We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Giant Sequoia Grove Hike or Snowshoe
0 reviews

Book in advance
from
US$300.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Merced Grove
from US$300.00
More Info
from US$179.00
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
51
46
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
46
12
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2019

Thought I was visiting Mariposa. Kept hiking for hours and only saw 5-10 big trees. NOT worth it unless you are looking to kill time. Also, kind of creepy..Very slow quiet trail, kept thinking we were going to get attacked by a bear. We didn't see ONE person (or large tree) for 100+ minutes and almost turned around. The hike never clearly ends, it just gets smaller and smaller until it stops. There is only one sign along the whole trail and even that isn't very "clear".
Highlight: insane amount of lady bugs near the big trees.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank mckenziec561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 April 2019

We visited in early April. There was still snow on most of the trail, but it was packed down and we were able to walk on it without needing snowshoes, though it was a little slippery. Lots of downed trees along the trail, though I expect those will be removed before summer. Be aware that the directions in the Yosemite Guide (the free paper you receive when entering the park) are incorrect - the parking area is at the B-7 sign on the Big Oak Flat Rd (highway 120 west) and not B-10. There is an outhouse at the trailhead. The grove is about 1.5 miles downhill from the trail head - so you'll have to climb 1.5 miles back uphill to return. The steepest part is the last half mile before you reach the grove. There's only about 20 trees, but there's a very nice grouping of them.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank LauraG050
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 October 2018

I could only go in handicap accessible areas. They had it set up so we could drive further in rather than taking the free shuttle. There was a paved trail to the big cut out tree. The rest of the folks in our party were able to hike to see more trees. There was one cluster of 10 Sequoias. We actually saw more at Big Tree Lodge in Wawona but they were not as big. It was nice to sit in the grove or hike there.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 October 2018

The fire did affect the walk down, but once past it you are great. 3 miles round trip down an old dirt road. This is very with the stop & easy on the kids. One of the first things to do upon entering on HW120. Look off the side you may find some BIG pine cones.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CavemanHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

It seems very strange to rate anything in Yosemite "average", but the Merced Grove Trail, while very pretty and leading to some beautiful trees, doesn't really offer much that many Big Trees hikes in Yosemite and other parks offer. The trail itself, leading to the grove, is pleasant but nothing out of the ordinary. There is so much to see in Yosemite, unless you have given yourself lots of time I would not prioritize this hike. Tuolumne, and especially Mariposa, groves, are more rewarding. If you do choose to hike it, be prepared for a fairly sustained uphill returning from the grove.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews