms all provide a nice view over the valley and Phonsvan below the hotel.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews