We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST campground in Yellowstone ... hands down!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower Fall Campground
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Our 3rd and last campground (Tower Falls), during our 12 days inside Yellowstone, was hands down the best campground we stayed at. We stayed at Tower Falls for 4 days and wished we'd of stayed the whole 2 weeks there.

This campground is a great base camp to set out to see most of Yellowstone but if you want a site, get there early (before 8-9am). Mt. Washburn, Grand Canyon of Yellowstone & Hayden Valley are just to the south (the highway from Tower to Hayden is great for Bighorn and Elk and Hayden Valley is Grizzly heaven), Lamar Valley & Blacktail Plateau are only minutes away (both are great for spotting wolves at sunset and Lamar is decent for Grizzly watching), Tower Falls itself, is within walking distance and Mammoth is only 20 miles to the west. The bathrooms are very clean and the Rangers were outstanding and very friendly. Theres a store within 1 mile and you can shower at Roosevelt Lodge (1 1/2 miles). We were there in late July and it gets cold at night. 1 morning we woke up at 4:30am to a brisk 29 degrees but most mornings are in the upper 30s. The days were mid to upper 70s.

FOLLOW THE BEAR SAFETY RULES: This campground is in the heart of Black Bear country and they even wander into the campgrounds at night on occasion. We saw about 10 Black Bears during our stay at Tower and all of them were within 10 miles of the campground and actually, many of them within 5 miles. Upon hikes around the campground, we found bear prints and bear scat within 100 yds of the campground on 2 occasions. You'll also see alot of Blacktail Deer, Uinta Ground Squirrels and even a Marmot or 2 in and around the campground, a few Elk fairly close and we even seen a Bull Moose feeding in a pond late afternoon about 5 miles from the campground.

We are thinking about heading back to Yellowstone in 2011 and I know we will stay at Tower Falls the entire time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank jcz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2008

After having stayed at Jenny Lake Campground for two previous nights we were hoping for a similar experience at either Tower or Slough Creek Campground. Once my wife found out that we would be much closer to indoor facilitates at the nearby (but not really walkable) Tower Fall store she requested we stay here. This campground is small, cramped, and topographically challenged. The sites are small and laid out on a sloping loop, with the entrance to the campground much lower than the far end of the loop. The tent pad was tiny. As you can see in our pictures we were using a backpacking tent for this trip that is not much bigger then 8'x4'. Some sites seemed a little bigger but they were taken when we arrived late morning. The same can be said for the parking spots. The only running water at the campground are outdoor hose faucets, the toilets are of the pit variety. While we knew all of this before selecting either of these campgrounds, the added bonus of a sink and flush toilet at Jenny Lake really does make a difference. We did drive down to the restrooms at the store to brush our teeth at night and enjoy flushing one last time.

We did enjoy the campfire bear talk we attended at the adjacent outdoor stage. We also saw two bucks one night on the hill nearby our site.

Considering that they only campgrounds in Tower vicinity are Tower and Slough Creek I would try the Slough Creek campground for its proximity to hiking and wildlife. I would stay here again though if my trip plans called for being in this area overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank gogtinswc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2007

We stayed at this camp ground in a 30' RV last year. We loved the location. The campground is lovely. The camp attendants were very pleasant. The rangers do nightly programs in an outdoor amphitheater (at least they did nightly programs when we were there the end of June). The talks were very informative and highlighted the local wildlife, such as Rosie the Black Bear and her two cubs. Which we had the pleasure of seeing along the park roads. You can walk down to the Tower Fall General Store, often seeing deer grazing along the trail. LOVED IT, HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
13  Thank Shelltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir waren mit unserem Platz (Nummer 3) recht zufrieden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank player24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
23.6 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,084 reviews
40.2 km away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,215 reviews
0.1 km away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.5 km away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
775 reviews
60.2 km away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,722 reviews
59.1 km away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Fall Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Fall Campground

Address: Tower-Roosevelt-Canyon Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Tower Fall Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing