We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canyon Village Cascade Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canyon Village Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We didnt stay in the campground. Canyon Village has a mix of housing options. Cabins that look a bit scary and a campground, and then 6 individual lodge buildings that are 2 stories--seem to hold about 20 or so on each floor. THis was out escape from the horros of Grant Village--a much much nicer place to stay. Cleaner, newer, better beds. Only complaint is they have a giant pole light in the parking lot, and it shines in through the wood slat blinds like a searchlight. Quiet at night, but not the best room to room insulation. We could hear our neighbors loud conversations, word for word until about 10pm, then snoring through most of the night as well. But compared to Grant, it was 5 stars! The dining room was fine--about what we expected. Very pleasant hostess and server. I had the bison raviloi--it was just fine. Hubby had the massive prime rib--hey, we had climbed a mountain that day and were famished--and he enjoyed it. A better cut than we expected, and prices seemd reasonable for the captive market. Cafeteria was closed--maybe becuase it is late in their season.
Great location in the park--pretty central and waaay less frenetic and crowded than Old Faithful. I would stay here again, or try the Lake Hotel, which is on Lake Yellowstone and has the best restaurant in the park.

Room Tip: Cabins accept pets and seemed to have lots of smokers milling around outside. And they look a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank peggyandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights of a two week camping trip. While I would say that Madison campground is much more beautiful, this was a nice campground as well, and well located for the Eastern side of the park. The sites are wooded, and we had a nice site in one of the only tent only loops. One night was our only night camping for two weeks where the neighbors were loud, but they did quiet down after 10. The showers were nice, clean, and untimed. It was nice to be camping right in a village, so that we even went out for breakfast one morning!
Yellowstone is VAST and, if you don't want to spend all your time driving, you will want to stay in multiple places as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ncmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Great camping at Canyon Village. neighbors were quiet for the most part, and the shower facilities were great: $3.39 for unlimited-length shower. Hot water in the sink faucets. electrical receptacles that don't blow when a blow dryer is plugged in.

Campground has trees, no sun, and no view (except trees and other campers). Neighbors are close, but, if one is really upset about that, get a backcountry camping permit and leave the neighbors behind!

Only a "4" because no view; a bunch of lodgepole pines for "scenery" just isn't a 5 in my book.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank trappist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights on our North American tour. We arrived on a Sunday night to a long queue at check in. However the staff were working as quickly as possible. We were assigned a pitch on Loop F which had tents and RVs on it. Being used to European campsites we were surprised at the large size of our pitch contrary to what the US/Canadian reviewers say! We also thought it was more private than we were used to since you are much further away from your neighbours than in Europe.

The showers are at check in meaning we drove to them most days and cost $3.50. You get unlimited hot water and we only queued once in the week and this was good considering the campsite was full. The showers were also very clean.

Each loop has toilets and 1 washing sink meaning we had to queue to wash our pans in ice cold water.

Firewood was $8 per box and the nights are cold so we got through at least 1 box per night. Luckily we found some downed wood which we were able to use. Later in the trip on Canadian campsites there was unlimited wood for the same price which we found to be a much better situation.

Location was excellent for exploring the park. The Canyon Village has good facilities and whilst the Canteen was slagged off in my guidebook we found it to be excellent value with large portion sizes. Admittedly it is not fine dining but the value for money makes it a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kv_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This isn't my favorite campground but for YNP, it's not a bad choice. We stayed in one of the a tent-only loop (D I think). The good things are its central location to other parts of YNP (distances are long and you cannot go over 40 mph on the roads and are usually going slower) and proximity to several interesting sites in the canyon area, access to hot showers, nice bathrooms and good ranger programs at night. I also thought the store at Canyon Village was pretty decent for a campground -- they even had fresh fruit available along with all the usual items, gifts, ice cream etc.

At the same time, it's not particularly private or secluded. Although there's plenty of shade, the fact that most of the vegetation is in the form of lodgepole pine means that there isn't a lot of privacy between sites. We could clearly see our neighborhoods in every direction. However, because most people are out at YNP's various sites, it was never noisy or felt crowded. However, sites near the road can hear traffic within the campground. As others have mentioned, the nights and early mornings are cold! Be sure to bring plenty of warm layers as the days can also get very warm.

The staff are also very strict about keeping a clean camp (for good reason). Twice we came back to our tent to find the tarp we had put across the front to protect against possible rain was thrown back -- I'm assuming it was from staff looking for food in our tent (there was none). However, they didn't replace the tarp and if it had rained, we would have had water in our tent and not been at all happy!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank foodie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
31.6 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,074 reviews
21.6 km away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,214 reviews
20.5 km away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41 km away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,717 reviews
38.7 km away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,014 reviews
41.1 km away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Village Campground

Address: Canyon Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Canyon Village Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Campground Yellowstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing