We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Yellowstone Trip 2018

Beautiful wildflowers along the trail. Saw some new birds at one of the ponds. We enjoyed this... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2018
Mosslady53
,
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Fantastic!!

This 5-mile loop trail is fantastic in the month of June. Colorful wildflowers dot the trail... read more

Reviewed 18 June 2018
AshishD04
,
Newark, California
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
  
translated by Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Yellowstone National Park
from US$229.00
More Info
from US$700.00
More Info
from US$260.00
More Info
from US$325.00
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
29
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hike saw elk mammoth hot springs hotel sagebrush wildflowers cubs terrain bear mile loop yards badger wildlife clockwise montana lodge spray
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We didn't get to hike the whole trail because it started raining a mile into it and my son wanted to turn back, but the part we did hike was beautiful! The view once you reach the top of the switchbacks is gorgeous, and the kids loved the little bridges at the beginning of the hike. We saw 4 elk...two females and two babies. They were right off the trail so we had to go a little off the path to go around them. Such a neat sight! Wish we had been able to do the whole thing, but was still well worth the time!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank sarahbutcher27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

This hike has a fairly strenuous start but soon levels out and is a lovely stroll thereafter. The 5-mile loop is a mix or forest and meadow - with the last beaver pond providing a lovely spot for a picnic lunch.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The trail is a bit confusing to get to the trail head. After ascending on the trail there are many other smaller trails that lead to various lookouts or different paths that I didn't have the slightest clue which it lead to. After much detouring than finally arriving at the correct trail, we were derailed by a bull elk. We had two other sets of hikers on our path that refused to pass the bull, especially since it was within 10 yards of the path. After waiting it out and trying (with no success) to find a different path, the husband and I decided to take our chances with the grazing bull. He didn't pose any threat and did not pay much attention to us. Upon arrival to the beaver ponds, I thought that the hike up to this point was really not worth the scenery. The path does provide a good workout and various change of sceneries within the 5 mile hike. I would try this, but just be aware it is not the most exciting hike that Yellowstone has to offer.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank adventuretravelswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

This is a nice five mile loop trail that takes you through different terrain. It's a great introduction to hiking in Yellowstone. It has some nice views and in late June and early July has beautiful wild flowers.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank WildButtercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Less than 10 km long, this trail climbs above the Mammoth area to get away from the crowds at the more well known sites to see a sampling of what less famous Yellowstone looks like. Beaver typically swim at dusk or dawn and we didn't see any but we saw their homes! After leaving the ponds, doing the loop in a clockwise direction, we crossed high grassland to eventually parallel the old Gardiner road to finish right behind the mammoth hot springs hotel. A short detour showed off the old cemetery (not the military one which is near the horse corrals) which is described in Lee Whittlesey's "Death in Yellowstone."

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank jesseo582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews