We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
21
50
27
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
50
27
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas station flush toilets tioga road bathroom building yosemite valley few issues stayed nights here labor day weekend tioga pass bear locker bear boxes central location bathrooms were clean months in advance rv ranger sloped
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We booked our seven night stay on the morning of April 15 the first date they were making reservation for this time period in the park. The signs all said campground full when we arrived but on some nights they had a few sites available for one night only.
It is convent located by Big Oak Flat Road and Tioga Road. That permits you to chose whether to go to the Valley or the high country. There is a store nearby and the only gestation in the park is at that store.
There are a few loops of campsites. We stayed in the first one. A lot of the area was sloped. We picked the most level spot for our tent. Some people came late and put their tents five feet from us. We were there for Labor Day weekend. There were some groups of people that did make a bit of noise. Things were quite as the week went on. WE did to have a lot of privacy. There were sites at the bottom of the loop that were more level and private. Someone put grease down the sinks in themes bathroom during the long weekend and got them plugged up. That got fixed on Tuesday after the weekend. There were fires burin in other parts of the Park. The Valley was usual smokey. Sometime there was a little smoke in the campground other times there was none. We found that if we went to the high country above 8,000 feet elevation it was clear of smoke. It was pretty clear by Vernal Fall and Nevada falls. Also clear at Mirror Lake. Other times it was very peaceful at or campsite and we enjoyed our stay.
If you go to the Valley we were told to get there before 9:00 AM. We got there at 8:30 AM on the weekend and got some of the last parking places in the Valley. There is a shuttle to take you around in it as yo will not find another parking place later in the day.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnYa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

It was nice to see rangers that cared about bear safety. The sites are not very private however that is the type of land it is on. Good option for the itinerary of our trip. No actual hikes in the camp ground that I am aware of but a couple just a drive away. The washroom facilities although were flush toilets were just in horrendous condition. No soap available either. You have to book months in advance.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ag3649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This campground in centrally located between Yosemite Valley (17 miles), Hetch Hetchy (25 miles), and Tuolumne Meadows (39 miles). If you plan to spend your time in more than just the valley, this campground is a good pick for location. It's also located very close to Tuolumne Grove; a short 1 mile hike to a small grove of 25 giant sequoia trees. There's a store and gas station located close by which is really convenient for last minute supplies. I agree with the other reviews that the bathrooms need to be cleaned. There were flush toilets and plenty of toilet paper, but the sinks and dishwater dumping stations were in bad shape. We camped in site #116 and had plenty of privacy and space. Our site was sloped with very little flat ground but that really didn't bother us. There is absolutely no cellphone reception at the campsite or around Tuolumne Meadows. You will get reception in Yosemite Valley. Overall, we had a good experience camping here. This was not our first time visiting or camping in Yosemite and we enjoyed exploring some new areas of the park. If you are a Yosemite first timer you may want to consider staying in the valley as you could easily spend all your time there.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Laura0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

It must be difficult to keep clean, but toilets blocked up. Didn't see a lot of people cleaning up .. in fact didn't see anyone apart from a ranger who asked us at 8.30pm whether we wanted to go for campfire. We went, didn't know what to expect, but it was a bit of a disaster with a sad guy trying to sing songs. Perhaps that is the way at American camp fires, I don't know?

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This was our first stop on a two week trip that had us staying at OR and CA state park campgrounds as well. I would have ranked it lower before I stayed at the CA state parks, which were worse. The campground is in a good location for getting to the valley, and it has flush toilets (which I would come to learn are not a given), but no showers nor facilities for doing dishes. I would have thought that a place that attracts as many international visitors as Yosemite would invest in ensuring that the impression of the United States that they leave with would be positive and perhaps awe-inspiring. But, at least at this campground, that was not the case at all.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews