We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$695
US$478
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofitel So Mauritius(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$451
US$405
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamassa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$508
US$481
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indian Resort(Le Morne)
US$302
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,095)
Filter reviews
2,095 results
Traveller rating
1,651
284
99
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,651
284
99
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet blisscavendish barcolonial styleginja restauranthalf boardgin jajunior suitekids clubc beach clubkite surfingsister hotelrange roverheated poolour honeymoonwater sportschoice of restaurantssea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 2,095 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Le Telfair Hotel with extensive grounds is cleverly situated on the coast with two story colonial-styled accommodation located on each side of a small river which exits to the Indian Ocean.
We selected the Gourmet Bliss All Inclusive option and we were very pleased to have done so since a Half Board option in retrospect would have made us very careful about the cost of the drinks and other extras. We are a family of three with a 16 year old son and because of the activities which were on offer at Le Telfair, and it's attractive location, we felt that our son would find plenty to do. It indeed turned out that way since he played tennis, water skied, quad biked, canoed and together with his Dad played many rounds of golf at a fantastic championship golf course. The only extra cost over the Gourmet Bliss Option which we incurred was the hire of golf clubs at £35 per person per round which we felt was very expensive. The wide selection of restaurants and menus(Market and A la Carte) catered for all tastes, thus making every meal something to look forward to. We very quickly generated the habit of drinking a cocktail (or two) in the Cavendish before proceeding to dinner in one of the excellent restaurants. Out of the 14 days which we spent at Le Telfair, we had glorious sunshine and only had one day of showers, which was a refreshing change. We had two large connecting rooms which were furnished to a very high standard, and in particular, the beds were extremely comfortable resulting in breakfast being taken at a much later time than normal.
Of note was the friendliness, politeness and willingness of the staff to help us enjoy every minute of our stay. As you might have guessed, we very much enjoyed our holiday in Mauritius at Le Telfair and we intend to return there in the not so distant future.

Room Tip: Although our rooms were on the ground floor, I suppose the rooms on the second floor would benefit from the better views.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will_dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel F, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Valuable Guests,

We thank you for having chosen Heritage Le Telfair for your recent stay and for sharing your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed very much delighted to read that your stay concluded to be pleasant and that you have left our resort with wonderful souvenirs.

Your good comments have been shared to all our team who has made your stay with us a memorable one.

We look forward to the soonest opportunity to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

a great resort with all the sporting amenities you'd expect from a Mauritius holiday, excellent service from all who work at the resort. excellent selection of restaurants and meal choices beautiful pool and beach facilities superb water sport activities

Room Tip: Select a room either facing the beach/pool with easy access to the pool/beach and all amenities
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel F, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Valuable Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing Heritage Le Telfair for your stay! It was a pleasure having you with us and we are delighted that you have chosen to allocate some of your precious time to share your views on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed very pleased to be made aware that you have enjoyed your stay and that our team has been able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to the soonest opportunity of welcoming you back for another wonderful recalls.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I stayed at the Heritage le Telfair resort with my wife and two teenage sons (17 and 14) during the first two weeks of July.
Our overall experience at the hotel was nothing short of fantastic and all agreed that it was the best holiday that we had ever had.
If you look at my profile you can see that I travel quite a bit and I try and review as much as is reasonably possible. In my travels I stay in lot of 5 star hotels all over the world but I can safely say that the level of service that I experienced here was a level above anything that had gone before.
I will try and cover as much ground as possible for would be visitors so that you get a sense of the place.
Firstly, don’t hesitate to contact the hotel for information in advance. I did that to get some information and they responded very quickly. The big question for me concerned the value of the Gourmet Bliss (all-inclusive package). I was quoted in the region of €100 per day each for my wife and myself plus another €75 each for both of my sons which is €350 per day.
In the end I stuck to the Half Board package - Beers are approximately €4 and cocktails up to €10, soft drinks are similar are around €4 each. Lunch at the Palmier restaurant by the pool is pricey with sandwiches, burgers and pizzas all around €17 mark. The evening food options on the half board menu at Annabels are really good and if you don’t fancy them you can order a nice steak for an extra €7.50.
To be honest we would have struggled to spend even half of the cost of the Gourmet Bliss but it did limit our options slightly in terms of choice of restaurant. A small price to pay.
In terms of Annabels, the quality of the food was always very good. The menu changed daily and you got three options for starter, main course and dessert. Cleverly you could see the options laid out in advance in the kitchen so that you knew exactly what you were getting. The mains always consisted of a Meat, Fish and vegetarian option. If you didn’t fancy those there was also a regular menu consisting of Pasta, steak (small supplement) and other dishes that you could choose from. Two highlights in Annabels were the Asian Buffet and Mediterranean buffet which were both spectacular, don’t miss them if they are on when you are there.
The breakfast in Annabels was really good also, everything you could want and eggs cooked to order with fresh bread, croissants, yoghurts, fresh juices (to order if required) etc.
If you want to eat in other restaurants then simply book ahead through the girls in Annabels who are there during mealtimes at the front counter. I recommend the Mauritian Buffet at the C Beach Club on Wednesdays which is very good. This is included in the half board bit make sure you book at least 3 or 4 days in advance as it gets busy with guests from the sister hotel the Awali. We also ate at the Steakhouse in the Golf Club which was nice for a change but cost us around €75 as the supplement did not cover everything. Again make sure you book this in advance.
I dealt with the food first as I know from my own experiences that this this is where most of the questions arose and indeed were the costs were incurred during the stay.
The rooms at the Le Telfair were really lovely. We had adjoining rooms for the family with big double/ twin beds, large wardrobes, double sinks and large baths and satellite tv with excellent WIFI. The rooms are serviced twice a day, have a powerful shower, nice toiletries, air conditioning, with a complimentary large bottle of water left daily. The tap water is fine for brushing teeth. The rooms also had a Nespresso machine and you get 3 free capsules. There are packs for sale in the mini bar at about €12. Laundry etc is available at an extra cost.
The facilities at the hotel were excellent. A really decent air conditioned gym, 3 tennis courts, the use of the beautiful Golf Course across the road, free waterskiing daily at the beach club etc etc. The golf club is lovely, we just used the short par 3 course. Fees are included and bag hire is about €10 (for a small bag around 4 clubs). Balls can be bought at the Club for about €9 for a bag of 9 balls.
Mountain bikes are available, these are very good quality and if you are up for a cycle then I would recommend the 30km round trip to La Morne along the coast. Its stunning.
The guys in the Teen Club were very friendly and accommodating towards my sons, kudos to them all, Darren was very helpful to me also.
Like all holidays there were some issues of minor nature that were dealt with so well that we were truly impressed. Issues such as (very small)ants in the bathroom or Keys not working were taken care of without hesitation. A small overfilling in the restaurant led to the entire charge being cancelled... not many places do that.
Special mention goes to Kevin (Pavan), Kaviraj and Ashley (with his Irish words) and the team in Annabels. Nishal the Duty Manager was very attentive and helpful and most pleasant to deal. Two individuals that really great were Joe who makes the most delicious cocktails at the Beach hut on the beach between the Le Telfair and the Alawi and finally the Prince among men, Vikesh, who looked after us so well. His special Chicken and Prawn curries were fantastic and if you are really lucky you might get to try the Tiger Prawns at lunchtime. He, and the rest of the team throughout the hotel made the stay extra special, we are still buzzing almost a week after getting back.
One minor note, there are a handful of small cats in the restaurant area, most people don't mind but there are those who do. Staff were quick to move them out but just FYI.
Would I go back?... what do you think?

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank donalmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel F, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Dear Guest,

We do thank you for the time you kindly allocated in sharing your experience within our property and are very happy to know that you have had a wonderful stay at our resort.

It is with immense pleasure to read about your awesome reviews and we are enchanted to be made aware that your holiday has been very enjoyable!

We also welcome the fact that you have shown deep appreciation for the great hospitality and service provided by our staff members, and please rest assured that we will extend your compliments to the mentioned team members.

Meanwhile, we thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you back again on our property for another memorable vacation.

Sincerely,

Michel Fredric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

When we booked to get married in Mauritius through our travel agent, Kuoni, we were really excited at the prospect of spending three weeks on this paradise island. The travel agent informed us that our wedding package (which cost over £1500) would offer us a dedicated wedding coordinator based at Kuoni’s head office, as well as one at our hotel the Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort.

We had ten months to organise everything and were due to get married at the end of October 2015, with just close friends and family in attendance. As well as ourselves, three other couples attending our wedding also booked through the same travel agent.

Part of the reason we chose to get married abroad was to avoid the ‘stress and hassle’ that comes with a big wedding in the UK. Oh how wrong we were to make this assumption. Kuoni’s dire wedding coordination service provided us with incorrect advice, misleading information, poor communication and they even lost our credit card details! A delightful start to our wedding abroad.

Brushing this aside, we hopped on a plane and jetted to this paradise isle. Upon arrival at the beautiful Le Telfair (the hotel is truly stunning), we discovered that Kuoni had failed to organise simple requests from the UK. After our twelve-hour flight, instead of relaxing, we had to rectify the mistakes Kuoni had made.

On our second day we met with the wedding coordinator at the hotel who proceeded to inform us Kuoni had given us incorrect information about key aspects of our wedding. We were informed there would be additional costs for various things, despite Kuoni confirming there would not be. The wedding coordinator failed to acknowledge a lot of our requests and there was no sense that this was our ‘big day.’

When our wedding day arrived there were yet more problems and my husband had to run around reorganising the guest travel, ceremony seating arrangement, the music and wedding breakfast table layout all before we said ‘I do.’

Despite these issues we had a fabulous wedding day in the end and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The food choices were fabulous and we were never short of different culinary options. Gin’ja was our favourite place to eat, but we never had a bad meal. I can also say that our wedding breakfast BBQ was superb and full of fresh meat and seafood.

The facilities at the Le Telfair are outstanding, with stunning swimming pools and a vast stretch of white sandy beach. I would definitely recommend the all inclusive option, although beware as we paid to use the restaurants at both hotels (once again confirmed in writing by Kuoni) but when we arrived the hotel told us we could not use the restaurants at the Awali. Our guests staying at the Awali also really rated the quality of the rooms and the facilities. We also had an excellent butler called Alan, who managed to keep us sane and helped us with our issues along the way.

We did raise our complaint with the hotel when we were in Mauritius, as well as our tour rep. The customer service from the hotel was pretty poor but it was nothing compared to the shoddy, dismissive and lazy response from Kuoni’s head office. A complaint we had to chase because they were so poor at responding and which resulted in the equivalent of a ‘get lost’ email. So much for specialists in weddings and honeymoons, they haven’t got a clue! They do not care about making weddings a special experience. We will not be booking with them again, and our friends and family have said the same.

Room Tip: Even the most basic room is a great size
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alt1985924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

The hotel is well decorated and staffs are amazingly welcome especially; Benousha,Anita and Pooja at the reception always talk with a warmth natural smile. Restaurant delicious food and helpful staff such as Kevin. Great outdoor facilities for daily activities and room spacious and clean

Room Tip: Room in the middle is half way from all facilities
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fareed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel F, General Manager at Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank for your commendable review on Trip Advisor.

It’s very soothing to read your descriptive review revealing of the wonderful moments you have had experienced at our resort.

Thank you for your full appreciation on all our service facilities and your kind words on our team members which for sure will be a source of motivation.

We once again thank you for your recommendation and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back to Heritage Le Telfair in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Michel Fredric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews