We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Khamphone Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
US$19
US$8
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$45
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
US$136
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bearlin Bungalow(Vang Vieng)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
US$38
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maylyn Guest House(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$3
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$142
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pan's Place(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
4
16
34
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
16
34
9
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2016

There are 3 different buildings in the Khamphone guesthouse and the price and options do vary. Stayed in the newer main building where reception is. Room with AC and TV was basic but clean. Bathroom is normal south east asia "wet" type which was also clean. WIFI did not work all of the time but that is normal for budget guesthouses in Laos. Rooms on upper floor have more light. No problems with management or staff but they are certainly not the friendliest hosts in Laos. Simple, no frills basic place like so many others in Vang Vieng. Good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms on ground floor are dark
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monsooncnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Khamphone Guesthouse as part of an Intrepid trip and it was adequate. We stayed in the new building, the rooms were clean and the bathroom was good. The shower was away from the toilet.
The biggest downside to staying here is the indifferent service from the family who run it and the shiney tiles that are incredibly slippery when wet. It's a bit out of the centre of town.
The view of the limestone karsts from the large front balcony and some of the rooms is beautiful.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank JourneyAtlasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

I arrived in VV without a place booked. Looked at a few places and ended up checking out Khamphone.

As a solo traveller, I'm used to bargaining for rooms... without going over the top. I settled on around $8 US per night.

After a few mins haggling I eventually struck a deal. However, this conversation seemed to have been noted as I got a little attitude from two employees for most of my stay - one guy only lightened up when I made conversation about his replica football top!

The hotel is quite big with a slight haunted feel about it, like something out of Scooby Doo. The rooms are quite dull, wooden + minimal, but large enough + cool temperature wise.

The bathroom is 'all in one'. If you have been through SE Asia, you will know what I mean... shower on top of the toilet.

Good location - a few mins walk from the main area and near some of the night parties with good street food around... particularly the 'dirty Subway' type French stick subs!

I'd checked out a few places and this seemed one of the better options. VV isn't full of great places to stay so you could do worse.

Just be careful if you bargain hard ;)...

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Simple rooms, clean beds and common areas but not practical bathrooms (shower over the toilet).
The free WiFi worked occasionally.
Free tea & (instant) coffee. Guesthouse is close to cafes for breakfast, river, hire places for day outings and massage/beauty places.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Tegan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Bathrooms dirty, don't make up your room unless you hang a card on the door ( and it doesn't say this anywhere), unhelpful, if you leave your room key it's in reception which is often not occupied. Didn't feel that they cared about anything but getting the money for the room. Would definitely not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 999SueH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews