We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Small-Group Day Trip to Yosemite from Lake Tahoe
73

Book in advance
from
US$250.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Olmsted Point
from US$250.00
More Info
from US$575.00
More Info
from US$250.00
More Info
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
293
85
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
293
85
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tioga pass parking lot landscape architect cloud's rest different perspective on the rocks tuolumne meadows half dome view drive valley yosemite telescope ants lookout scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2021

This was recommended to us by cashier at the Tuolumne Meadows trading post/ visitor center. So we decided to stop at Olmsted Point/ Overlook. Named after the famous Landscape Architect who designed Central Park in NYC. Great views , especially of Half Dome. Volunteer was at the look out and had a telescope so that we could see the hikers going up Half Dome, as if they were ants. Nice stop!

Date of experience: July 2021
3  Thank bobbyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

When Glacier Point Road closes for 2022, this is one of the highest vantage points to appreciate Yosemite. Yes, there's always the Valley, but for extra perspective Glacier Point was the obvious road trip. That won't happen when cars and bicycles are stopped from going to Glacier Point for a season long construction project. TIP: Head to this Point! Olmsted Point is 2nd most obvious panoramic gateway to this majestic park. Pack a lunch or snack. Not much around here but nature and nuts.

Date of experience: June 2021
2  Thank doublemdoublet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2021

We could see that the afternoon thunderstorm was approaching, but we knew we had plenty of time to make the short walk down the steps and out to the best view from Olmsted Point. We sat on the rock and used binoculars to check out Cloud's Rest (where we could see hikers) and Half Dome. This was a terrific stop.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank PacificNWFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

This place is gorgeous. The parking lot was busy, but not ridiculously so. It was windy and a little cold (which kept my mom in the car but she really missed out). There lookout from Olmsted Point is outstanding but just about a 5-10 minute trail walk away is another viewpoint on a HUGE granite slope. You see numerous granite mountains and even Half Dome from a different perspective. This place is SO beautiful and definitely a must do while on the Tioga Pass drive.

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank hilo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 September 2020

Our kids really enjoyed getting to play on the flat rock surfaces here at Olmsted Point. There are lots of chipmunks and squirrels that they enjoyed chasing around as well. We unfortunately didn't get to enjoy the views of Tenaya Lake and Half dome due to smoke from the creek fire, but the stop was still one of the highlights of our trip through the park.

Date of experience: September 2020
5  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews