We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bearlin Bungalow(Vang Vieng)
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laos Haven Hotel(Vang Vieng)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$26
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Army Barracks Hostel(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$16
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$45
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Amy Guesthouse(Vang Vieng)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
10
15
6
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
15
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerevery morning7kmrivertownbalconyfieldmountains
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We had a pretty awful experience here in that it didn't seem to be open. The "restaurant" only had 2/3 things a night and no beverages at all..no water, beer, soda, etc. When we booked we were promised free transport to and from town, which didn't happen. So when we wanted to go somewhere we had to mime "call taxi" and paid an additional $100k a day in taxis. I guess this place is nice when it's open, but I wouldn't waste your money otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had a very good time there! The place has nice bungalows and fancy hotel-style rooms and it is about 10 km away from Vang Vieng. The view is absolutely lovely and there is a nice campfire area at night. You also feel close to the local population with children playing in the river and people bathing and washing clothes.

Basically, are far away from the noise and televisions playing 'Friends' reruns, but it also means that you have to get there on your own by renting a motorbike or deal with the tuk tuk maffia.

As in the rest of Laos, staff is pretty much nonexistent for the most part, so don't hesitate to enter the kitchen if you need anything or are hungry, otherwise you can wait for hours. That being said, the food is pretty good also and the cost is reasonable, but charging 10,000 kips for a bucket of ice did seem a bit greedy.

The bungalows are basic but fine, although I a little bit on the expensive side for what you get. I also had a serious spider problem, with big spiders running around the toilet.

Overall, a welcome and recommended break away from the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were a little bit dubious about going to VV given its party/drug reputation, but we were so glad we did! As other people have said this is not an eco lodge in the way that it makes obvious attempts to reduce its impact on the natural environment, however the views from the bungalow balconies just about makes up for this. It probably is a bit overpriced but it's cheaper than Mulbury Farm and the breakfast is really good. The staff were lovely and managed to get a bus to collect us from the door step to take us to Luang Prabang. We stayed for 3 nights and hired bikes so we survived without other transport and enjoyed most of the meals we ate here.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which I think has the best views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

7km outside of Vang Vieng at the end of a dust road, that parts from the main road.

Very quiet location in the middle of nature and next to a small hamlet.
Highly recommended, but be aware that the bugalows are quite basic. There is no AC and lots of small insects have access. The mosiquto net was new and good though.

Balconies have amazing views over the river and the karst mountain opposite.
Food is not so good though. I recommend to go to the mulberry farm for food, but bring time with you. In general one should get a scooter for easy transport.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuietTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here on a motorbike road trip from Pakse to Luang Prabang. We were glad we didn't book a place in Viang Vieng itself, and avoided the stoned Australian teenagers. A few kilometers out of town, this place is at the end of a rural dirt road, and consists of small wooden chalets, each with their own verandah, arranged by the banks of a river. Right across from this, towers a sheer mountain face. Below the sound of the river, the silence is deep. The accommodation is simple (I recommend in winter that you dress warmly, as the river gives a chill). The dining area is open and the food simple but fresh and well-made. Nothing better for murmured conversation late into the night over a Beer Lao.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sisyphus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews