We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Small Group Yosemite and Giant Sequoias Day Trip from San Francisco
1,082

Book in advance
from
US$209.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Tuolumne Grove of Giant Sequoias
from US$209.00
More Info
from US$199.00
More Info
from US$499.00
More Info
from US$269.00
More Info
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
235
147
45
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
235
147
45
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tunnel tree parking lot mile hike large trees fallen trees the loop miles round trip tioga pass grove mariposa path elevation benches snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2022 via mobile

Visited grove couple of weeks back. Please carry food and water. Walk is close to 5 miles if you wish to see fallen trees and complete the loop.

Will take 4-5 hours.

Date of experience: April 2022
Thank SAI_Traveller_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 October 2021

If this is your only chance to see Sequoias, then do this hike. If you plan to go to Sequoia NP, then skip this. There are not many sequoias (maybe 8 in total) at the bottom of the mile+ hike down the hill with an elevation difference of 400'. Take water. The sign says allow 2-3 hours and they mean it. It's easy to go down, but coming up could be/might be challenging for some even though the path is somewhat paved.

Date of experience: October 2021
1  Thank Kathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 May 2021

In Yosemite national park, we hiked the fine Tuolumne Grove Trail (round trip: 2.5 miles, 500-feet elevation gain on return trip; duration: 1.5 hours).
We were amazed by the wonderful and majestic mature giant sequoias, especially the famous “Tunnel sequoia”. We learnt that the tunnel was gauged into the dead giant sequoia in 1878!

Date of experience: September 2020
3  Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

This was a fun walk, about a mile of switch backs and a 400 foot elevation drop, a 10 percent elevation drop. There was snow in several areas to wear correct shoes. The sequoia's were beautiful but remember you have to back up once you get to the bottom.

Date of experience: April 2021
3  Thank 1991KEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 October 2020

It was a bucket list item for my wife to see some Sequoias on our trip to the Sierras, and unfortunately the Mariposa grove was closed due to the Creek Fire. We opted to check out the Tuolumne Grove, as it was one of the few areas that had Sequoias and was open.
I'll say that the grove itself is a bit disappointing. I believe there are about 7-8 Sequoias in total, which is a touch underwhelming, when we originally were hoping to see multiple Sequoias all the in the same place. We brought our young kids (ages 8, 5, and 2), and I would say at least for us, it was a bit much to hike down there and back for everyone. The hike down to the Grove isn't bad, but the hike back is mostly uphill, and proved to be quite challenging for us with the kids. The hike itself is not a hard hike, it's just a bit long for the little ones, and having to drag them and backpacks with camera equipment/snack and water, made the trek challenging.
I personally was underwhelmed by this particular grove. The Sequoias themselves, though few, are impressive. There is a dead tree tunnel that our kids enjoyed seeing, but overall It was a long walk down, and a long walk back, for very little.

Date of experience: September 2020
5  Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews