We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Yellowstone Trip 2018

Beautiful wildflowers along the trail. Saw some new birds at one of the ponds. We enjoyed this... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2018
Mosslady53
,
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Fantastic!!

This 5-mile loop trail is fantastic in the month of June. Colorful wildflowers dot the trail... read more

Reviewed 18 June 2018
AshishD04
,
Newark, California
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Yellowstone National Park
from US$229.00
More Info
from US$325.00
More Info
from US$285.00
More Info
from US$260.00
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
29
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hike saw elk mammoth hot springs hotel sagebrush wildflowers cubs bear terrain mile loop yards badger wildlife clockwise montana lodge spray
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2017

If you can go with a group led by a Ranger! Theres a lot to see and tons to learn so going with a guide really makes the experience better.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

It's a very nice walk of about 5 miles, only mildly strenuous. However, the last mile and a half (roughly) is completely exposed if you go clockwise. So if you do the walk in the morning you'll reach the exposed section at midday--not nice. Go the other way. If you're setting off in the afternoon, clockwise would be best.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank straightouttacamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The fist part is very challenging , but it gets easier , start early 8am to increase ur chance to spot a bever plan on talking lots of water, snacks and a lunch to have by the ponds.. We did lots of different animals tracks,which was great to show my son. There also still great fall color once u hit the aspens. As u approach ponds remain very quiet, beavers are very shy . If u plan on taking pics and having lunch by pond plan on allowing 4 to 5 hrs round trip.
We hike this on Monday sep . 26th..

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 278Turner1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We left Mammoth and joined the trail behind the hotel. Enjoyed the views of Gardiner and tried to pick out where we were staying. Probably did an English ramble rather than a hike as everything is different and therefore of interest to us. We saw three snakes but no other wildlife even so it was enjoyed by all

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank 271kelvinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Followed the gentler CCW path beginning behind the hotel. As other reviews have noted it as kind of confusing, take the path across the old dirt road. Also at the end, while going CCW, there is a very steep switchback which heads north and then turn you around to south and the end of the trail at Liberty Cap. The only wildlife we saw were three elk at the very end . LOTS of up and down, we should have waited another day to acclimate to the altitude (max about 6700ft) because we really felt it. Bring plenty of water.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank dixiedually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews